1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root When will root be achieved for the Maxx?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Old Member, Aug 21, 2013.

  1. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    I tweeted to P3Droid asking him his thoughts. Here is the reply I got:

    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

    redpipe, Outatime and OutOfPhase like this.
  2. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    If that's true, that sucks.
     
  3. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,091
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010

    Feb 2, 2010
    2,091
    665
    213
    Male
    ELP Engineer @ National Instruments
    Austin, TX
    while i doubt that retweet is true i do doubt it will happen soon... since its a near stock build of android there isn't much to need to root or unlock for compared to a non stock phone like the gs4 or HTC One...

    atleast we got an awesome phone out of the box no tweaking necessary. root would be a nice cherry on top though.
     
  4. Outatime

    Outatime Android Expert
    Rank:
     #111
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    1,629
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,629
    662
    253
    Male
    Fed
    My main reasons for rooting the GNex are all corrected on the Maxx so I really don't feel this as a big loss.

    Removal of the on-screen nav buttons.
    Widgets being visible in Nova's selection window.
    Better throttling of the processor for battery life.
     
  5. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,024
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010

    Dec 7, 2010
    4,024
    2,149
    523
    Retired Lineman
    Tampa, FL
    I root so I can install inverted apps. I use to root to flash roms and improve the os, but android has improved so much that stock works fine for me.
     
  6. Lucky Armpit

    Lucky Armpit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    674
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    674
    352
    133
    IT Manager
    Rocky Mount, NC
    I was going to hold off on buying the Maxx until it was rooted but I really thought about that on the way home yesterday. The only reason why I wanted root so badly was because of backing up/restoring programs. Once I really thought about it, the vast majority of my apps don't have "data" per se; they just get installed and I set up preferences. My contacts are backed up to Google, and the two most important things (music and pictures) are all on an SD Card so they're easily copied to the Maxx once I get get. I have a game or two that I will lose progress on but honestly, I don't have time right now for games (haven't played some of them in months and months) so again, that's no big loss.

    The point is, I don't need to wait for root because right now, I don't need it. If root is eventually achieved, great, if not, no loss for me.
     
  7. mistermojorizi

    mistermojorizi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011

    Oct 26, 2011
    500
    178
    93
    i'd like adaway to work...and that needs root. i'm trying to use adblock plus with mixed results
     
    cmcconkey and Trooper like this.
  8. 18t

    18t Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    144
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    144
    27
    43
    adfree and tasker are the only apps i really want to use root for. this would be the perfect phone for me if we got root access. will probably trade it for something else down the road
     
  9. mistermojorizi

    mistermojorizi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    500
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011

    Oct 26, 2011
    500
    178
    93
    dhacker 29 just tweeted today:

    Code (Text):
    1.  
     
    Lucky Armpit likes this.
  10. distortedloop

    distortedloop Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    23
    1
    16
    I've rooted every phone I've ever had, since the original iPhone.

    No root here might be tough 6 months down the line, but for now, I'm not missing it too much.

    There's a few obvious things I'm missing already, like bypassing the tethering restrictions, but with the ability to "freeze" the little bit of bloatware on the phone, and a relatively nice/clean vanilla android running on it (no need for ROMming), it hasn't been a deal-killer this first week of ownership.

    One thing I *really* miss root on already, though, is Tasker! I was trying to setup some Tasker profiles that unlock the phone when I'm within range of my home WiFi, and re-lock it when I am out of range. They work, as long as I use a PIN instead of a pattern lock. Apparently pattern locks need root access to have this kind of Tasker control. :-(

    That aside, for the general public who doesn't even know what root is, this is a fantastic phone. Good display, not HTC One great, but good, AMAZING battery life, and some really good features that we won't see on competitors for a while. Well done, Googlerola.
     
  11. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    I need root to use wifi tether (still on unlimited). Also, I truly hate all the bloat that's on this device. I have "disabled" it all but it's still there.

    I can only imagine what this phone would be like once it's rooted. BEASTLY! (ER)
     
    Lucky Armpit and Trooper like this.
  12. Lucky Armpit

    Lucky Armpit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    674
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    674
    352
    133
    IT Manager
    Rocky Mount, NC
    Kinda the same for me. I want to REMOVE the bloat, just not disable it. If it's disabled, fine, at least it's out of sight/out of mind. Better than nothing, in other words.
     
  13. Knoxie

    Knoxie Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013

    Sep 3, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Anyone think a bounty help get it going at all?
     

Share This Page

Loading...