1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Which ROMs can update PRLs manually?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by weiss27md, Jul 1, 2011.

  1. weiss27md

    weiss27md Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    58
    11
    18
    Student
    TX
    I've tried liquidsense2.1, aosp9.9.2, and aosp2.3.4
     

    Advertisement

  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,466
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,466
    8,284
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    ls 2.1

     
  3. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    This is what I use. Download: Fresh Hero 2.4.0

    The original download link does not work anymore but the mirror link right below does.
     
    weiss27md likes this.
  4. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,466
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,466
    8,284
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Or is you still have a back up of your original Rom when you rooted
     
  5. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    Not necessarily Don if he updated to the current sprint build the dialer codes were taken out in either the 2nd to last update or the last update. That's why all of the roms he tried didn't work because they are based off of firmware builds after the dialer codes were taken out.
     
  6. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    What effect did removing the dialer codes have? Does it inhibit updating your Profile and PRL?

    My stock ROM is actually on a fairly old build, but I was helping a friend update his to a later version and then rooting it again for him. So, this information interests me in that regard and if you have any supporting links, that would be very much appreciated.
     
  7. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    It has no effect on updating through the settings menu but the dialer codes were removed on one of the updates. I read it was to get rid of the dialer lag when that was a big problem. Sorry I'm not at a computer to try and find links right now.
     
  8. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    LBPHeretic likes this.
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,466
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,466
    8,284
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Yes but his stock rooted ROM can still update Profile and PRL, I have tried it with many different version and still updates


     
  10. rb312102

    rb312102 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    302
    82
    53
    I know I said it doesn't affect regular updates but I have been helping this guy load prl's from different carriers which require dialer codes.
     
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,466
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,466
    8,284
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Got it


     
  12. weiss27md

    weiss27md Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011

    Jan 7, 2011
    58
    11
    18
    Student
    TX
    Thanks for the help guys and the link. I'll now start seeing which is the best PRL for my area as I have spotty coverage.
     
  13. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Ah, now I see. So, basically any HTC Sense UI based ROM can still update the Profile and PRL via the Settings menu, but not via the dialer app with later builds.

    I never updated a PRL using the dialer codes anyway. Is there some advantage to that besides being able to use a PRL from another carrier? I assume it is just like dialing a phone number and then it updates it? Sort of like how you can access hidden settings menus via the dialer app.
     
  14. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Yeah. In fact, you can use ANY HTC Sense UI based ROM to still update the Profile and PRL via the Settings Menu, which is all I ever used anyway because I never tried a PRL from another carrier and I assume you have not either. ;)

    If you ever did want to flash a PRL from another carrier, you could also flash an older HTC Sense UI based ROM like NFX-Hero and then perform it via the dialer codes. In the grand scheme of things, it is probably something we will not need to do though as it is mostly for people who get spotty coverage or lousy 3G connections with the regular Sprint PRL. :D
     
  15. Pierocksmysock

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011

    Jul 3, 2011
    12
    8
    16
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Just wanted to chime in on this issue... I had a vacation overseas for a year compliments of uncle sam, so I'm working on getting back into tweaking my phone. When I left I was able to utilize the ##PRL# code, use the msl and manually change my prl whenever I needed it (I live in a fringe area so at home I'd switch over to a vzw prl). Seems that Sprint decided to remove this code from their dialer while keeping other codes intact, but I've heard that it's possible to utilize older dialers on newer roms. Just curious if anyone has ventured into this area at all?

    By the way I greatly appreciate rb312102 posting the z4 apk, I've been pulling my hair out trying to get my hero rooted today and everything seemed to be a dud. Many thanks!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...