1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Whats the point of google settings? Anyway too delete it?

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by LgOptimusM, Feb 26, 2013.

  1. LgOptimusM

    LgOptimusM Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    That random google settings app thing appeared on my coolpad. I dont even use google +? Thats the point for it right?
     

    Advertisement

  2. B198301

    B198301 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    69
    9
    16
    Its similar to when u go on websites that say log in with Facebook. Google + is doing it now . You will be able to manage all sites from app Look here http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2415922,00.asp
     
  3. LgOptimusM

    LgOptimusM Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I wont even have to use it l, i wish i could delete it :(
     
  4. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Lol just looked through my S3's app drawer then I saw it i was just like "what the hell is this" then I remembered seeing this thread even though I didnt click on it till now.
     
  5. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,766
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,766
    3,731
    653
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    I'm on sprint, root s2 user here, flashed a rom yesterday and at some point today that Google settings just appeared out of nowhere :eek:

    Glad I'm not going crazy :D
     
  6. LgOptimusM

    LgOptimusM Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    Lol :D
     
  7. LgOptimusM

    LgOptimusM Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    I thought i was going crazy too lol :D
     
  8. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,766
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,766
    3,731
    653
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Yet another Google app forced upon us that's completely useless

    The kicker, using root to my advantage, deleted it and it showed back up :(

    [​IMG]
     
  9. LgOptimusM

    LgOptimusM Guest
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:


    Aww man so does that means there is no way to delete it? Its just sitting there, in my app drawer.. mocking me... :( lol
     
  10. Spec2nirvash

    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #115
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,685
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    1,685
    654
    233
    MA
    Depending on the launcher you have, you can just hide it :D

    I've been watching it. It's not even showing up in running processes, just that stupid Google services that's always been there, so I see no threat, YET.
     
    DragonSlayer95 likes this.
  11. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,766
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,766
    3,731
    653
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    Just knowing it's there is enough to irritate the heck out of some people, myself included :p
     
  12. Kaiser17

    Kaiser17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    474
    162
    88
    Male
    Webmaster/Web Design & Data Entry
    Atlanta, GA
    You guys probably updated or installed a google app, showed up on my phone today after I decided to update all of my Google Apps such as Maps, Places, Navigation, Local etc.
     
  13. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Did you read the article linked up there. Its a automatic update.
     
  14. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,766
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,766
    3,731
    653
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    No updating here :p

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Kaiser17

    Kaiser17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    474
    162
    88
    Male
    Webmaster/Web Design & Data Entry
    Atlanta, GA
    Did you read my post up there. I got it only after I updated my Google Apps as an educated guess would be that the newer google apps have that new "Google settings" functionality which is why it would install alongside the updates that I manually installed on my phone by checking for updates in the play store as I never really updated my Google Apps after getting the phone.

    It popped up as soon as I updated them, im not arguing the fact that its not automatic now am I? And regardless of it being automatic or not, im sure I know when it installed on my phone. Hope I explained this in enough detail so you understand :rolleyes:
     
  16. B198301

    B198301 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    69
    9
    16
    I think all the complaining is dumb maybe I'm wrong. But its making your life easier when websites and apps intergrate it in it as one less username and password you have to remember. Google+ is still fairly new but it will soon replace FB same way FB replaced MySpace.
     
    sammyz likes this.
  17. PRkid

    PRkid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #284
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    518
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    518
    49
    78
    Male
    Lazy person
    Bronx, NY
    Wow, I was adding an app to my folder, and saw Google Settings in the app drawer, I was like o_O? I thought it was always there but never paid attention to it. It did look unfamiliar. Funny how it happened to all you guys too, lol.
     
  18. TransitGuy4500

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    62
    18
    48
    Male
    NYC
    I don't have google settings on my Motion.
    But the Google apps (Maps, Google +) all are due for an update which I haven't done.
    Maybe that could be a part of it?^
     
  19. twogbsd

    twogbsd Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    2,014
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012

    I didn't update nothing, and it popped up there last night 0.o
     
  20. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    313
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A
    Just hide it. Problem solved.
     
  21. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,835
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,835
    2,489
    323
    Male
    None :(
    Pompano Beach, Fl
    After updating any app, you'll see it soon enough.
     
  22. Kaiser17

    Kaiser17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    474
    162
    88
    Male
    Webmaster/Web Design & Data Entry
    Atlanta, GA
    Anyways, why is there a thread about it anyways? And btw its not really app but more of a shortcut for the others.

    As mentioned above, just hide it if you're using a custom launcher.. I forgot in which section but I remember some users complained about Google Services and were trippin balls over it when it installed on their phones..

    obviously it had a purpose as to why google would just automatically install an app on your phone.
     
  23. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,766
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,766
    3,731
    653
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
    I now see that this does have to do with "Google Play services".

    Had to update services on my new s3 to gain access to youtube, no Google settings before, but there it was afterwards.

    Odd I never updated services on my s2 :/
     
  24. Kaiser17

    Kaiser17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    474
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011

    Sep 14, 2011
    474
    162
    88
    Male
    Webmaster/Web Design & Data Entry
    Atlanta, GA
    Youtube seems to be the only app that requires Google play services at the moment. I found that out when I updated it awhile ago but then reverted back to the old version as its smooth and fast and im just more comfortable with it and not a big fan of the new UI
     
  25. TransitGuy4500

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    62
    18
    48
    Male
    NYC
    Yep I updated Nova Launcher just right now, and there is the google settings app on my phone now :eek: lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...