1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Where can I get wiFi tether?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SMALBA, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. SMALBA

    SMALBA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    253
    16
    38
    Utah
    I can't find it on the market. I am about to root my friends phone and he wants to root just so he can be able to use the wifi on his phone to connect other computers and devices.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Xtremedays

    Xtremedays Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,514
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    2,514
    1,073
    313
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    I believe it was pulled from the market. Some may have it available in Dropbox or another file share site. Flash a custom rom(MikG is a good one) and they will have the Sprint HotSpot working.
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  3. RCope48

    RCope48 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010

    Aug 30, 2010
    151
    64
    53
    Boiler Master
    Colorado
    here ya go...just in case...

    <link redacted>
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Most rom developers will have a wireless tether application with their rom. I'm using NRG's Energy rom and it has wireless tether app installed. Xtreme pointed out the Sprint Hotspot app and some developers have this preinstalled and hacked also, so no worries about Sprint detecting the app:p;)
     
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  6. ZenPit

    ZenPit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    116
    9
    36
    Dishwasher/Sushi Chef
    Houston, Texas
    Is there WIFI tethering for unrooted Evo's?
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ZenPit likes this.
  8. ZenPit

    ZenPit Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    116
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    116
    9
    36
    Dishwasher/Sushi Chef
    Houston, Texas
    Thanks for showing me that!! I don't want troubles lol
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    no worries. thanx for the understanding.
     
  10. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
  11. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    actually no. you do not have to pay for the service if you do not want it. i do not have it, nor plan on paying for it. but most people here do not have that service and do not want to pay for it as well. if you have the hotspot service then we are more then happy to help troubleshoot. but the wifi tethering apps have been pulled from the market for a reason. it is because they violate the TOS of sprint.
     
  12. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    No they have not been pulled, though sprint may have blocked them for sprint devices.

    I just did a search for wifi tether on my computer(at android market) they showed up I also just tried from my optimus M and both wifi tether for root users and barnical showed up.

    I could not try with my prevail at the moment as its on its way back to samsung for repair :(

    Though when I clicked install on the computer and signed in it did give me the prevail as an option.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yeah sorry i do not mean actually pulled from the market, but blocked by sprint like you said. sorry for the confusion.
     
  14. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    ah, ok, no problem
     
  15. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,296
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,296
    23,683
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Hey guys, as you can see, I've removed the link in this post...

    Yeah, I know its a pain, but as you can see from the PSA link that ocnbrze kindly provided, unless and until we know that a member is asking about and using such an .apk file on a device whose carrier's terms-of-service allows it, we don't want to assist in circumventing that.

    I hope you all understand.

    Cheers!
    -SA
     
    Granite1 and ocnbrze like this.
  16. LittleRedDot

    LittleRedDot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    605
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011

    Dec 23, 2011
    605
    169
    113
    So I'm paying an extra $10 a month when I don't have to be??

    Time to Call sprint...
     
    jackie08 likes this.
  17. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    No that charge is for using a premier data package. When the EVO first came out that charge was for access to the 4G network. Now It's added to any plan that has a 3G device and data services. Kinda like saying we're charging you X for your data services, when actually It's $10 + X.

    Am I making any sense? :)
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  18. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    so bait and switch?

    lol
     
  19. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yep like granite said. however, if you want to use the hotspot then i think that it is like an extra $35 a month for that service.
     
  20. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Exactly, It's an additional charge for that function.
    I pay the extra $10 on 2 phones a month, I don't mind. :)
     
  21. eggsack43

    eggsack43 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    87
    60
    33
    this is my position, I pay $225 a month for the service on my phones. all 3 phones combined we use less than 3Gb a month in regular service.

    If I want to root my phone and use WiFi tether, then I am gonna freaking do it. And I BEG them to try and stop me. NO jury on this planet would find against me. Apple lost their lawsuit about voiding warranties on iPhones that are jailbroke, so therefore the precedence is set, and they threaten everyone over everything anymore. FIX the service so more than just a couple of markets have 4G then I would not mind paying extra, but since I will never see 4G where I am at, they can kiss my WHITE, TAX PAYER ARSE!
     
  22. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    The lawsuit with apple is a completely different issue.
    The results of that lawsuit says its OK to root your phone. It still voids your warranty, you just cant be sued for rooting it in the first place.


    Illegal tethering violates your Terms of Service (contract) with Sprint and they have grounds for ripping up your contract and kicking you off the network for it. Are the chances high? No, but its in their right. You signed the contract.

    I will say there are apps for wired tethering without root, but thats an entirely different topic not to be discussed here.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...