1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Where's the cool 3d photo gallery?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Michaeljc70, May 23, 2010.

  1. Michaeljc70

    Michaeljc70 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    39
    0
    15
    I thought that cool 3d photo gallery app was part of 2.1/HTC? I've seen videos of it and it looks very cool, but cannot find it on my phone or in the market...
     

    Advertisement

  2. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    From what I understand you need to either disable sense or just the album part of sense, though I'm not sure if you can do just the sense album. Either way though, I understand it to be a sense issue.
     
  3. Mr. Goodkat

    Mr. Goodkat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    May 8, 2010
    14
    2
    16
    I wasn't aware that the Hero's 2.1 was receiving that. Sounds more like an app for a snapdragon.
     
  4. zombdroid

    zombdroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    628
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    628
    97
    78
    Search for Brains
    Raccoon City
    It is loaded on the most recent Damageless ROM (2.08.2) and it works very well on the Hero. So I guess it did not make the final release.

    That is one of the reasons I am holding off putting this final release on my Hero. (Plus, the voice to text is amazing!)
     
  5. mslisaj

    mslisaj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    367
    6
    36
    Mechanic
    Klamath Falls, Oregon
    I agree with Zomdroid, I have it on me Hero running DC's latest 2. 1 and its very cool.
    The voice to text is totally amazing too. That is the coolest app on the phone.

    Lisa
     
  6. melynbeth

    melynbeth Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    69
    4
    16
    How do I get the voice to text app? I uploaded to Sprint's 2.1.
     
  7. mslisaj

    mslisaj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    367
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    367
    6
    36
    Mechanic
    Klamath Falls, Oregon
    I guess Sprint decided not to add it to their Rom. It's on the Damage Control Rom.
     
  8. sagedil

    sagedil Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    796
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    796
    178
    93
    Laid off....sigh
    Raleigh, NC
    Does not work on the standard keyboard in Sprint's 2.1. But it DOES work on all the third party keyboards I have tried. Use it every day these last few days, and again, running non rooted Sprint 2.1.

    So please don't listen to folks who say you CAN'T have voice to text on the Sprint 2.1. That is just incorrect. You just need a third party keyboard. I use Better Keyboard. Just fits better for what I do.
     
  9. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    743
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    743
    118
    113
    Male
    Group Sales Associate/Front Desk Clerk
    Washington (state)
    I really would try to disable Sense first and see if that brings it up. As far as I understand it, the 3d album is built into all 2.1 builds, Sense just takes over on our Hero's and doesn't allow it to run. In theory it should be there. I do not have 2.1 yet though so I can neither verify this or test it out for you.
     
  10. phynias

    phynias Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009

    Oct 23, 2009
    14
    1
    16
  11. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    2,314
    329
    163
    Resource Consumer
    San Diego
    Actually, if you throw the XDA hacked HTC keyboard on it, you still get all the voice-text functions. The stock keyboard is simply missing the microphone button. The drivers are there.
     
  12. DFRESH

    DFRESH Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    559
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    559
    39
    88
    The Bay Area SF/Oak
    It's not in our 2.1 update....if you want it..you can push it yourself through ADB....


    http://rapidshare.com/files/390843260/Gallery3D.apk.html

    put the Gallery3D.apk file in your TOOLS folder in the Android SDK folder..


     
    Hero_Guy likes this.
  13. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    2,314
    329
    163
    Resource Consumer
    San Diego
    *Clears throat*

    Was talking about the speech to text input. ;)
     
  14. Michaeljc70

    Michaeljc70 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009

    Oct 15, 2009
    39
    0
    15
    I sort of have a problem with this "strategy". It could hurt Android in the future. When I buy Windows 7, I get what I've seen in the commercials and read about. I don't look for the feature and have people say "Oh, HP PC's don't have that feature." I mean, it is fine for vendors (Moto, HTC, etc) to supplement with their own apps, etc., but all core features should be universal in a version.

    I thought in 2.1 I was going to get Speech to Text and 3d photo gallery. I know there are ways to get these apparently with 3rd party or hacks, but that is beside the point.
     
  15. caliboy99

    caliboy99 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    74
    8
    36
    cali
    Can you revert back to the old style gallery after you install this 3D gallery?
     
  16. DGlacier

    DGlacier Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    what is that? thanks

    oh i just installed the gallery3d.apk and got the new gallery so yea :)

    anyone knows how to install the new 2.1 tab for your apps? it has the little grid as a tab rather than the arrow on the main desktop and when u open it its kinda 3dish..anyone? thanks
     
  17. barnacles

    barnacles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    406
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010

    Feb 27, 2010
    406
    32
    63
    Dekalb, Illinois
    This should not replace htcs "photos" and instead simply add 3D gallery. If you don't want to use it, you can leave it, or delete it.
     
  18. del4

    del4 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010

    Mar 10, 2010
    7
    1
    6
    That rapidshare link has expired. Could someone repost another link to download the apk?
     
  19. luckie_reubs

    luckie_reubs Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    I'm on Cellular South's hero, and we just got the 2.1 update yesterday (not OTA; had to track down a PC to install it). One thing I was eager to get was the Picasa Gallery sync, but that's nowhere to be found.

    Anyone know what's going on with that? Is that the same thing y'all are talking about here?
     
  20. Vip3rV333

    Vip3rV333 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    19
    2
    16
    Yes this does have Picasa album pics...
     
  21. luckie_reubs

    luckie_reubs Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    That's mildly helpful. Care to share how you've accessed it?
     
  22. Vip3rV333

    Vip3rV333 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    19
    2
    16
    Settings > Accounts and sync > Select "Google" account > check "Sync Picasa Web Albums"

    I know... I wouldn't have thought to look there either, I just stumbled upon that one day. Give it some time to sync, and if you cant see the ablums there you might have to reboot the phone. I also think there are diffrent versions of the 3D Gallery out there since mine doesnt have "pinch to zoom", so maybe some versions dont have the Picasa sync option? Im using the one that came with the rom though. (Fresh 2.3.3) Hope that was more helpful. :)
     
  23. luckie_reubs

    luckie_reubs Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    Nope, not there for me. All I've got under the Google heading in the "Accounts and Sync" tab is Contacts, Gmail, and Calender.

    Oh, well. Maybe it's somewhere else in here...
     
  24. Vip3rV333

    Vip3rV333 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    19
    2
    16
    Hm... try finding a different version, I have seen them all over. Unless you really dont need that.
     
  25. dizzy

    dizzy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009

    Aug 27, 2009
    53
    0
    15
    So. CA
    I agree! Google is making a big mistake that is going to seriously hurt Android by letting it become fractured. Google should tell these handset mfgrs "you can use our OS only if you deliver it intact and unaltered." If HTC, Moto, etc. want to tweak things they should deliver their software as a UI layer ... then users would have the choice to enable/disable it but always have the core OS.

    At one point, Microsoft faced a similar problem ... all the PC makers wanted to "customize" DOS but MS put its foot down because such a situation would make it impossible to supply the end-user with patches. We HTC users are facing the same situation: we don't have Google Android phones ... we have HTC Sense phones, and as such we've got no guarantee that Android apps will run properly on our phones. Can you imagine what would have become of the DOS apps market if programmers had to write a version for every machine? MS saw the future of a splintered market ... will Google?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...