1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

What's the largest thing I can use as a phone on T-Mobile?

Discussion in 'T-Mobile' started by bob60626, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    with full data speeds, cellular calls,...? I'm guessing it'd be a Note 2, but are there any compatible tablets? I remember reading the original Samsung 7" tablets had phone capabilities but have not been able to find exact details.
     

    Advertisement

  2. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    Galaxy Tab p6800...I was going to go that route, as the Tab 2 Plus fits in most of my back pockets, though lacking the phone dialer app and earpiece, but the 7.7" 6800 was a little too big.
     
  3. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    Both of those allow data with a phone sim? My 7.0+ allows texting but no data.
     
  4. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    My T-Mo branded 7.0 Plus supports both T-Mo, and at&t 3G bands...but no earpiece. 6800 has at least at&t 3G (I forget if T-Mo). Need to try bluetooth, now that I have headset which may support Skype.
     
  5. chong67

    chong67 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    953
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    953
    74
    78
    Male
    IT
    Atlanta
    Root your phone. Make it send out free Wifi.

    Now any device, big or small, can use it.
     
  6. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,772
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,772
    1,819
    693
    Male
    USA
    I know you want cell calls but you can use Google Voice/GrooveIP on a tablet. I use it on my Thrive sometimes w/my headphones
     
  7. chong67

    chong67 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    953
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    953
    74
    78
    Male
    IT
    Atlanta
    Here is this science on VOIP thing:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2057887

    Personally, I am using Vonage now to call non Vonage customers. Viber is pretty good as it is used Worldwide. Skype is OK too. In the near future, I would just use VOIP to save $. I will not use real cellphone minutes unless I m doing a job interview. :D
     
  8. aurora40

    aurora40 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    376
    62
    53
    Virginia
    But if that's the criteria, he could use a tower desktop with a 50" TV screen as "the largest thing" to make non-cell calls on.
     
  9. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,772
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,772
    1,819
    693
    Male
    USA
    :D

    I think the original 7" Galaxy Tab was set up to make cellular calls like he said but that was the only one I can remember.
     
  10. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    The 6800 doesn't appear to support the necessary bands.
     
  11. colnago

    colnago Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    3,091
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    3,091
    218
    243
    Supports T-Mo "Edge", on 850/1900, and T-Mo is activating HSPA/HSPA+ on 1900.
     
  12. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    Perhaps, but I want full data speeds. I don't want to buy a tablet to use as a phone and only have edge speeds. :D
    As for the 1900 I would need that to be widespread as their original. If so, I'd probably just buy a used Note 1, AT&T or international. I saw one on Swappa yesterday for 250.
     
  13. MT Rotor

    MT Rotor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    462
    45
    63
    If I were to get a tmobile 9700 is it gonna use hspa+?
     
  14. chong67

    chong67 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    953
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    953
    74
    78
    Male
    IT
    Atlanta
    When I was oversea, I heard about EDGE speed and it was slow.
     
  15. NeXuS4

    NeXuS4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    348
    33
    43
    Nexus 7 what is that?/s
     
  16. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    That has been proven to not work on the $30 plan, unfortunately (can do texts, but no calls, no rear camera, hdmi,...)
     
  17. NeXuS4

    NeXuS4 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012

    Nov 25, 2012
    348
    33
    43
    Talkatone. T-Mobile has different rates for tablets but it's not like they are expensive. Taking pictures with tablets makes you look foolish anyway.

    Also you can buy an adapter for HDMI for just a few bucks...
     
  18. bob60626

    bob60626 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    453
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    453
    41
    43
    Male
    Chicago
    The Nexus 7 doesn't appear to have HDMI/MHL capabilities at all, I know and have used TMO data plans, I don't care what people on the internet think is foolish (I regularly use my 7.0+'s front camera for bar code scans anyway), it doesn't work as a cellular phone, and it doesn't work as a cellular phone.

    I'll probably end up waiting til the Note 3 comes out and buying a used 2.
     

Share This Page

Loading...