1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

What Tasker profiles is everyone using?? (This thread is NOT for requesting help with profiles)

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by chrlswltrs, Aug 25, 2010.

  1. FramCire

    FramCire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,254
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    1,254
    173
    143

    Have you tried making a menu task and a widget with a 3 way menu? You touch the widget and a profile menu comes up. 2 touches instead of 1 but only 1 widget!

    Widgets with menu tasks are sweet.... I have a games widget that pulls up a menu (arcade, skill, cards, puzzles) and each individual menu was a link back to the main games menu too
     

    Advertisement

  2. LfcFan1977

    LfcFan1977 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    70
    8
    16
    Hi all.
    I'm new to tasker and it gives me some headaches.
    Is there anywhere to find the list of commands, such as %PACTIVE or %BATT ?
     
  3. Maris

    Maris Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    188
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    188
    24
    58
    Ohio
    Absolutely! Check out: Tasker for Android which lists all the variables you can use as well as how to create your own. After you read through that site, check out the Wiki which has many examples and profiles you can download and modify to fit your needs.

    After you create a few of your own profiles, it will make a lot more sense and get easier. I just can't say enough good about this app. It is my absolute favorite Android app.
     
    Dark One and CriticalCritic like this.
  4. LfcFan1977

    LfcFan1977 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    70
    8
    16
    Cheers Maris,
    I had looked on both "Tasker for Andriod" and the "Wiki" pages but not found it.
    How I missed it last time I'll never know. But found them now.
    Typical that we ask a stupid question, then find the answer that was staring us in the face the whole time.
    *blushes*
    LOL
     
  5. LfcFan1977

    LfcFan1977 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    70
    8
    16
    deleted
    poor post
     
  6. bwsmith

    bwsmith Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    97
    7
    16
    I have a couple that I use but need help tweaking a couple. I got the 4G Locale Plugin so I have it activate 4G when I open browser or facebook and turn off 4G when I exit. And of course the standby of turning on WiFi at home. Themore complicated ones are giving me trouble.

    What I am trying to do:

    1. Turn GPS on when turning on the screen and turn GPS off when the screen turns off UNLESS a program is using it. i tried launching GPS with Navigator, but it immediately gives me an error that GHPS is not on and sends me to settings.

    2. Turn on Bluetooth when I turn the screen on and turn Bluetooth off when the screen turns off UNLESS a blurtooth device is connected.

    I tried looking at the Tasker forums but cant seem to figure it out.
     
  7. UncleMike

    UncleMike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    2,323
    484
    163
    Central NJ
    For #1, you would have to list the apps that might use GPS. There's no way for Tasker to tell if another app is using GPS or not. Something like this:

    Context: Display On
    Task: GPS On

    Context: Display Off
    Context: Application [ Apps:Maps Invert:Yes ]
    Task: GPS Off

    For #2:

    Context: Display On
    Task: Bluetooth On

    Context: Display Off
    Context: Bluetooth Connected [ Invert:Yes ]
    Task: Bluetooth Off

    In either one of the above cases, you may want to substitute 'Display Unlocked' for 'Display On'.
     
  8. bwsmith

    bwsmith Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    97
    7
    16
    That worked PERFECT for Bluetooth. For the GPS, I found that only Navigation gets bitchy about the 1 second delay. So i just used Tasker to create a widget that enables GPS and then launches Navigation.

    Coming from Locale, i am impressed with everything that Tasker can do but good Lord what a learning curve. They need to add some common presets like a few sound profiles and one of the task sections as "common" like volumes, GPS, Bluetooth, WiFi, ringtone, etc that people use more often. It is a pain to check all those folders for something simple like Alarm volume. They REALLY need to work on being more user friendly. Maybe a simple mode like Locale is set up and an advanced mode like Tasker is currently set up. That would let new users or basic users get going on it quickly but leave all the features for advanced users or for the basic users to learn on.
     
  9. gizbug

    gizbug Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    189
    4
    36
    Chicago, IL
    How do you import the profiles off the wiki into the app?
     
  10. gizbug

    gizbug Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    189
    4
    36
    Chicago, IL
  11. cjr72

    cjr72 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    292
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    292
    43
    43
    Save the profiles to the /sdcard/Tasker/profiles directory on your phone. In the Tasker app main page go to menu -> 'Profile Data' -> 'Import One Profile' and you will be presented with the profiles saved above to select.
     
  12. cjr72

    cjr72 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    292
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    292
    43
    43
    From the main Tasker page expand that profile and tap on the task created in step 4. You will be presented with a menu that contains exit task.
     
  13. gizbug

    gizbug Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    189
    4
    36
    Chicago, IL
    Thanks a lot
     
  14. ArmadaTattoo

    ArmadaTattoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Has anyone tried using the Profile Switcher set from here:
    Phoneprofilechanger - Tasker Wiki

    When I select a profile after adding the widget I get an error saying "Error, profile doesn't exist"

    I have all profiles set up, work, home etc

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  15. ArmadaTattoo

    ArmadaTattoo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010

    Edit; apologies for double post. Not sure how I did that :thinking:
     
  16. biggdaniell

    biggdaniell Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    114
    10
    38
    How did you create the whitelist of callers?
    I've setup tasker to activate "silent mode" at night (from 23:00 to 07:00) but I want the phone to ring for a few callers.
     
