1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

When i connect to the wifi at work I knock it down?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by afromann13, Oct 21, 2009.

  1. afromann13

    afromann13 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    Everytime i connect to the wifi with the htc hero it knocks the internet down in every computer at work.. Why in the world will this happen? I tried both static IP and without it... Same thing... Can the phone be acting a modem?
     

    Advertisement

  2. WhiteBrow24

    WhiteBrow24 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    16
    0
    15
    do they know its you? if not thats funny as hell lol
     
  3. afromann13

    afromann13 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    Yeah .....However, My dad owns the place. :)
     
  4. WhiteBrow24

    WhiteBrow24 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    16
    0
    15
    you should have kept it quiet and blamed it on someone in the office surfing porn, i guarantee someone would have admitted to it!!
     
  5. ticho

    ticho Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    232
    12
    38
    Slovakia
    If a single wireless device can bring the connection down, something is definitely wrong with the network setup, not with the device. The only marginally acceptable reason would be if you had some app running on the phone which saturates download and/or upload bandwidth of your dad's internet connection - and even then, shared Internet connections should have rate limiting to disallow this.
     
  6. spenspuma

    spenspuma Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009

    Sep 24, 2009
    224
    12
    38
    Even funnier
     
  7. afromann13

    afromann13 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    8
    0
    5
    I downloaded the app "myIP" Can i use that IP to mess with it within the router set up? I had other phones and they all worked fine with the router but this one..
     
  8. afromann13

    afromann13 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    8
    0
    5
  9. quantumrand

    quantumrand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    1,237
    198
    143
    You should look into the settings on your wireless router. Perhaps it needs a firmware upgrade. Or maybe the encryption settings are throwing something off.

    I'd start with the firmware upgrade just because you wont have to go and reconfigure all the computers on the wireless (make sure to back up the settings though).
     
  10. daveybaby

    daveybaby Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    919
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009

    Sep 21, 2009
    919
    105
    93
    Software engineer
    UK
    The Hero doesnt play nicely with 802.11n networks, often when i tried to connect to my netgear DG834N router it crashed the router. Restricting the router to 802.11b/g fixed the problem. There are quite a few threads relating to this now, so its a fairly common problem.

    You could argue that the router shouldnt crash, which is fair enough, but the hero is doing something VERY wrong regardless, since i have plenty of other devices connected to the router without problems.

    Waiting for a fix for this from HTC.
     
  11. quantumrand

    quantumrand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,237
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009

    Sep 2, 2009
    1,237
    198
    143
    I've got two Wireless-N routers, and my Hero connects to either of them just fine. One is a D-Link something or other with 300n, and the other is Airlink 670W with 150n. I realize that there are a lot of other Wireless-N routers out there, but so far, my experience is 100% compatibility.
     
  12. daveybaby

    daveybaby Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    919
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009

    Sep 21, 2009
    919
    105
    93
    Software engineer
    UK
    Hmmm... maybe it's only some models of router. I know i'm not the only person that's had problems with the DG834N, but i've also seen threads that imply that it's a more general 802.11n problem, and i've also had an email from HTC that implies this is a problem and theyre working on it.
     
  13. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    As the email stated, the 802.11n standard was only ratified by the IEEE a few weeks ago. Hopefully now that it's set in stone the hardware manufacturers will all update their "Draft-N" firmwares to ensure 100% compatibility.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...