1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support where is the custom dic?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by XxXSnake23XxX, Aug 19, 2009.

  1. XxXSnake23XxX

    XxXSnake23XxX Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009

    Aug 16, 2009
    27
    0
    15
    I found it once and now I don't know where it is
     

    Advertisement

  2. cdmackay

    cdmackay Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009

    Aug 8, 2009
    135
    0
    35
    Cambridge, UK
    I read that it is under /data, but that you cannot see the contents of this dir unless you have a rooted phone.
     
  3. XxXSnake23XxX

    XxXSnake23XxX Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009

    Aug 16, 2009
    27
    0
    15
    my phone is rooted
     
  4. cdmackay

    cdmackay Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009

    Aug 8, 2009
    135
    0
    35
    Cambridge, UK
    and it's not under /data? apols :(
     
  5. CodeMonkey

    CodeMonkey Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    You can access it (to add / edit / remove entries) on an unrooted Magic (UK anyways) through Menu - Settings - Locale & Text - User dictionary.
     
  6. XxXSnake23XxX

    XxXSnake23XxX Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009

    Aug 16, 2009
    27
    0
    15
    how to you check if your phone is rooted... i think that my phone unrooted:p
     
  7. cdmackay

    cdmackay Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009

    Aug 8, 2009
    135
    0
    35
    Cambridge, UK
    Not there on an unrooted Hero (UK SIM-FREE), sadly.
     
  8. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    Have you used the keyboard and actually added any custom words Yet ?

    Once you have actually added a word to your custom dictionary you then should be able to go into setting and view/edit/delete words from the list
     
  9. cdmackay

    cdmackay Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009

    Aug 8, 2009
    135
    0
    35
    Cambridge, UK
    If by "added" you mean typed words that it didn't recognise, selected them from the wee boxes, and seen them noted as "saved" at the bottom of the screen? then yes, I've added dozens. And there's no such option in that menu on mine :(

    still, this particular setting menu is interesting. Have you noted that that calibration option on the menu only appears when the phone is in portrait mode? rotate it, and that option disappear from the menu.
     
  10. cdmackay

    cdmackay Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009

    Aug 8, 2009
    135
    0
    35
    Cambridge, UK
    any other Hero users around to note the presence or otherwise of this option on theirs, please?
     
  11. zannemiller

    zannemiller Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009

    Aug 31, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    I spent the better part of last night looking for this on my HTC hero with no result. I've been in the above suggested area (Locale & Text ) but there was no custom Dictionary option...:thinking:
     
  12. enek

    enek Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009

    Jul 7, 2009
    24
    0
    15
    Software Testing
    Edmonton, AB
    I'm using the JacxHeroSki ROM and couldn't find it either. I couldn't find any way to access the user dictionary through the UI.
     
  13. hal

    hal Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010

    Jan 25, 2010
    8
    15
    8
    Yes, there is unfortunately no such setting on the HTC Hero, yet at least. I'm looking for a way to edit the custom dictionary, and not just completely clear it. Guess I have to keep searching :)
     
  14. LadyDuce

    LadyDuce Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011

    Mar 2, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    iS there a way t0 get Aut0 TeXt 0n aye G1 (LiKe thee SyMboL shitt 0n aye SideKiCc) &&h0w d0 y0u d0 tht .?? && iS thR aye cuSt0M diCti0NaRy 0n it aS WeLL .??
     
  15. shanewbr

    shanewbr Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011

    Sep 28, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Settings - Language & Keyboard - Touch Input - Personal Dictionary
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...