1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Whatsapp Problem; Dont get messages on Standby.

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by l2emco, Feb 17, 2013.

  1. l2emco

    l2emco Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012

    Jan 23, 2012
    2
    3
    6
    Jj
     

    Advertisement

    #1 l2emco, Feb 17, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2017
  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,229
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,229
    25,449
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Although I don't use that app, is there perhaps a setting in the app to update while in standby?
     
  3. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,229
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,229
    25,449
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Also moved your thread here so others can see it and help out:)
     
  4. pm5544

    pm5544 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    469
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    469
    26
    53
    Male
    n/a
    Scotland
    Hello l2emco,

    Can I ask which android phone you use, and also do you happen to know the version of WhatsApp that you installed, and also how did you install it, was it from the Google Play store, or did you download it manually with your default web browser?
     
  5. John P

    John P Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    151
    29
    43
    UK - South West
    Do you have sync turned on?
     
  6. pm5544

    pm5544 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    469
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    469
    26
    53
    Male
    n/a
    Scotland
    Do you mean in General sync settings?

    Menu - Settings - Accounts and Sync?

    I have had the notification issue, and I have it ticked for Background Data, and also Auto-Sync for the WhatsApp and Google Account.

    I see there is a Sync all option, should that be chosen?
     
  7. John P

    John P Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    151
    29
    43
    UK - South West
    Yes the general sync, I'm not sure which phone you are using so our menus/android versions may be different.

    If you pull down the notification panel, is sync turned on there? Also if you long press on sync it should show what is syncing (it does on my phone anyway), whatsapp has a little green light against it to show its syncing.

    Out of interest, after you have turned your screen off for half an hour or so, turn screen on again and go to manage applications, and check your list of running apps to see if whatsapp is in there. If its not running, do you have any task killer apps installed which are set to kill whatsapp?
     
  8. John P

    John P Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012

    Aug 19, 2012
    151
    29
    43
    UK - South West
    Another thought, just firing ideas here :)

    Are you connected to Wi-Fi when this problem occurs?
    If so, is your phone set to keep wi-fi on during sleep?
     
  9. pm5544

    pm5544 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    469
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    469
    26
    53
    Male
    n/a
    Scotland
    I use the Samsung Galaxy Ace II.

    I don't have a sync option when I pull the notification panel down.

    If I go to task manager the whatsapp isn't showing that it's running. I don't use any task killers. There are 2 green circles on the right next to my WhatsApp and gmail account when I go to Accounts and Sync under settings, is this what you mean about them being synchronised?
     
  10. pm5544

    pm5544 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    469
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    469
    26
    53
    Male
    n/a
    Scotland
    Yes I am connected to Wi-Fi, and I normally have the packet data switched off just incase. And I have it set to be on all the time.
    This whole issue seems to be intermittent as I was receiving notifications last night, but still not convinced that I receive them when the phone has gone into screen lock for a period of time.

    I've yet to work out if I can receive a notification message when I go to the app and don't see a last seen at the contacts name at the top, and usually it takes about 20 seconds for that to appear like it's connecting..

    On my old Nokia I used to see the word connecting, so perhaps it's normal.
     
  11. pm5544

    pm5544 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    469
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    469
    26
    53
    Male
    n/a
    Scotland
    Im always connected to the internet though. And have also reinstalled the app.
     
  12. pm5544

    pm5544 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    469
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013

    Feb 19, 2013
    469
    26
    53
    Male
    n/a
    Scotland
    Is it normal when the phone has gone into screen lock for say half an hour, then when I go back into the WhatsApp and click on a contact from within the App the last seen or on-line info is missing and then after say 20 or 30 seconds it appears with the last time they were on or perhaps typing or just on-line.

    In other words if after a period of time does it need to recheck these details if and when the screen locks?

    Also noticed that if I come out of the App it then doesn't show in task manager, but still shows in Applications - Running Services - WhatsApp 1 process & 2 services, I think this is normal though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...