1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Where are ringtones stored on the Evo?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wubbie075, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. wubbie075

    wubbie075 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    359
    40
    43
    I converted a ton of songs on my Pre into ringtones. I like to get goofy with custom ringtones for people. So, when backing everything up in advance of moving from the Pre to the Evo I also saved the ringtones folder from the Pre.

    I've conncted to the "drive" on the Evo via the USB cable just like I did for the Pre, and I see a Music folder, but I don't see a Ringtones folder. Is there no way to just dump all my old ringtones onto the Evo so I don't have to convert each one all over again? :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. companyman

    companyman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    64
    35
    23
    Deale, MD
    The drive that you are looking at on your PC when you connect the phone is most likely the 8GB SD card that comes with the phone.

    What I'm about to say is how *I* know how to get ringtones to show up..there might be a simpler way to do it.

    1. On your SD card make a folder called Media
    2. In the media folder make a folder called audio
    3. In the audio folder make a folder called ringtones
    4. Put any ringtones that you want in this folder

    Now when you go to select ringtones on your evo your custom ringtones should show up in the list.

    As far as I know you need to have root access in order to copy ringtone files directly to the evo's built in storage.
     
    ludabean, STLEVOFan, spydermn and 6 others like this.
  3. Matt351

    Matt351 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    25
    2
    16
    Isn't there a folder called media already?
     
  4. companyman

    companyman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    64
    35
    23
    Deale, MD
    On the SD card? Not sure. I'm using one I already had setup from my Incredible.

    So if there is just move on to the next step.
     
  5. Matt351

    Matt351 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    25
    2
    16
    It did the trick. Thanks
     
  6. Rizop

    Rizop Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    92
    8
    16
    Memphis, TN
    yeah, all downloaded ringtones are stored on sd card; i found this out the hard way when i had the micro sd card issue; it kept deleting my downloaded ringtones!
     
  7. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Does the ringtone file name have to have a certain format? I still can't seem to see any of the ringtones I had on my storage card.
     
  8. companyman

    companyman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    64
    35
    23
    Deale, MD
    I have only a couple custom ringtones but one is .mp3 and the other is .m4a

    I can't tell you exactly what formats it supports but those two should work.
     
  9. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    It's so weird. I have something like 20 ringtones/alerts set up that I used for my Touch Pro. It really has to be so simple that I'll feel really dumb once I figure out why they're not being recognized.

    Here's what I did:
    - Had 16gb that I was using on my Touch Pro (Windows Mobile Phone)
    - Deleted (through my laptop) all the Touch Pro backup stuff that wouldn't apply to the EVO, using a SD adaptor.
    - Kept Custom Ringtones, Custom Alerts, Pics/Wallpapers, Music (4 separate folders)
    - When I got the EVO, I swapped the microSD cards after the phone was fully charged.
    - After seeing this thread, I created folders as you mentioned above.

    I had all my ringtones names "Ring-SongName" and all my alert names "Alert-SoundName."

    I read another website that mentioned that since Android is Linux based, everything had to be lower case. I tried renaming all of them lowercase. No luck.
     
  10. companyman

    companyman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    64
    35
    23
    Deale, MD
    So I'm assuming they are in MP3 format?

    Also you move/copied all your ringtones to the appropriate folder that you created on the SD card? I assume so but I have to ask :)

    You say you had Pics/Wallpaper. Can you use the gallery application to browse those pictures?

    You could also try renaming one of the ringtones with no spaces or special characters at all. Just call it "test" or something like that. I don't think that's the issue but can't hurt to try.
     
  11. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Yup, mp3 format. Yup, moved them into the newly created folders you suggested.

    Yup. Pics are viewable.

    Ummm...Just to update everyone on the issue, I knew it was something really simple...Apparently, you can't view the ringtones OR pics in the gallery when your phone is connected to the PC with the USB chord!...hahahahaha
     
  12. companyman

    companyman Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    64
    35
    23
    Deale, MD
    hahaha. I actually did the same thing back when I first started using android. Glad it was something that simple!
     
  13. wubbie075

    wubbie075 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    359
    40
    43
    You are the frikkin man!! Thanks!
     
  14. wubbie075

    wubbie075 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    359
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    359
    40
    43
    OK! Next dumb ringtone question: Can you set a ringtone for a group?
     
  15. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    205
    42
    43
    I can't figure this out. I have the same text tones, are they that same?!, that I DL'd from zedge.
    They're MP3s.
     
  16. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    205
    42
    43
    Found the fix for Text Tones. They need to be on teh SD Card in a folder name "notifications".
     
    drexappeal likes this.
  17. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Just so I have this straight, for custom ringtones to be identified for "text messages" you have to have those under just a "notifications" folder on the microSD, correct?

    Does that hold true for emails also?
     
  18. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    205
    42
    43
    I just checked and that's right. Email shows up as well.
    Making things even better Android seems to be smart. Sounds in the ringtone folder don't show in the email or sms programs and sounds in the notification folder don't show as ringtones . Now I'm impressed.
     
  19. phalcon

    phalcon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    33
    4
    16
    Telecom
    Brooklyn, NY
    I've also found that you can have folders called Ringtones, Notifications and Alarms in the root of the SD card. Seems to work just the same as the Media/audio/ringtones solution.
     
  20. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    I had a folder in the microSD called Ringtones and it didn't identify until I made a "media" folder, maybe I'll retry again. I don't like creating extra folders if I don't need to.

    Thanks for the information about Notifications and Alarms. I'm going to try that now.
     
  21. FLEMTP

    FLEMTP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    60
    19
    18
    Paramedic
    Ft Myers, FL

    same question here.. I would like to set a certain ringtone anytime anyone from work calls me!
     
  22. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    205
    42
    43
    The first time I got the tones to show was in the root drive. It does work.
    Android must just look for the folder name no matter where.
     
  23. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Yeah, it's weird. I made a new folder with ringtones as the name and it found it.

    btw - "Notifications and Alarms" folder did not allow me to identify the alert ringtones I want to use for email notification, voicemail, text, etc...For those that have done this, do I have the folder name wrong?
     
  24. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    205
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    205
    42
    43
    I think that should be "alarms". Three folders are needed(?): "ringtones". "notifications' and "alarms".
     
    drexappeal likes this.
  25. phalcon

    phalcon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    33
    4
    16
    Telecom
    Brooklyn, NY
    Yeah, that's correct. It should be three separate folders.
     
    drexappeal and fr4nk1yn like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...