• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps Where should I begin..?

Havoc93

Lurker
May 26, 2010
Hello everyone! I'm very interested in programming and would love to program applications for mobile devices (preferably Android over iPhone, which I was going to do originally). Anyway, I really want to learn how to program for the Android phones and was wondering if anyone could give any advice as to where to start? I'm new to programming, having no prior knowledge of it. I Just picked up some C# and C++ books, but than shortly after learned that Java is the basic language of Android. Is Java what i should focus on first? Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks!

Java is a good place to start since, as you noted correctly Android apps are programed in Java.

how and where to start really depends on your programming experience. if you have never coded anything then you're probably going to want to grab a book that focuses on teaching the basic concepts of programming (variables, functions, strings, program flow, etc, etc). The most ideal book for your case would be one that does that through Java (since ultimately thats what you want to learn).

if you have experience with programming then I would start with the Java Website which I've found to be fairly helpful in teaching myself Java.

Once you have a basic understanding of Java (enough to understand Syntax, Classes, Methods, Interfaces, etc) you could start suplementing your learning with the Android Tutorials to begin to familiarize yourself with the important Android Classes, methods, etc.

I think as a general Strategy you should learn enough Java to begin to understand Android and then use Android as the driving motivation to learn more Java!

Reactions: Havoc93
Upvote 0