• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root whats on my SD card?!

freestylesno

Jul 3, 2010
I am trying to figure out what is fine to delete from my SD card. I have a small 2GB card with about a gig of unknown stuff on it. Having flashed my share of roms and i assuming that a lot of it is left over data from old apps and such, but i don't know what i should keep on it. I though about simply copying everything on to my computer and clearing the card, but apparently some files have to long of file names. So before i just delete what i cant copy is there any thing i should keep or does any one know of a better way to go about this, other then a nice new 16GB card. As a college student i lacks the funding to go buy one.

for what its worth,i got my kingston 16gb microsd card at newegg for something like $11.99+ shipping. less than $20 to get it to my door. you dont need to go to best buy and buy a $50+ card :eek:

failing that,i dont have a difinitive answer as to what you need and dont. i would copy the whole thing to your computer(put the card in an adapter and plug it right in if you want it to go a lil faster) and then reformat the card. the phone will put the files it needs right back on. when i changed my card to my 16gb,i did that,then just added my ringtones and alerts folders, my clockwork backups by moving the whole "clockworkmod" folder,and my RA backups by moving the whole "nandroid" folder. you can move your pics by moving them one at a time,if you only want certain ones,or just move the whole "dcim" folder which contains "thumbnails" and "camera". i also figured out where beuatiful widgets was storing its skins,and move that folder as well.

a 2gb card sucks,believe me! i could only keep 2 or 3 roms,and 4 or 5 backups on mine. if youre not a flashoholic like me you can maybe get away with it,but otherwise get a new card ;)

Upvote 0