1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

whats your uptime?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by harry dunn, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. harry dunn

    harry dunn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    61
    0
    15
    Just wondering what some of your guys uptimes are....I'm currently at 114 hours!
     

    Advertisement

  2. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
  3. harry dunn

    harry dunn Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    61
    0
    15
    Nice!
     
  4. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    Yea, only had to reboot it once and that was on the 2nd day. I see so many posts about reboots and all these crazy problems people are having. I must be one of the lucky ones because my DROID has been purrrrfect since day 1.
     
  5. michaelk

    michaelk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    162
    1
    36
    mine's always less than a day. Because i can't control myself and keep playing with it till i kill the battery and it shuts down. ;-)

    I need siedo to get an extended battery ASAP...
     
  6. fumoh

    fumoh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    22
    0
    15
    I reboot at least once a day. The device won't be able to pick up GPS at all after about 24 hours. Reboot the phone, GPS locks in almost instantly.

    Hope this is a software issue that gets fixed soon...
     
  7. smegoul

    smegoul Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    34
    1
    16
    Software Release Manager
    South of Boston
    189
    Rebooted on purpose not due to a problem.
     
  8. allanlaw

    allanlaw Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    437
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    437
    31
    63
    Los Angeles, California
    23

    Mine seems to need a reboot every few days. It just dies and cannot be turned on again without pulling the battery. I've gotten into the habit of checking on it every so often to make sure it's on . . . :rolleyes:
     
  9. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    111hrs

    Haven't had to reboot since I don't use task killer app. I still have it installed just not running. Half the time though I rebooted just for the hell of it. I don't know if it has anything to do with advanced task killer. But I can tell you that I see no decrease in performance by not using it.
     
  10. JackT

    JackT Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    137
    7
    36
    Chicago, IL
    348 - Only one reboot done by myself.
     
  11. chefboyardee

    chefboyardee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    179
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    179
    1
    56
    philly
    only 36 here, but that's because i install batches of 20 or 30 apps at a time to test them out (thank you "top app" threads!), then remove most of them as i find them useless, ugly, etc. as a windows guy i'm just used to rebooting after stuff like that. probably unnecessary.

    i also installed startup auditor and wanted to test that a few times recently.

    all reboots were for my own piece of mind, however. no problems so far.

    i'm going to try to go all of next week now that i'm *almost* done playing with my new toy.
     
  12. Caddyman

    Caddyman Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    3,216
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    3,216
    638
    233
    Mechanical Piping Designer
    Delaware
    i've been up for 4 hours, should i consult a doctor?
     
  13. N2o

    N2o Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    42
    0
    15
    I restart every time the sub menu slide animation gets choppy, thats a sign my phone is lagging even if there aren't any apps running. I find it weird how after long periods of use I can have 9mb free + xxx with only 2 services running. Something isn't clearing memory and it seems to effect performance not just on visual effects but on app performance in general. Anyone else?
     
  14. michaelk

    michaelk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    162
    1
    36

    sounds like you have something buggy installed or something isn't right with your phone.

    good luck finding it. Hopefully it's something simple.
     
  15. cdd543

    cdd543 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    97
    9
    16
    22 hours here..not sure how thats possible as mine rebooted itself last night.
     
  16. dusttones

    dusttones Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    49
    1
    16
    Mine likes to reboot a couple times a day...on its own. My 1st one rebooted about every 5 minutes...so this is a step up.
     
  17. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    373
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    373
    14
    38
    22 hours. Reboot yesterday though after bluetooth pairing brought it to its knees. Got impatient and rebooted.
     
  18. Jesson

    Jesson Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    60
    0
    35
    Chicago, IL
    223 hours
     
  19. rjoudrey

    rjoudrey Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,440
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    1,440
    125
    143
    Looking for work!
    Florida
    I notice that every couple of days my WIFI or 3G get a little slow a reboot seems to cure. Maybe not the problem but I feel better when I reboot. Just like starting out fresh for top performance. ;)
     
  20. Vance

    Vance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    562
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    562
    55
    78
    I have had mine since opening day, and never had to reboot.
     
  21. aileendq

    aileendq Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    225
    13
    58
    Female
    Boston, MA
    I power down most nights- just used to it, and I HATE getting texts and calls while I'm asleep.

    Does this reset my "up time" to zero?

    I'm also trying to condition my battery i.e. letting the phone die completely before I recharge it 100%. Does this reset "up time", too?

    Thanks!
     
  22. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Powering off will reset the uptime.

    Also, before someone else jumps in on this - there has been a lot of flack about how LiON batteries don't have memory problems and conditioning is not needed - but my own experience in the first days I had the phone seem to indicate otherwise, although I cannot say scientifically that it made a difference to do what you did - I just did, and it worked on giving me better battery times. But that could also be due to the fact that I did not let it charge overnight the day it arrived, as I was too busy playing with it :p

    In general, any powering off of the device (perhaps excluding application / setting related reboots) will reset the uptime.

    31+ here right now....
     
  23. dusttones

    dusttones Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    49
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    49
    1
    16
    Just had to reboot after 220 hours uptime.
     
  24. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,973
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,973
    3,603
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
    218 -- I think that's the amount of time since manually installing 2.0.1
     
  25. Eugene

    Eugene Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    781
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    781
    41
    68
    Male
    168, rebooted for the 2.0.1 install. Rebooted once before that when I filled up the SD card and then on the day I got it to wipe it clean and set it up myself.

    Laptop has been up for only 22 days as slackpkg installed some new Kernel update so i rebooted for that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...