1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support whats a good vm heap size?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by blaxican25, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. blaxican25

    blaxican25 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    1,520
    730
    213
    Another planet Far Away
    Just wondering whats the best vm heap size for are phone.
     

    Advertisement

  2. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    i use root explorer and set my heap size to 48m, no problems yet and been on the setting since i got my phone 2 months back.
     
  3. blaxican25

    blaxican25 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,520
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011

    Mar 23, 2011
    1,520
    730
    213
    Another planet Far Away
    Lol I set it to 20 and got stuck in a bootloop had to flash my backup lol thank god for cwm :) ill keep it at the 48 .
     
  4. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    amen to that, the backup is the best, and a life saver. ;)
     
  5. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US

    Lol i have being lazy to back it up. Seems that i really have to do it. :(
     
  6. starstress

    starstress Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    617
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    uhh yeah, what is heap size?
     
  7. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    So the lower the size, the greater the performance and risk?
     
  8. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US
    it's like an compression (as far as i know). If it's too low it will not work properly.
     
  9. Prime85

    Prime85 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    800
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    800
    201
    93
    Keep VM at 96 expecially with the new ROMs. You will notice a significant increase in speed over the 48
     
  10. danyvw

    danyvw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    685
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    685
    208
    93
    USA
    ^^^^^^^^ +1 I tested both with Gingersteem and with 96 works way better.
     
  11. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US

    Yup. Just like it supposed to be
     
  12. Atlflyboicktz6

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    I'm PC at 2mhz and heap is 109...I'm flying past all my friends phones...iPhone,evo,nexus
     
  13. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US
    Didn't understand ... in te pc ?
     
  14. Johnny Crapple

    Johnny Crapple Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    1,017
    254
    183
    Texas

    I think he meant oc lol
     
  15. revogozoom

    revogozoom Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    402
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    402
    54
    53
    Texas
    2mhz is a little slow dont you think?
     
  16. nicholaaaas

    nicholaaaas Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    2
    0
    25
    really? you're bragging about being faster than an evo? a two year old phone?
     
  17. epayne123

    epayne123 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,006
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Changing the heap size ALL depends on how many apps you run that use background services along with how much RAM it uses while running in foreground AND background... mine was set at and it 24 and it was RIDICULOUSLY quick. IDK why i set it so low considering i dont use background tasking app barely and I dont really have a need for the extra RAM but it helped me a LOT lowering it down that low in terms of opening and closing applications.
     
  18. Atlflyboicktz6

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    you must be living in a cave...the eco has new phones sir...anda yes im bragging My phone is killer you need to check out My utube vid and learn some tweaks..lol
     
  19. Atlflyboicktz6

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    2mhz slow lol...you must don't know to much most phones only have 1mhz processor and 2 is 2000mhz OMG...LOL
     
  20. epayne123

    epayne123 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,006
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    What he meant was that 2MHz is slow since we are running at 2GHz., it was meant to be a joke though i believe
     
  21. signs510

    signs510 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    bay area
    Can anybody do a step by step 2 showing how to do this I would really appreciate it thanks
     
  22. epayne123

    epayne123 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,006
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Download ROM Toolbox (Free Edition Will Do). Open app, scroll over to performance, select Kernel Tweaks. Depending on what apps you have running and hire much RAM they use will determine what you can set yours to. good ons to set it st are either 42 our the stock 96
     
    signs510 likes this.
  23. signs510

    signs510 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    bay area
    Which one do I change...... dirt or background
     
  24. klacenas

    klacenas Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012

    he he he :D your phone is overclocked at 2mhz and faster than evo. LOL
    get out of your cave man!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...