1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support When is android 2.2 going to be available for the HTC Hero

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by boltman619, Jul 8, 2010.

  1. BlackedOut

    BlackedOut Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    80
    7
    16
    Retail
    Kansas

    Advertisement

  2. Linoleum

    Linoleum Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    99
    9
    16
    Ok darn it, I'm going to try this.....

    Do I need to revert back to the .5 build of 2.1 to complete the 1-click root?
     
  3. chawski

    chawski Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    525
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    525
    36
    68
    nope, worked fine for me with the .6 update
     
  4. Linoleum

    Linoleum Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    99
    9
    16
    So what you're saying is.. I have no stinkin excuse to enjoy a faster, better battery life, less bloatware phone? Time to start reading and planning.

    Thanks guys.
     
  5. BlackedOut

    BlackedOut Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    80
    7
    16
    Retail
    Kansas
    Correct! It was tested to work on .6 and that is what I tried it on last night too. Works good so far!
     
  6. MahaloCat

    MahaloCat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,931
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    1,931
    460
    163
    Honolulu
    Not that I don't Trust you....BUT.....can anyone else confirm this - RE: .6 Update.
     
  7. joseamirandavelez

    joseamirandavelez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    190
    3
    36
    Mechanical Engineer
    Puerto Rico
    I guess you are gonna have to move to Mars... Martians Heroes are still in 1.5... :p
     
  8. joseamirandavelez

    joseamirandavelez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    190
    3
    36
    Mechanical Engineer
    Puerto Rico
    I used CM6 for about a month and it is really fast. Last time I tried it had a couple of bugs in some apps but was OK...
     
  9. Linoleum

    Linoleum Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    99
    9
    16
    2.2 is awesome. I rooted using the one click method. Then used Root Manager (in market) to do the rest. Its all a little daunting, but if you follow the instructions, any dope can root and run the new versions. (including myself)

    I had .6 build prior to using the one click program to root... just to confirm.

    The only tricky part was connecting my phone to the computer (as a disk drive) and dragging over the two zip files CM6 and google aps to the sd card.

    Happy to say all is up and running and looking very slick. No idea if the battery life is any better yet.

    Thanks again everyone.
     
    usnret04 likes this.
  10. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,697
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,697
    2,079
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Flash an uncapped kernel or the battery tweak and your battery life will 3 times better;)
     
  11. BlackedOut

    BlackedOut Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    80
    7
    16
    Retail
    Kansas
    Maybe you should take a look at the actual thread with the root and rom in it on XDA? Hm.
     
  12. BlackedOut

    BlackedOut Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    80
    7
    16
    Retail
    Kansas
    Install the Collin_PH battery fix. it helps tweak the performance of the processor and how it scales the battery usage.
     
    usnret04 likes this.
  13. BlackedOut

    BlackedOut Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    80
    7
    16
    Retail
    Kansas
    To add to this. Do like everyone says and Nandroid your setup before flashing!
     
  14. Linoleum

    Linoleum Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    99
    9
    16
    I actually did twice, the nandroid and also the ClockworkMod backup. I'll assume I'm wasting a bit of space on my SD card.....
     
  15. rse411

    rse411 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    42
    0
    15
    So do you have to put the .apk file in a folder on ur phone by connecting it to your pc thru usb, or can u just download it straight to ur phone and it work?

    lol im new at this and really afraid of voiding my warranty
     
  16. usnret04

    usnret04 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    30
    0
    15
    Simpsonville, SC
    This is where my problem lies...I also did the ROM Manager Root with Clockwork, but I have a .6 build.

    I was told I may need to update my radio?

    I've read the xda thread, but it seems like I need to use their root method, but mine is already rooted and I have the SuperUser app, which xda says if you don't have it you need to downgrade. So that's confusing.

    How do I do the RUU part after I've alredy rooted using CW?

    I plan on using CM6 also...can I just jump and use the latest or (best) nightly?
     
  17. usnret04

    usnret04 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    30
    0
    15
    Simpsonville, SC
    Hopefully Linoleum will come back and verify.

    Does ROM Manager wipe then flash? And are you certain you had the .6 build prior to using ROM Manager to flash CM6?
     
  18. BlackedOut

    BlackedOut Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    80
    7
    16
    Retail
    Kansas
    The rom manager can wipe, that option is on there. You DO need to wipe your phone for it to correctly upgrade to the rom.

    I just put the apk file on the sd card with no folder. Then you will be able to find it with the ROM manager and you just run it and it will do the rest for you.

    I am certain that I had the .6 update. I checked it before I did anything. The universal 1 click works great.

    Also, usnret04, there is no need to worry about voiding the warranty, you just flash it back to the stock 2.1 if you have to take it in for anything. Then you can just go back with the nandroid backup you make.
     
    usnret04 likes this.
  19. Linoleum

    Linoleum Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    99
    9
    16
    DEFINITELY had the .6 build prior to rooting. ROM Manager did the backup, wipe, and flash.

    As a side note: I didn't have the CM6 zip file on my SD Card prior to starting the rooting process. After the wipe, freaked out when I returned to the ROM Manager screen and had nothing to flash. In my panic I THINK I rebooted to 2.1, moved the zip file to SD, downloaded ROM Manager (again) and finally flashed CM6. Trial by fire!
     
    usnret04 likes this.
  20. usnret04

    usnret04 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    30
    0
    15
    Simpsonville, SC
    Do I drag the entire CM6 zip file and Google Apps to the SD card?

    EDIT: Looks like Linoleum just answered my question, I forgot to refresh the web page.
     
  21. howiesf

    howiesf Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    79
    4
    16
    Can you please tell me what exactly is the "battery tweak" and can you use it without being rooted?

    I rarely get more than 10-12 hrs of battery life with minimal updating of apps and about 1/2 hr of web browsing and 10-20 txts using Handcent.
    Thanks

     
  22. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    The battery tweak is a zip file that you would flash through recovery. It is only for rooted phones, and particularly those running Froyo (android 2.2)
     
  23. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,697
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,697
    2,079
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    If you are NOT rooted, you CANNOT flash the battery tweak or an uncapped kernel
     
  24. *JonnyB*

    *JonnyB* Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    59
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    59
    0
    15
    Can someone please give me step-by-step specific instructions on how to root my Hero by using the CyanogenMod-6 for Hero CDMA. Thanks!
     
  25. d2offrover

    d2offrover Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...