1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root which rom's camera works well?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sloppy robot, Dec 19, 2010.

  1. sloppy robot

    sloppy robot Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    17
    1
    16
    which rom does the camera work on? Ever since kaos v38, ive had major problems.. Ive tried nonsenikal 15 and 16, and they both have camera problems for me. Ive been wiping and still crashes, stalls, etc. I just want a camera... any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mhrebin

    mhrebin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    110
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    110
    4
    36
  3. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    776
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    776
    62
    78
    California
    Pretty much any 2.1 ROM has a better camera than any 2.2 ROM.
     
  4. sloppy robot

    sloppy robot Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    17
    1
    16
    ah thanks.. whats the good 2.1 rom? its been awhile
     
  5. sloppy robot

    sloppy robot Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    17
    1
    16
    The camera seems to work at first rom wipe and install.. but then not at all. Are people just not worried about having a camera?
     
  6. jhewit22

    jhewit22 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010

    Mar 15, 2010
    223
    4
    56
    Graphic Designer
    Erie, PA
    I've been on xtrROM for about 3 months and I've had no issues with the camera at all!
     
  7. dirtyriffs

    dirtyriffs Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    71
    29
    23
    NE Ohio
    I been running nonsensikal for three months now. I've never had an issue w/the camera. Sounds like there might be an issue w/your phone, if everyone elses camera has been working.
     
  8. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,692
    1,928
    483
    If you'll forgive my snarky answer, none of them. Including stock. (Frankly, the Eris camera is a piece of junk.)

    Seriously, the xtrROMs use the stock HTC camera, and they all work fine. If you were happy with the Eris stock camera, that's you're best bet.

    All of the recent Froyo ROMs since probably September-ish have had cameras that work just fine for me. CELB 3.8 and 3.9 are both fine (meaning that they are as good as anything the Eris can do.) I haven't tried Nonsensikal since 12.something, but that worked fine. I haven't used Kaos since V35.1, but that camera was fine.
     
  9. sloppy robot

    sloppy robot Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    17
    1
    16
    Weird, maybe it is my phone. The camera pretty much crashes on everything, even after a full wipe. If i reboot I might get a photo or two but then it crashes again. Any ideas? Could it be my cpu speed? Thats all I can think of. Thanks

    Im just looking for it to work like it used to, nothing crazy. I just tried doing all the wipes. I'll see if that works.
     
  10. doogald

    doogald Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #46
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,692
    1,928
    483
    I think that it's either that, or perhaps your SD card is corrupted.

    Try backing up your SD card files to your computer, re-format the SD card, copy your files back, and see if that helps.

    If your CPU speed is higher than 710 MHz, you may want to dial it down. It it already is 710, you could try setting it down to 604800 to see if that does help.
     
  11. sloppy robot

    sloppy robot Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    17
    1
    16
    k.. tried it all. Must just be my phone? I wiped the card, wiped phone.. etc etc.. nonsensikal 16.2.. it works for a few tries but then the camera eventually freezes and has to force close. That's without any setcpu.. does Nonsensikal boost the cpu automatically?
     
  12. dirtyriffs

    dirtyriffs Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    71
    29
    23
    NE Ohio
    Its set to 710.
     
  13. sloppy robot

    sloppy robot Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    17
    1
    16
    hm Ill try slowing that down.. nothing else seems to work.
     
  14. MOS95B

    MOS95B Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010

    Jan 16, 2010
    434
    19
    58
    Male
    Enterprise Level NAS Tech Support
    Minnesota
    FroShedYo's camera appears to be working perfectly with the latest ROM, including shutter sound...
     

Share This Page

Loading...