1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Where is my Android Market and IM?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by htcherolover, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. htcherolover

    htcherolover Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    Hi guys, so I just set up my phone for the first time using the AT&T network for the HTC Hero. Under the All applications section, there is no market on there. Do I have to specially add it or something? Also, I would like to use IM meaning go on AIM with my phone without using the internet or installing the AIM application but it's not there either. Under the Manage my applications the IM application is there but not the market application. My main priority is being able to access the app store. Any ways to resolve this? I am running android 1.5. Any way to upgrade the firmware too? Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. andy d

    andy d Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    595
    18
    63
    UK
    You need a Google account have you got one ?.
     
  3. htcherolover

    htcherolover Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    @andy d yes I have one but that's not the problem.

    I emailed HTC and they said I have the Malaysian version of the HTC Hero which doesn't come with the Market. So I will have to install it somehow by myself. I got the vending.apk but it wouldn't allow it to install market. Any other alternatives?
     
  4. andy d

    andy d Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    595
    18
    63
    UK
    I'm doing some checking now.
    Thats crazy that HTC say the market is not supported thats the whole idea behind the phone.
    Ive asked on another forum to see if their is a work around.
     
  5. htcherolover

    htcherolover Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    26
    0
    15
  6. daveybaby

    daveybaby Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    919
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009

    Sep 21, 2009
    919
    105
    93
    Software engineer
    UK
    Utterly, utterly insane, isnt it? It's almost as if theyre *trying* to encourage people to establish a thriving android piracy scene. Cretins!

    Rooting + installing a custom ROM should sort it out for you though. Also you'll probably want to install market enabler so that you can actually buy stuff from the market once you get access to it.
     
  7. andy d

    andy d Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    595
    18
    63
    UK
    Have to agree rooting is the only thing left open to you.
     
  8. htcherolover

    htcherolover Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    Ahh.. I'm kinda afraid to screw up the phone while rooting it. Anybody know of a very descriptive tutorial I can use? I've tried searching the forum. All of em seem to require a market app. i also have the market enabler installed. When I try to fake the provider it says "We have a problem, Houston" Does it need to be rooted before the app will work or something?
     
  9. daveybaby

    daveybaby Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    919
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009

    Sep 21, 2009
    919
    105
    93
    Software engineer
    UK
    Yeah, it will need to be rooted.

    I did mine just the other day, and i too initially found it pretty hard going, lots of conflicting information spread about all over the place.

    Then i found this post. Rooting and installing modaco rom (recommended, its faster than the stock 2.73 build and has market enabler built in, see this thread) took less than 30 mins after that, and that includes downloading the files.
     
  10. htcherolover

    htcherolover Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    I have one problem, I don't have the ASTRO file manager because I have no market. So how do I go around that problem? Thanks in advanced!
     
  11. rre_za

    rre_za Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    23
    1
    16
    Iran - Bandar ABbas
    Dude i didnt had Market on my HTC Hero too ...

    check out maybe u have "Slide me" like me ...
    anyway u can go to m.slideme.org then Download the slide me software its kinda like market...
     
  12. htcherolover

    htcherolover Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    So I download astro file manager from slideme?
     
  13. daveybaby

    daveybaby Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    919
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009

    Sep 21, 2009
    919
    105
    93
    Software engineer
    UK
    Well... you dont specifically need astro itself, that's just an easy way to install apps outside the market, there are other apps that will do this... but... you would need astro to install them... or them to install astro or... erm... :thinking: catch22.

    Even if you did you would still have to install it somehow. And if you can install astro you dont need it in the first place since you could use the same method to install the instant root apk.

    Um... i have no idea how you would do this . So... you've been sold a smart phone that has no way to install applications on it? WTF?
     
  14. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Don't forget that HTC Sync has an "Application Installer" which will let you install from your PC.
     
  15. daveybaby

    daveybaby Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    919
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009

    Sep 21, 2009
    919
    105
    93
    Software engineer
    UK
    *slaps forehead*. :D
     
  16. htcherolover

    htcherolover Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    Thanks for all your support guys I'm gonna try to root my phone tomorrow after a little more research. Wish me luck! I'm kinda scared actually =/
     
  17. htcherolover

    htcherolover Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    26
    0
    15
    Will rooting w/ Cyanogen also give me the market?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...