1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Where to save apps ?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by eddie_g87, Jun 12, 2011.

1. eddie_g87

eddie_g87 Lurker
    None

Jun 12, 2011
    Hi guys,

I'm trying to figure out whats better?

Saving your apps on the sd card or on the phone?

I'm trying to make the phone run faster, save some battery , etc..
    Anyone know the pros and cons?

im a noob sorry : /
    I just rooted my phone wireless tethering is working awesome... i just dont know what apps to get too..

thanks

Advertisement

2. ocnbrze

ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    None

May 13, 2010
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    first off, welcome to the forums!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    moved your thread over to the rooting section.

3. scudder

scudder Android Expert
    None

May 21, 2010
    Male
    Ex-attorney ("retired" at 27)...
    State of Confusion (FL too)
    This has been my experience that I'll share. Some my disagree, some may have had better or worse stories, but here it mine for thought...

Some other more experienced guys will either be able to explain better or confirm/correct, but I kinda sorta THINK that stuff running off the INTERNAL memory might run a bit smoother/faster/quicker than if installed on the SD card. Something I recall about reading off the internal being faster than reading the data off the SD card. Also, some apps MUST be on the internal memory of the phone otherwise they simply WILL NOT WORK if installed on the SD card.

That being said, I'm not sure if the difference in speed will really be noticeable by a "human." Personally, what I do is if an app CAN be moved to the SD card, I MOVE IT to the SD card. I have found that "stuffing" my internal memory full of apps so that there is not too much internal space available SIGNIFICANTLY slows down my phone. Keeping the internal memory with some "breathing room" has made my phone run faster.