1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

What's your SSID?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by foo, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. foo

    foo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    483
    105
    68
    IT
    Chicago, IL
    So what are the members of the AF community broadcasting into their neighborhood?

    I have 2 wireless APs
    1.) 127.0.0.1
    2.) 127.0.0.2
    both WPA2 , broadcast: off, mac filtering: off

    GO!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    9,025
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    9,025
    20,382
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
  3. RozzaC

    RozzaC Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    647
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009

    Feb 25, 2009
    647
    10
    83
    Student
    London, UK
    Wait...what? o_O
     
  4. foo

    foo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    483
    105
    68
    IT
    Chicago, IL
  5. deadite66

    deadite66 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009

    Feb 4, 2009
    117
    6
    36
    ironbadger
     
  6. Cryptic79

    Cryptic79 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    576
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008

    Sep 10, 2008
    576
    25
    88
    SharePoint Architect
    St. Louis, MO
    Uber-geek. :p

    WEP, Broadcast is on, no MAC filtering.

    Now if I only had a good driver for my wireless card in the lappy that works with Server 03 (used to be a Vista box), then I could have both machines on the webz.
     
  7. foo

    foo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    483
    105
    68
    IT
    Chicago, IL
    Any particular reason you're using WEP? (instead of WPA/WPA2)
     
  8. Kaarstyy

    Kaarstyy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009

    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    0
    25
    I have two SSID's.

    1. Legend - SSID broadcast off, WEP encryption, MAC filtering ON. Running through to 192.168.1.0/27 @ 54Mbps.
    2. Overvolt - SSID broadcast on, WEP encryption, MAC filtering OFF. Running through to 192.168.0.0/27 @ 5.5Mbps.

    Second network also has a honey pot set up for the occasional person who decides to stroll onto my public network. It's running a keylogger and packet sniffer.
     
  9. TopDog

    TopDog Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009

    Jul 8, 2009
    21
    0
    35
    Product Specialist Mobile Business
    Oslo, Norway
    At home: "Gauteweb" - WPA2.

    Summercabin: "Lassebo" - completely open (no neighbours within range, and it's only turned on when I'm there).
     
  10. foo

    foo Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008

    Oct 20, 2008
    483
    105
    68
    IT
    Chicago, IL
    my thread is still alive! :D
     
  11. BigTimeNexusFan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    51
    1
    16
    I change my ssid quite often and making it something insulting to the neighbor next door. He can't figure out who keeps doing it but I get a kick out of him telling me about it when he sees them. Like "JimmyStinks" or "VWjunk"...etc.... keeps it interesting. It's all light humor. We are good friends actually.
     
  12. BStark

    BStark Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    4
    0
    25
    IT Hardware Support
    Scotland
    set my new SSID last week "Will work for Bandwidth"
    i did have a collection of "Classics" that i found out working including
    "cleaner required 6.50ph apply no75"
     
  13. Tomoko

    Tomoko Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    66
    21
    38
    Information Technology Support, Supervisory
    Baltimore, Maryland
    SSID: Kakariko
    House full of Zelda fans so it was a pretty obvious choice to us

    Security: WEP
    I have a DS Lite which won't connect via WPA

    Mac Filtering: on
    Due to being on WEP I don't feel safe without it.

    Broadcast: off

    Mode: b/g/n
     
  14. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    free polka lyrics
     
  15. Distant

    Distant Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    33
    1
    36
    Implementation Coordinator
    Western New York
    Defcon5
    WPA2, no MAC filtering, broadcast off.
     
  16. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Kagnet

    Combination of the first few letters of my last name and "net".

    WPA (old WiFi card prevents me from going to WPA2), broadcast on, no MAC filter.
     
  17. Kage_

    Kage_ Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010

    Apr 24, 2010
    25
    4
    36
    Earth (I think)
    mdjthmsx01
    mdjthmsx01-mesh

    The first one is my main network running on a WRT54GS w/ DD-WRT, WPA/WPA2. The name was derived by using my initials, my wife's initials, our home and the 01 I have no idea why I put it on. :)

    The 2nd one is my test mesh network from open-mesh.com. I use this network for testing new firmware releases before I release them to my production network. It's WPA only.
     
  18. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    One of mine is "nofreeloadinghere"
     
  19. rwZephyr

    rwZephyr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    245
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    245
    16
    58
    Communications Consultant
    Vancouver Island, Canada
    My ADSL line is Tronfunkinblow, and my cable is Tronfunkinblow2 (I'm not very creative)

    if you don't understand my canadian ways, thisClip will educate you, at least a little bit.
     
  20. P-UNIT

    P-UNIT Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    9
    0
    25
    asstastic
     
  21. dphorr01

    dphorr01 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    5
    0
    25
    Mine is boring, but my neighbor changes his almost daily. Today it is Purple Sparkles. I think he's doing mushrooms. :)
     
  22. Howie

    Howie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,412
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    1,412
    71
    148
    IT
    Central NY
    lol

    Right now it's "how" using wpa2. Getting a new wireless router tomorrow when the FiOS guy comes to do the install, so not sure what I'll name that just yet.
     
  23. Zenze

    Zenze Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010

    Apr 17, 2010
    210
    10
    38
    I stick mostly with wired because large file transfers take to long over wireless. But my one AP is:

    "Bluebox": WPA2, broadcast off, MAC filtering off

    Also running DD-WRT, stock firmware was lacking the capability I needed and I didn't want to buy a $500+ router.
     
  24. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    I've got mostly wired as well, running throughout the house, one ethernet cable where every phone jack is ^.^ but I still have wifi as well.


    Tapatalk. Samsung Moment. Yep.
     
  25. stroths

    stroths Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    142
    67
    73
    Dallas Area
    I just run mine as BSD as my firewall/router for years has been BSD based.
     

Share This Page

Loading...