1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support where is the Device Admins setting located?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by standardevo, May 15, 2012.

  1. standardevo

    standardevo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    44
    2
    16
    How do I get to the Device Admin for the Evo 3D? So that I change admins on the phone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. toddpedersen

    toddpedersen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    152
    68
    53
    Go to Menu, Settings, Security and then you should see Select Device Administrators.



     
    marctronixx likes this.
  3. standardevo

    standardevo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    44
    2
    16
    It is not located there, I have looked again and again, maybe a virus took device admin off the phone?
    Fully updated with android version 2.3.4.
     
  4. standardevo

    standardevo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    44
    2
    16
  5. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
     #114
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,497
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,497
    691
    243
    Hmm - I have Device administration section just below "Visible Passwords" (above the Credential storage section)
    weird..
     
  6. Corpse11

    Corpse11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    184
    65
    53
    Graphic Design
    No device admin here either
     
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,367
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,367
    8,084
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I have it in the same place also, weird that you don't have it
     
  8. Corpse11

    Corpse11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    184
    65
    53
    Graphic Design
    No setting here either

    [​IMG]
     
  9. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    It's more than likely because you guys have custom ROMs that enable it. I've not seen it on anything that was 100% stock.
     
  10. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,905
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,905
    3,632
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    im 100% stock non rooted and the device admins are located under security:

    [​IMG]

    unless i am misunderstanding what you guys are asking for?


     
    damewolf13 and jerofld like this.
  11. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    Interesting...I figured custom ROMs would be the reason for the inconsistencies, but there goes that theory.
     
  12. Corpse11

    Corpse11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    184
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    184
    65
    53
    Graphic Design
    maybe something else has to be enabled first...or maybe it has something to do with what software is on your phone, or launchers maybe...

    I dunno, I've never seen this option on my phone before
     
    AndroidMax likes this.
  13. standardevo

    standardevo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    44
    2
    16
    Is there any piece of software to enable it? I am 100% stock as well, looked at my brothers and dads phone and they don't have it either.
     
  14. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #38
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    5,905
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    5,905
    3,632
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    I have a very vanilla sprint device. No launchers or anything. It is stock.

    I have an exchange account through the company I play with. That's the only app on the phone that has the ability to manipulate settings. Other than that, it's stock.
     
  15. standardevo

    standardevo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    44
    2
    16
    I googled it and the exchange thing does seem to be the deciding fact in giving device admins available.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  16. speedfan

    speedfan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    96
    26
    23
    Nashville, TN
    I have it on mine but don't have exchange. Mine appears to be enabled by switchpro, avast, and wifi unlock.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  17. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,367
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,367
    8,084
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I think mine may have been by Lookout app, this is a very interesting thread, when I actually check my admin rights and click on it, it shows MyLookOut as the admin.
     
  18. standardevo

    standardevo Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012

    May 11, 2012
    44
    2
    16
    Donwloaded lookout and I can see the device admin now, thanks for your help, now i can continue my other thread about how I can't uninstall a app I downloaded off the market.
     
  19. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
     #114
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,497
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,497
    691
    243
    ok - this is almost certainly a dumb question, but for an unrooted device, what does this option do? On my device, I see lookout as a device admin - and I can enable/disable it. I don't see how to add a new device admin (guess an app has to do that during installation?) And even if I could add a new device admin, what does that really do?

    (BTW, my EVO is stock - unrooted thanks to HBOOT 1.5 GRRRRRR)
     
  20. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,269
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    It certainly is not a dumb question. I can't find any record of this being a permission noted by Google. I thought it was the 'Modify System Settings' permission, but that also appears in apps that don't use device admin. Not even in alostpacket's permission thread.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  21. jj14x

    jj14x Android Expert
    Rank:
     #114
    Points:
    243
    Posts:
    1,497
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    1,497
    691
    243
    thanks jerofld. So for a user like me, there really is no reason to muck around with that setting?
     
  22. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #190
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
    this is alot like super user. it allows an app to control certain aspect that were set by the user. without this permission an app like tasker or lookout could not be set to perform said tasks
     
  23. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    4,087
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    4,087
    2,667
    533
    Female
    AZ
    Mine is stock, and I also have the " select device administrators".
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...