1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

Which GSIII Version

Discussion in 'T-Mobile' started by AngelArs, Oct 23, 2012.

  1. AngelArs

    AngelArs Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    208
    39
    43
    vB code analysis, Android / iOS Developer, CEO My
    My current carrier is T-Mobile (prepaid). I was thinking about getting a unlocked GS III. Would I need to get the SGH-T999 version, or would the GT-I9300 International Version also work? :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. Atma

    Atma Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    533
    Posts:
    6,069
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2011

    Dec 26, 2011
    6,069
    2,901
    533
    Male
    Survival
    North Carolina
    I'm pretty sure the International version would not have the frequency needed to get 4G on T-Mobile US. You could also get one that is locked. Pre-paid customers can request an unlock code from Tmo after 60 days of service.
     
  3. AngelArs

    AngelArs Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    208
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    208
    39
    43
    vB code analysis, Android / iOS Developer, CEO My
    I just noticed that the SGH-T999 version had 42 Mbit/s DC-HSPA+ max network speed, while the international version had only 21 Mbit/s HSPA+. I was hoping that the international version would work out better because it has a 64 GB storage option, but the SGH-T999 has twice the RAM and a faster CPU, so I
     
  4. aurora40

    aurora40 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    376
    Joined:
    May 20, 2012

    May 20, 2012
    376
    62
    53
    Virginia
    The int'l one probably doesn't have HSPA 21 on the right frequency, though. I would get the T-Mobile one if you plan on using T-Mobile in the US.
     
  5. mon5trum

    mon5trum Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 26, 2012

    May 26, 2012
    4
    0
    5
    Well depends where you live tmobile has upgraded there cell towers so all Iphones get 3g 4G but it includes most other phones. I am using the Samsung captivate which is an at&t phone and I get 3g on it but I live in las Vegas
     

Share This Page

Loading...