1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support What uses data?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Ferrari353, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. Ferrari353

    Ferrari353 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    248
    16
    38
    Student
    California
    I'm not really sure which data plan to get, because I have Wifi at home, so I don't think I'll use that much, but I'm not sure if my apps would use a lot of data...Like does the whole HTC sense online thing use data? And would the app locale use any data? Things like that, will they use data?

    Also, an off-topicy question: Are there any case companies that are comparable to Otterbox in their quality and design? I have an Otterbox Commuter case for my current phone and I think they're great, but the only thing I don't like about all the Otterbox cases is the silicone. It makes it hard to get the phone in and out of tight jean pockets and it's a lint magnet.

    Anyway, any answers would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ
    the easier answer is what doesnt, phone calls and SMS everything else pretty much uses data, MMS, widgets, internet, apps. Sense does but sense online wouldnt use data unless you send something to it. You have to understand an Android phone is in a almost constant state of data connection. From your apps to your info sync to you using it
     
  3. Ferrari353

    Ferrari353 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    248
    16
    38
    Student
    California
    MMS uses data? wtf? Isn't that included in the unlimited texting pack...? And would those apps use data? Locale, accessing the online HTC Sense thing?
     
  4. lsutigers03

    lsutigers03 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    507
    42
    68
    MMS does use data. Sometimes I'll turn data off on my iPhone if my battery is getting low and when I turn it back on I'll get the MMS messages that were sent.
     
  5. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ
    yes its included but it still uses data. Apps will all use data it just depends on how much. That depends on if they use GPS etc etc if i was you i would start with the $25 data package and monitor your usage for 3 months if you dont break 200mb in that time drop it to the $15
     
  6. Ferrari353

    Ferrari353 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    248
    16
    38
    Student
    California
    so how come on my regular non-smartphone phone, mms doesn't use data?
     
  7. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ
    it does just a real trivial amount its no big i just put it in the discussion because you asked what used data
     
  8. Chapp1e

    Chapp1e Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    350
    16
    58
    Philadelphia
    Because plans are structured differently on dumbphones.
     
  9. Ferrari353

    Ferrari353 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    248
    16
    38
    Student
    California
    D: *angry* w/e...how much data would things like Locale use? And does HTC Sense online use data??
     
  10. emuneee

    emuneee Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    267
    31
    43
    MMS uses data, but it should not count against your data usage. With an Android phone you really gotta be careful because of apps that can use your data wily-nily in the background. Your going to have to be judicious and keep watch of what apps are using data.
     
  11. PSXBatou

    PSXBatou Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011

    Feb 5, 2011
    120
    8
    36
    California & Tokyo
    MMS data is phone data, it isn't part of the smartphone data plan you pay for. The main reason I know this is when I am in Tokyo (which feels like every other month now) I usually turn off data on my iPhone. I can send all the MMS/SMS I want and I never see a charge for data, just the standard MMS/SMS international fee. I think its .50 for SMS and $1 or something like that per MMS, I really don't pay a whole lot of attention since I expense it all :p

    The last time I left data on.. wow.. dunno if the droid is so data hungry but my iPhone quickly racked up a $190 data bill over 2 weeks lol.
     
  12. mattbe213

    mattbe213 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    291
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    291
    41
    63
    School
    Missouri
    love the new sig!!!
     
    AndreaCristiano likes this.
  13. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ
    thanks!
     
  14. Ferrari353

    Ferrari353 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    248
    16
    38
    Student
    California
    oh okay, so if mms doesn't count against my data plan, then that's fine...but what about locale?? How do I know what kind of apps will use a lot of data? And once again, does accessing the phone from HTC sense online use data?
     
  15. Blanco720

    Blanco720 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    364
    23
    38
    Northern Virginia
    Any time your phone is sending or receiving information, its using data. Making changes via sense online will use data. You application 'locale" will surely use ddata (though I'm not faniliar with it). The question you AREN'T asking is 'how much data'. That should be your concern.

    In terms of sense: very little. It'll mainly be commands to the phone. No pictures or heavy file transfers. As for locale, I cannot say. Apps that use the most data are apps that stream high quality music or video (think pandora or youtube). Any time you are downloading a lot of information, video, or media in general, you are using a lot of data. You'll probably be fine with a 200 mb plan assuming you don't go crazy right away.
     
  16. g_patrick15

    g_patrick15 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    422
    62
    53
    When you download an app from the market, it tells you exactly what that app uses (ie: phone book, gps, data etc. It tells you before you confirm the download.
     
  17. Ferrari353

    Ferrari353 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    248
    16
    38
    Student
    California
    I wouldn't use pandora or youtube on 3G and if I had to use youtube, it wouldn't very much at all. So how do I find out how much data an app would use? Locale would be accessing GPS to figure out where you are located...
     
  18. g_patrick15

    g_patrick15 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    422
    62
    53
    When you get the phone, there's an app that'll keep track of your data. Get that and use it as a tool to monitor your usage.
     
  19. Ferrari353

    Ferrari353 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    248
    16
    38
    Student
    California
    okay, then is there any site or anything that will tell me what apps use how much data for a specified period of time? Like for Locale, would it only use data when it's trying to figure out where I am? AT&T's data calculator says how much a minute of streaming video/music or viewing 1 email/web page, etc.
     
  20. AndreaCristiano

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    4,012
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,012
    222
    143
    NJ

    Dude listen. Its not gonna be the same everytime and there is no site for that info. You have to do what I said. Start with the 25 watch your usage for 3 months and then decide if you can lower your plan. You asking these questions like this when people are.trying to help makes us not want to.
     
  21. Ferrari353

    Ferrari353 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    248
    16
    38
    Student
    California
    What kind of apps use the most data? I know streaming music and video would use a lot...but are there any other kind of apps that will use a ton of data?
     
  22. g_patrick15

    g_patrick15 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    422
    62
    53
    Any app that tells you it needs to access the data network will use data. The way the market is designed, you'll know what apps require data. If you have wifi at home, that's a good way to limit your dependency on the data network. Social networking apps, email apps, music streaming, youtube all can use alot of data, but it just depends on how often you use those apps and services.
     
  23. Ferrari353

    Ferrari353 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    248
    16
    38
    Student
    California
    coarse (network-based) location
    Access coarse location sources such as the cellular network database to determine an approximate device location, where available. Malicious applications can use this to determine approximately where you are.

    fine (GPS) locationAccess fine location sources such as the Global Positioning System on the device, where available. Malicious applications can use this to determine where you are, and may consume additional battery power.

    full Internet access
    Allows an application to create network sockets.



    Locale accesses these things. Would the location stuff use data or only the internet access part?
     
  24. Blanco720

    Blanco720 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    364
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011

    Jan 14, 2011
    364
    23
    38
    Northern Virginia
    Dude, lol, email the developer if you want to know precisely how their app works.

    What are you getting at? No one can tell you how much data an app uses becuase it depends on how much you use it and for what purpose. I've never gone over 200 mb in my life, and I'm posting from my phone right now. I constantly use google maps, poynt, sports update software, email, the web in general. You'll be fine with the 200 mb plan if all you care about is this locale app. If you get a smartphone you HAVE to have data, at least initially, and you'll need it yo run that app. There is nothing else to answer or discus, really
     
  25. Ferrari353

    Ferrari353 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    248
    16
    38
    Student
    California
    Well I'd use more than just that app, but this app is so badass and it incorporates much of what other apps could do to...So would accessing my location use up my data though? And I'll start with the 200 MB plan and see where it takes me...But I heard that AT&T offers a 5 GB family plan for $55, so if that's true, I'd just get that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...