1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

where do I get Swype from? Can't find it in Market or Appbrain?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by elbraddo, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. elbraddo

    elbraddo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    45
    1
    16
    See title!

    Where can i get Swype from? What's the latest version?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Saint2710

    Saint2710 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010

    Jan 6, 2010
    123
    3
    36
    Industrial Engineer
    Northumberland UK
    Swype was available as Beta until June, If you didn't join the Beta programme then I don't think you can get it. It's not on the Market as released yet.

    Details from www.swypeinc.com
     
  3. Nessiehunters

    Nessiehunters Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    23
    4
    16

    Check PM.;)
     
  4. Haste75

    Haste75 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    72
    8
    16
    Would you mind sharing with me as well? :D
     
  5. Tiggybot

    Tiggybot Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    45
    2
    36
    London UK
    does it work on cupcake? if so me too please!
     
  6. eteyen1

    eteyen1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    134
    1
    36
    same here please
     
  7. RandomSanity

    RandomSanity Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    70
    0
    15
    I wouldn't mind getting a copy of this if at all possible. This is my first touch screen phone and I've heard only good things about Swype.
     
  8. l0gan5

    l0gan5 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010

    Aug 10, 2010
    13
    1
    36
    + me if you're feeling generous! ;-)
     
  9. HTCandroid

    HTCandroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    114
    14
    38
    slideit is a similar style keyboard if you cant get hold of swype
     
  10. ziggy1024

    ziggy1024 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    64
    2
    16
    Engineer
    Hants
    I've got shapewriter which is quite good, but I'd really like to try swype... Can't see it happening any time soon though!
     
  11. sastek

    sastek Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    17
    0
    15
  12. Tiggybot

    Tiggybot Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    45
    2
    36
    London UK
    Found it on-line! Am playing with it now. Might take awhile to get use to it, but it's fun so far. :D
     
  13. APK

    APK Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    44
    2
    16

    That's naughty, where might you have found it, so I know where to avoid?;)
     
  14. phannon86

    phannon86 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009

    Aug 14, 2009
    32
    1
    16
    Software Engineer
    And me pretty please with mars bars on top! :D
     
  15. jrabrfc

    jrabrfc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    2
    0
    5
  16. NigelP

    NigelP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    30
    6
    36
    UK
    and me! ;) I wouldn't mind having a play around with this Swype do-diddy :)
     
  17. sookster54

    sookster54 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    906
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    906
    56
    78
    Swype comes included on certain phones thankfully such as the Motorola Motoblur models and the Samsung Galaxy S series, but otherwise you can get them via insiders, when it hits the market it'll cost to get otherwise it would've already been on there but it's definitely worth getting, once you get used to it the speed is fast.
     
  18. mcnob

    mcnob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    215
    12
    58
    If I'm not too late to the party, would someone mind awfully sending me a magic PM too please? (magic meaning with a link to get hold of Swype....lol).

    Cheers.
     
  19. UKseagull

    UKseagull Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    326
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    326
    27
    43
    York UK
    Could someone hook me up with it too? Does it have a UK English language and not the US version? :)
     
  20. Androidin'

    Androidin' Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    33
    0
    15
    Canada
    I'd take it too as I've found a version and it installs but I am not able to get it as an option to choose. If someone does indeed have a confirmed working version that would be great.
     
  21. UKseagull

    UKseagull Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    326
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    326
    27
    43
    York UK
    I've found a working UK version but the keyboard is slightly too wide for the Desire. :thinking:
     
  22. HTCandroid

    HTCandroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    114
    14
    38
    even if you go into settings, language and keyboard and select it from there?
    and then after that long input on the text screen to change keyboard
     
  23. jaseuk

    jaseuk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    239
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    239
    42
    43
    Civil Servant
    Yorkshire
    I just tried it out, I'm liking it, bit strange at first but I'm going to give it a week.
     
  24. micool11

    micool11 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    46
    2
    16
    I got swype installed but for some reason i can't figure out how to use it. It works in the swype tutorial but when i go to send a text it uses the stock htc keypad. how do i change this?
     
  25. Androidin'

    Androidin' Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    33
    0
    15
    Canada
    Yeah I tried that. What button on the keyboard would I long press? The language one is greyed out and says "En" I'm running Froyo if that matters
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...