• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help What should be the directory setup on the Incredible's Micro SD card?

What directory should I create for pictures on the micro SD card that I put in my HTC Incredible so that Android recognizes them and adds them to the photo application? What should be the directory name for music files so that the music player knows where to look for them? What should be the directory for video files?

Upvote 0
What directory should I create for pictures on the micro SD card that I put in my HTC Incredible so that Android recognizes them and adds them to the photo application? What should be the directory name for music files so that the music player knows where to look for them? What should be the directory for video files?

I'm a noob to Android but here's my experience when I first got my Incredible, I moved a SD card from my old phone to the Incredible and the card already had mp3s and wma files in folders labeled "English", "Classicals", "Spanish", "Mid Eastern", etc. and the in-built HTC music app just saw them and played them (at least the mp3s) without any problem. Something similar happened with the jpg files I already had on the SD card.

With the SD card in Incredible I used the Astro app to create more folders like "mp3" on the card and moved all folders containing mp3s in to this new folder and they were still found/recognized by the HTC music app. So I guess it doesn't really matter where they are - the apps should find them.

But I'll let other more experienced/senior members of this forum weigh in with more insight.

Upvote 0