• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

What to know before I root my s2.

ghostge

Lurker
Aug 22, 2011
Hey there,

Android Ver - 2.3.3
Baseband Ver - I9100TDVKF2
Kernal - 2.6.35.7
Build No. Gingerbread.DVKF4

Well I am wanting to root my s2 on Telstra, I am new to android so I need to clarify somethings.

What do I need to make sure I have before I start? Version wise..
Does my phone match up for being able to root my device?

Best methods of backing up? - I have used the free version of MyBackup to back up the contacts and data ect. I dont really need anything on my phone besides that.

I have seen a few 2.3.3 guides but the version differences make me abit worried sometimes. I don't want to brick my recently-purchased-24months-contract phone :p

Can someone dummy it down a lil for me. Cheers

so ur running KF4 firmware, which u can root already :) the best method, for me, is the CF root method. the link contains the files and the instructions u need to root via this method
[17.08.2011][CF-Root v4.1] KE2/7/8, KF1/2/3/4, KG1/2/3/5/6/7, KH1/3 - su+bb+CWM4 - xda-developers
u need to find the matching CF root kernel file on that thread.. i think KF4 kernel should be fine.

ur contacts are already backed up on gmail.. and if ur backup app gets watever u want, then that should be good enough :) if u follow the guide exactly, u wont lose any data.

rooting, or updating new firmware, does not erase any data, or change the way ur phone works. so go for it, its very easy once u do it the first time :D

EDIT: if u want to flash a newer firmware first, follow this guide
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1075278