1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root What SetCpu?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chillenandy321, Oct 15, 2010.

  1. chillenandy321

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    61
    2
    16
    Parts Professional
    Orlando, Fl
    What profiles are you using everyone please help.. Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. Meltz014

    Meltz014 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    56
    10
    38
    [​IMG]

    and here's the batt stat page:
    [​IMG]

    I've been getting pretty good battery life with this - running the latest Fresh rom. Currently at 31%
     
    chillenandy321 likes this.
  3. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    6,675
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    6,675
    1,464
    313
    Phones
    Over Yonder
    Meltz014,

    what kernel? i was under the impressing the fresh stock kernel (w/havs) didn't play nice with profiles. are you not having issues? have you tried a run WITHOUT profiles to see if there is an improvement in life?

    I am using fresh and a netarchy kernal but have stayed away from profiles due to all the warnings
     
  4. tmwilsoniv

    tmwilsoniv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    152
    12
    48
    Great question.
    I'm using the Fresh 3.3.0.1. with Netarchy 4.1.9.1. cfs and was using SetCPU with very similar profiles. Battery life was ridiculously good. I then read here that SetCPU profiles conflict with H.A.V.S. kernels, so I disabled "Profiles" in SetCPU, set Main to 128 min & 998 max Conservative." I'm still getting ridiculously good battery life. I see no difference.

    I don't know what to tell you.
     
  5. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
    No profiles are all,that's the waY to go.
     
  6. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    390
    115
    88
    Lauderdale, FL
    So whats the verdict, Fresh ROM with or without SETCPU?
     
  7. Matlock

    Matlock Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    649
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    649
    521
    163
    Co-Manager of SONIC Drive-In
    Texas!
    I simply use SetCPU with 245000 MIN/MAX with stock ROM and Kernel.

    My device will last for 11 Hours and be at 75% before I actually start using it after I get off work. I've hit 35 hours once before charging. Didn't do a thing on the phone for the whole time, just let is run.
     
  8. SouthernEvo

    SouthernEvo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010

    Sep 14, 2010
    66
    9
    16
    Jacksonville FL
    Im also using the stock Rom and Kernel and have a question about Setcpu . Do I have to set this up every time ? I have checked start at boot and it doesnt keep the settings .

    *nevermind* duh its taking now /slamsheadondesk*
     
  9. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,186
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    Pardon my ignorance here:

    SetCPU needs to be running in the background for it to do it's job I'm assuming here. If I do a bunch of other things it can be killed by the OS correct? So I need to make sure it's on every once in awhile?

    Sorry I'm new with rooting and wanted to get some insight here. Thanks for your patience and any clarity you can give. :)
     
  10. Matlock

    Matlock Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    649
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    649
    521
    163
    Co-Manager of SONIC Drive-In
    Texas!
    It has a setting that trays to prevent itself from being forced closed by the low priority setting in the device. You shouldn't really have to worry about it much, But it is recommended you can keep an eye on to make sure. No worries though.
     
  11. Meltz014

    Meltz014 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    56
    10
    38
    Oh sorry, it's been a while since I checked the forums. Im just running the stock kernal. [​IMG]
     
  12. simonedwards0947

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010

    Jun 25, 2010
    60
    2
    36
    I'm running with fresh with kings #11... Going 18 hours at 38% so far.
     
  13. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,186
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    Oh ok, so I use that Priority slider in the app to make sure it doesn't get killed. I think I'm getting this now.

    Thanks for your help dude!
     
    Matlock likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...