1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General What's the thinking behind no hardware buttons?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thisISjoel, Jun 26, 2014.

  1. thisISjoel

    thisISjoel Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    412
    119
    68
    Sydney
    Because gosh darn it I'd love me some capacitive buttons on my Nexus 5!

    I run a lower DPI (420) and I still feel like I'm giving up too much of my screen real estate to those pesky software buttons!

    I've tried pie and it's ok except in like Facebook and stuff when you want to go between your timeline, comments, pictures etc and you need to use the back button a lot, then it sucks. Hard.

    At the moment the best I can do seems to be to just switch between extended and normal desktop mode depending on which app I'm using but for reals if I could have some capacitive buttons good golly I'd be happy!

    I reckon with a 5.5" display I'd be pretty ok with software buttons only but with the 4.95" we're playing with I'd love a set up like the one plus one.
     

    Advertisement

  2. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford
    I reduce the size of mine either by running a custom rom or using a tool such as gravitybox and the Xposed framework, the second option requires rooting though
     
  3. thisISjoel

    thisISjoel Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    412
    119
    68
    Sydney
    Yeah, I've done that too, I feel like it looks weird smaller, I know, I'm weird. Thanks for the reply though :)
     
    bigt likes this.
  4. Hook

    Hook Ever since DU... ;-)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,358
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    1,358
    650
    233
    Male
    Northern VA, USA
    Heck, I'd love some hardware buttons. :p I'm old school (or maybe just old) ;)

    I'm sure the thinking was cost, eliminating one more source of technical support and flexibility for future changes (probably the same reasoning for removing SD card slots-- and, yes, I wish we had memory card expansion as well :rolleyes:).
     
  5. thisISjoel

    thisISjoel Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    412
    119
    68
    Sydney
    That old chestnut.
     
  6. tsaunders

    tsaunders Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    419
    25
    43
    I personally like the software buttons. I don't like having the hardware or capacitive ones. One reason is that if i want I can modify them with a custom ROM and have the buttons I want, with the other ones you are stuck with that is there unless you can map them with the ROM.

    Most apps now use immersive mode so they are hidden and this gives you full use of the screen.

    https://developer.android.com/training/system-ui/immersive.html
     
  7. lennydude

    lennydude Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    1,000
    244
    153
    Male
    Derivative Trader - AIG "JK"
    Maine USA
    I think you are running Dirty Unicorns ???

    If so, on the home page, pull down the settings and you will see a square box with a little guy in it. Choose this and some icons will appear. I have a icon called "normal". Press this and the icon will then be listed as "expanded".
    Close this and when you do want either the upper status bar or the soft keys you just swipe up or down on the screen. Works 100% for me at least.

    I have also tried Xposed and Ultimate Nav Bar and even though they are not recommended, they have worked flawlessly in the past.
     
  8. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    I know before I updated to 4.4.4, the rom I was using had auto-hide nav bars. This would put you in a pseudo-immerse mode where the nav bars would hide and then if you swiped up from the bottom they would reappear for about 5-10 seconds and then hide again. It sounds pretty similar to what lenny posted above me.
     
  9. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Googles been pushing software only navigation buttons for a while. Other manufacturers are starting to follow suit.

    Its really only Samsung thats holding fast on the hardware home key.
     
  10. thisISjoel

    thisISjoel Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    412
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014

    Feb 16, 2014
    412
    119
    68
    Sydney
    Yeah, that's what I do when I use Chrome or something, extended/expanded whatever it is desktop mode.

    I don't HATE the software buttons, I'd just prefer the One Plus One style capacitive buttons I think so the display is all display, you know? That said I reckon with a bigger screen i.e. the G3 it'd be a lot easier to live with software buttons.
     
  11. Tyseyh

    Tyseyh Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,035
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    2,035
    296
    163
    Male
    Leeds, UK
  12. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,592
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,592
    363
    273
    California
  13. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,065
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,065
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    As someone that used to have capacitive buttons, I am super happy that they are all on screen now. I don't mind the lost real estate, and they can change to match the phone UI that I end up with (aka when L comes out, my buttons will change to match, which cannot be said for people with capacitive buttons.)

    Also, since L is just a preview right now, there is always the chance that the release software will have a smaller nav bar or (not likely but still possible) completely embrace PIE or something similar.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...