1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root What would your best advice be?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pbf98, May 2, 2012.

1. pbf98

pbf98 Android Expert
    None

Oct 16, 2011
    Male
    .NET Developer
    MN
    Hey all, I am a programmer myself with experience in java... as well as a few other languages and I have been curious and have been wanting to try and make or help with roms, but I don't exactly know where to start.

So my question for you is, where would you say is the best place to get started any tutorials you found very useful? I would like to be able to help build for the MT of course that is why I am posting here

So do you have any advice that I could take in, it will give me something more productive to do while I'm not working other than facebook lol ... though I just got into programming the kinect for windows

It just seems to me I spend way to much time doing nothing productive on days I don't have anything to do, and I'd like to do something, and this is something I have wanted to do for quite a while.

Any advice is appreciated
    Thanks

Advertisement

2. Confinest

Confinest Newbie
    None

Mar 30, 2012
    Campbell, CA
  3. dsmryder

dsmryder Android Expert
    None

May 28, 2011
    mechanic
    NE Florida
    You could poke around one of the many ROMs that are in current development, I know we could use some help in g60's cm7, matera's ICS cm9, and ziggy and mobstergunz are having trouble with their ROM.

4. pbf98

pbf98 Android Expert
    None

Oct 16, 2011
    Male
    .NET Developer
    MN
    I would love to be able to help in these places, I would like to be able to offer input and help solve solutions, but I just need a little push start of what to look for and what I need to start.. I have read about installing a virtual machine with ubuntu and getting android kitchen, things like that, and I have also heard of just using a Java development tool such as Eclipse.