1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support What's up with the Freezing screen on the X?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sean76, Jul 16, 2010.

  1. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    Alrighty, so I had my Preorder waiting at best buy for me to pick it up, however I decided to stop by VZW to play with a demo before pulling the trigger. Well, I will say its awesome in the hand, and build quality feels top notch, better then my EVO and incredible when you talk about build. Now the one I was playing around with was the store Demo that the Manager I know was walking around with in his pocket, not the actual Demo that is attached to the wall. He basically said here ya go, go sit In a corner and play with your toy, and let me know the verdict. So it didn't have a thousand paws on it!

    Needless to say, the MOTO blur interface is cool, I could live with it, but seriously what is going on with the freezing? The phone locked up on me about 3 times. Before people start saying apps, task killers, moving wallpaper, etc, NOPE, none of that was going on. It was fully charged and he told me no apps were downloaded to the device yet. The thing would just freeze as I was using it. Battery pull worked, but a couple minutes later would end up frozen again, and the screen would just become unresponsive. Needless to say, that is not something I will deal with. My old Palm Treo 700 was exactally like that back in the day, no way am I going through a load of battery pulls and restarts throughout the day. Pretty disappointed, but can anyone tell me if they experienced anything like this with their X at all? Best Buy said I got 2 days to pick my unit up, so I still may pull the trigger and do a 30 day try if this was in fact just a coincidence with the unit I was using. Figured I check with my peeps on the Forum before making up my mind.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Vihzel

    Vihzel Destroying Balls Everyday
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    5,364
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    5,364
    1,055
    333
    NYU Student & Real Estate Agent
    Manhattan, NY
    I don't know if that was just a defective device or something. I don't use the Moto skin but I do use LauncherPro and haven't experienced anything wrong. I would let you try mine, but well... :p
     
    sean76 likes this.
  3. kennyham

    kennyham Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I saw the same thing at a local Verizon store here. It kept rebooting or freezing, to the point I couldn't even play with it. I hope its just a demo issue or old firmware. I couldn't check the firmware version because it would never settle down enough to get it to the settings menu. I still am looking forward to getting my own X though in a few days.
     
  4. Phantom_LS2

    Phantom_LS2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010

    Jun 19, 2010
    150
    18
    58
    Mechanical Engineer
    Central Tx
    I have had mine freeze up on me one for a few seconds, but that's it. Nothing different than my old jailbroken iphone3gs. Still extremely happy i made the jump.
     
    sean76 likes this.
  5. 2009m6

    2009m6 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    315
    51
    53
    lol, op. Why not find someone who has the phone, and use theirs?

    dont you think that would be a smarter thing to do? i mean, you are using a store display on a demo that was just officially released to the public yesterday?

    Sometimes common sense works better than you think;)
     
  6. dima

    dima Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    28
    8
    16
    First thing I did was install LauncherPro and the X has been running phenomenally since. I've been seeing several people complaining about various features about the X, but it seems just about every one of these complaints is due to the Moto Blur widgets and launcher.

    I think Motorola has messed themselves up with this one. Hopefully with a bit of time, most people can be instructed to try out third party launchers like LauncherPro or ADW and see the world of benefits available once all the moto stuff is thrown out the window.
     
    sean76 likes this.
  7. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC

    Your quote is plain idiotic...yea I'll swarm the streets looking for someone's phone to play with! You use common sense. I'm a pretty nice guy, except for when people pass along ridiculous ideas. Understand, I'm not new to the tec game my friend, and I have enough phones to build a fairly large Lego house. Simply asking my fellow forum friends if they have been experiencing what I, and it looks like a few others saw. Clearly your not a fellow forum person, because you had nothing to add but a stupid quote...So keep it moving guy.

    Ok friends, carry on...lol
     
  8. sean76

    sean76 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,460
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    4,460
    779
    213
    THE BOSS
    NYC
    Obviously, some people are helpful, and clearly some are not!
     
  9. ghamden

    ghamden Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010

    Jul 10, 2010
    101
    14
    38
    Seems if the problem exists on first use and continues i would do factory rest device a couple of times to make sure there are no corrupt files -- if the problem continues i would request a new replacement
     
  10. quickaudi

    quickaudi Android Expert
    Rank:
     #100
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,099
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    3,099
    415
    273
    TN
    mine did it once; pulled the battery and it has worked fine ever since

    *shrugs*
     
  11. vexhold

    vexhold Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    62
    3
    36
    I have 2 DX's now and have been playing with them heavily. I have not had either one lock up or even minutely stall (except when I activated the blur facebook connection but that was due to heavy cpu usage in transfering all the contact data).

    The only odd thing I have run into is the apperent non-charging from my car adapter. This though might be my own fault as it is not a "Standard Factory Charging Method" it is basically a USB car connector. I will try something else this weekend. But it charges fine with the wall charger it came with.

    My advice is not to hesitate getting this phone. It is by far worth it. yes, there may be some bugs here and there we have to deal with, but then again we ARE bleeding edge on this.
     
  12. nyandroiduser

    nyandroiduser Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Mine has frozen about four times in 24 hours with removing the battery as the only fix. Several other times the phone has restarted itself: once while using the Navigator, another time that I cannot remember what I was doing, and two times while I was using a USB cable to transfer music to the SD card...very frustrating!
     
  13. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    No freezing here, but I installed Launcher Pro quite early. I wanted to give Moto's interface a fair shake, but quickly grew tired of the look of things. I've spent most of the last 12 hours playing with it.
     
  14. sx4dude2013

    sx4dude2013 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    857
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    857
    64
    78
    Student
    Georgia
    mine froze up once but hasn't done it since. i hope it is isolated. we will see.........im completley stock for now....ill be praying!
     
  15. jroc10

    jroc10 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    I'm having the same exact problem. I thought it may have been the screen protector, but that's not the case. I've tried wiping it, battery pull alternate launchers but nothing helps. Will be going back to bb tomorrow. Hopefully I can get a replacement.
     
  16. bfaridnia

    bfaridnia Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    17
    1
    16
    Same problem here. Phone freezes then shows droid eye already done twice in one hour.also lcd shows faint white lines at top so look s like areplacement is in the future for me
     
  17. droidSPARX

    droidSPARX Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010

    Jun 26, 2010
    237
    14
    38
    well so far I haven't experience it...yet
    even playing around LaunchPro and Quickdesk (buttons doesn't work :( )
     

Share This Page

Loading...