  17. CodeMonkey

    CodeMonkey Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I followed the DIY steps at tasker.wikidot.com/sleepmode
     
    biggdaniell likes this.
  18. biggdaniell

    biggdaniell Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    114
    10
    38
    It worked (eventually). Thanks.
     
  19. bwsmith

    bwsmith Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    97
    7
    16
    I got one more I can't figure out. How do I set it to turn GPS on for 2 minutes every 15 minutes? This way Tasker can get my fix for my location based profiles without leaving GPS on all the time.
     
  20. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,791
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    The easiest way to make a whitelist of callers that will ring no matter what is with an app called selective silence by chainsDD. I'm on my phone right now or I would post an appbrain link.
     
  21. Xmeoff

    Xmeoff Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    In the Desert
    Any chance someone, who has the "Find my phone" profile working, post the steps. I've tried the ones posted on tasker.wikidot.com. No luck.

    I would like to be able to get a reply msg w/gps coordinates and open google maps to show, but I gotta feeling that's asking a lot.

    I want to add this to my wife's phone in case of any emergency, I could track her down.

    Thanks for any help.
     
  22. chrlswltrs

    chrlswltrs Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    6,728
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    6,728
    1,791
    333
    Male
    Private Security
    Seattle
    On the HTTP Get task

    Server: port should be

    is.gd/api.php?longurl=http://maps.google.com/maps?q=%LOC

    There was an error on this line in the profile on the tasker wiki
     
  23. cyben76

    cyben76 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    8
    3
    6
    Singapore
    My first post on Android Forums,

    Just tried tasker for 3days and i find its one of the best profile apps i've been using.

    Some of the profiles i use:

    GPS Auto On
    Switch on GPS when apps like sportypal, Maps, etc is launched.

    Mobile Data Auto On
    Switch Data On for apps that require data, switch off after 2-3min of exit app.

    Sleep
    Put phone to silent
    Off mobile data
    Off Wifi
    Disable all other Profiles except Emergency Calls
    On exit
    enable some profiles
    AutoReply to SMS

    Emergency Calls during Sleep Mode
    Disable silent mode for 3min for caller numbers that fit criteria



    The combined profile i'm trying to make work together, but does not seem to work perfectly, yet....

    Near Cell *this profile turns my mobile data on to get location via network when i'm near cell tower near my home
    - turn mobile data on
    - turn profile status "Near Home" on
    - get location, Net <--task 3
    - go to task 3, if %nearhome isn't 1

    Near Home(location 200m, net) *When location via network is within 200m of my home, this profile turns GPS on to get more accurate location.
    - set %nearhome = 1
    - turn mobile data off
    - turn GPS on
    - turn profile status "50m Home" on
    - turn profile status "Near Cell" off
    - get location, GPS <--task 6
    - wait 30sec
    - go to task 6, if %50mhome isn't 1

    50m Home, (location 50m, GPS) *this profile turns Wifi on when GPS detects i'm within 50meters of home.
    - set %50mhome = 1
    - turn GPS off
    - turn WIFI on
    - turn profile status "Wifi Con" on
    - turn profile status "Near Home" off
    - wait 30sec


    Wifi Connected SSID+MAC
    - turn profile status "30m Home"

    Wifi Disconnected SSID+MAC *this profile turns Wifi Off when it's disconnected, ie when modem off or i leave home.
    - turn WIFI off
    - Clear %nearhome
    - Clear %50mhome
    - turn profile status "Near Cell" On



    Suggestion would be greatly appreciated.
    I just want my wifi to be auto on when i'm home but not to always keep GPS and data on.. So since cell location is the least accurate, then Net, then GPS.. i switch them on incrementally... But i still can't get it work 100% of the time
     
  24. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143
    Is there a reason you aren't using a single profile with a Wifi Near context to turn wifi on and off???

    Context: Wifi Near (home wifi)
    Task: Wifi On
    Exit Task: Wifi Off


    This is basically what I use. Make sure you check the "Toggle Wifi" option. Your phone will turn on Wifi briefly every few minutes to look for your home wifi, and if not found, turn off.
     
  25. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143
    You don't need to setup a profile to do this. If you have location contexts setup to use GPS, Tasker will turn it on occasionally to find your location.

    In the Tasker settings, under Monitor, you can set the time between GPS location checks. There are two settings, one for when the screen is off and one for what the screen is on. Click the ? buttons to get descriptions of all of them, it's helpful.

    Edit: I highly recommend you don't use GPS for location contexts, unless you plan to plug your phone in multiple times during the day. It uses a lot of battery.
     

Share This Page

Loading...