1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General What's the difference btwn a Hard Reset and a Factory Data Reset?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by TJayDroid, Dec 30, 2013.

  1. TJayDroid

    TJayDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012

    Dec 7, 2012
    109
    18
    38
    Was just about reset my Motion in order to simply start with a clean slate again (unrooted, stock). A general clearing out of sorts instead of going through all the crap apps I've installed in the last year.

    Backed up all the stuff I needed and was about to reset when I noticed that there are two methods of resetting to factory. One involves the following:

    How To Hard Reset A LG Motion 4G(MS770)
    1. Power off phone.
    2. Hold power and Volume down button( Until the phone virbrates).
    3. Keep tapping home and back( at the same time).
    4. Your either going to see a green robot or a menu screen.


    The other is simply using the menu in the Motion's System Settings to access the "Backup & reset" option and then pressing the "Factory Data Reset" item.

    Which one is best? Do they both accomplish exactly the same thing? Additionally, will utilizing either of these options result in needing to call MetroPCS to re-connect the phone? I've asked a similar question some months ago and people told me "no", that wouldn't be the case. Just in case, though... I'm asking.
     

    Advertisement

  2. KJohns

    KJohns ROM/Application Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    841
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011

    Dec 1, 2011
    841
    266
    113
    Male
    student/intern
    Illinois - U.S.
    without getting too in depth, they essentially do the exact same thing for what you're trying to accomplish. I'd do it from the boot menu (just a personal preference of mine, but you can do either.)
    , and NO you shouldn't have to call metro or anything like that.
     
    scary alien and TJayDroid like this.
  3. TJayDroid

    TJayDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012

    Dec 7, 2012
    109
    18
    38
    KJohns:

    Thanks very much for the info. I'll use the boot menu option and go. Lookin forward to a clean unit. :)
     
  4. TJayDroid

    TJayDroid Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012

    Dec 7, 2012
    109
    18
    38
    Just touching base in this thread once again. I realize it's no biggie, but thought I'd follow up. Restored to stock/unrooted Motion using the menu option. No hiccups. Thanks again for the prompt reply, KJohns.
     
    scary alien likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...