1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Where is the setting to turn off mobile data?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by amitsch, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. amitsch

    amitsch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I am looking for the Option "Alaways on mobile data" in Android Version 2.3.6 but cant find it anywhere.
    Can someone tell me where i can find it to switch it off and increase battery life?

    Thx
     

    Advertisement

  2. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA

    What phone do you have?
     
  3. amitsch

    amitsch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    The Samsung Galaxy S2
     
  4. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    5,589
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    5,589
    2,005
    423
    Male
    PA
  5. amitsch

    amitsch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I am living in Thailand and updated to the the 2.3.6 version myself. Its not branded...
    Its the Build Number GINGERBREAD.XWKK5 ... if that helps...
     
  6. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    The simplest way is to long press on the power button. Options to toggle data, flight mode is there. Its faster than going into settings/wireless & network to on off data there. Me... I set up a toggle on the homescreen to do it. No point using a physical button all the time.
     
  7. Erlander

    Erlander Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    16
    1
    16
    Melbourne, Australia
    Try Settings/Wireless and Network/Mobile networks/Use Packet Data.
     
  8. amitsch

    amitsch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I know i can switch the Data on/off completely by long pressing the power button. But this is the same like going into wireless settings and ticking "use packet data" - isnt it?

    What i am looking for is the option "Always on".

    As far as i am concerned this option in the older? builds made sure that the phone only connects to data service on demand.

    If i deactivate Data conpletely i a have to manually activate it every time io open the browser or e-Mail app or Facebook....
     
  9. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Sorry... but what are you trying to do? You mentioned that you only want to connect on demand, won't that mean you actually on/off the data as you want? Apps like email, market, facebook will use data when they sync, poll the servers, updates, downloads etc. It does not off the data and on data line automatically.

    You can of course use apps like Juice Defender. It is an app that have the option of switching off the data when it detects no active use and on it back when you go online or use an app that requires data. That said, I found that the app sometimes have problem switching on the data line back. Its why I stick with manually using the data toggle.

    Cheers
     
  10. amitsch

    amitsch Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012

    Feb 26, 2012
    6
    0
    5
    I thought the Option "always on" would mean that the handset always stays connected to the data service and if you untick that box the connection is only established AUTOMATICALLY as soon as you open the browser or an app tries to sync. And if the connection is in idle it disconnects and saved battery power...
    Since i dont have the "always on" Option (at least i cant find it...) i can either be Always on or never on unless i manually toggle data or use 3rd party apps like Juice Defender....?

    If i would use Juice defender, would push email still work? Or would my e-mail app be able to connect and establish a connection in the background to poll every 30 Mins or so?
     
  11. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Don't think there is a setting in the phone for what you want. Which means you probably have to use an app. I think you can set up to allow JD to ON the data line at certain intervals, or perhaps when an app updates, JD will allow the data to be ON. Not sure since not using it.

    Browse the market and see if there are alternatives and description for what you want. For me, I don't see any issue about toggling the data manually. Its just a tap on a widget in my homescreen.

    Cheers
     
  12. venturalaw

    venturalaw Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Attorney
    Chiang Mai, Thailand
    I don't know if this is the same issue or not, but I reside in Thailand and pay for phone service by loading information via a phone card. Therefore I want to set my Galaxy S2 so that it used Wifi ONLY (thereby not using purchased time to access the internet). How is this accomplished?
     
  13. immortalneo

    immortalneo Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011

    Jan 25, 2011
    93
    16
    38
    Male
    Dentist
    Kerala, India
    As quoted by Erlander above:
    Just remove the tick mark alongside 'Use Packet Data' and turn on WiFi. This will ensure that Internet access is only through Wifi. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...