1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Where'd my lockscreen go?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JohnBorgen, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. JohnBorgen

    JohnBorgen Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I'm feeling like a complete noob right now. I've changed something in my setup and now the lockscreen is gone completely. So, when I toggle the power button it just opens the phone, I really want to get my lockscreen back but I don't know how I did it.

    I'm using a Droid X with OTA 2.2 and LauncherPro (unlocked)

    Can anyone point me in the right direction?
     

    Advertisement

  2. MacII

    MacII Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    80
    9
    16
    Irvine, Ca
    Settings > Location & Security > Change Lock Screen

    However you cannot just have the slider lock you must choose from Pattern, Pin, or Password security measures and then you get both the slider AND your new choice of security...the one thing I really dislike about the upgrade
     
  3. JohnBorgen

    JohnBorgen Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I continued my searching over on the Moto Owners site and they're thinking this is a bug. Apparently, I should get just the slider lockscreen back by doing a factory reset. I'm in the process of that now and I'll post my results back here when I'm done.

    By the way, if you're having this issue and you're using Exchange, there is a potential work-a-round of deleting the exchange account and adding it back in the brings the slider lockscreen back. I don't have exchange so I haven't been able to test it but there are a few people at the Moto Owners forum that have tried this and it worked.
     
  4. MikeAce00

    MikeAce00 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    249
    30
    43
    I think MacII is on the money. The exchange pin is totally different. I don't think a reset will allow you to have just the slider with no other lock. Please do share your results after your reboot though.

    Thanks,

    Mike
     
  5. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    Glad I turned mine off before the update!
     
  6. Riverman

    Riverman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    101
    17
    38
    I was missing my lock screen slider because I had turned it off while running 2.1. It was permanently MIA in 2.2. I did a master reset this morning and the lock slider is back. I don't have any other type of lock either, just the slider.
     
  7. MacII

    MacII Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    80
    9
    16
    Irvine, Ca
    Hmm that's interesting Riverman. I also had mine turned off in 2.1 and then no option to turn it back on after the update. So, for you is it now Slider only OR Slider + added security measure with no option to go straight into the phone?
     
  8. weems

    weems Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010

    Jan 27, 2010
    42
    0
    15
    I want to turn mine off because now I have the widget locker lock screen, the stock one, and a pattern lock.
     
  9. Riverman

    Riverman Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    101
    17
    38
    Yep, that's exactly how it is now. I miss having the option to go straight into the phone because the lick slider still isn't very smooth, and having to slide the lock and then enter a password or pattern is ridiculous.
     
  10. MacII

    MacII Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    80
    9
    16
    Irvine, Ca
    Definitely strange but good to know we can get the slider back if we want via factory reset (at least in your case). Right now I'm using nothing, but I'd like to just use the password or pattern lock with no slider. Hopefully that's on a list of fixes somewhere.
     
  11. mmarti16

    mmarti16 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    112
    16
    58
    mine did the same thing after I pulled the battery with rooted 2.1, not that it should've affected anything. I kinda like not having the slider bar...not too worried about it right now
     
  12. TheXFactor

    TheXFactor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    543
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    543
    65
    78
    S.C.
    I have the new lock screen. No pin, password. Just the new shiny lock screen. No factory reset either. Lol
     
  13. extirpate

    extirpate Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 9, 2012

    May 9, 2012
    2
    1
    6
    This same thing happened to my brand new galaxy s2. I kind of like it :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...