1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Which RUU?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DeltaOscar, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. DeltaOscar

    DeltaOscar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    Hello everyone,

    Its been a while, but the last time I posted I had trouble with unrooting (i messed it up during the flash of another rom - somehow lol) which left me with the device unable to enter standby mode when pressing the power button. After everything, i tried something called Tepic's tool which managed to get me back onto a stock froyo rom so I could send it in for warranty, which they sent me a replacement.

    I understand this was the wrong way to handle rooting and unrooting, so before I root my replacement desire through unrevoked, I wanted to make sure that, for any reason, should I need to return to stock, I do so properly.

    I understand that to return to stock you need to create a goldcard, and then you need the correct ruu. I think it is this RUU:

    [ROM]RUU_Bravo_Froyo_HTC_WWE_2.29.405.5_Radio_32.49.00. 32U_5.11.05.27_release - xda-developers

    I can provide some details; could someone please point me to the correct RUU for my desire?

    ANDROID VERSION
    2.2

    BASEBAND VERSION
    32.49.00.32U_5.11.05.27

    HBOOT
    0.93.0001

    RADIO
    -5.11.05.27

    Please someone provide some direction for me, and also as a side question, would the screen type I have affect which RUU I need?

    very much appreciated :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,684
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    You dont need to return to stock to root, You already have a stock rom installed!

    What PVT number does your hboot show?
     
  3. DeltaOscar

    DeltaOscar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    Thanks for your reply.

    Yes i already have stock firmware. But when I root on the stock firmware, in order to remove the root I don't need to go through the process of a goldcard and ruu? would that only be needed if i use a custom rom? (I was having a thought about putting oxygen froyo on it..)

    and as for the pvt, its BRAVO PVT1

    thanks
     
  4. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,684
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    If your phone is branded, you'll need a goldcard to RUU.

    I'd just go ahead and root. If your phone is branded, make a goldcard anyway, just in case.
     
  5. DeltaOscar

    DeltaOscar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    well, i'm on 3-UK and I don't think the phone is branded. If I need to send it in for warranty for any reason, do I goldcard and ruu it then to remove the root (on the stock firmware)?

    cheers,
     
  6. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    It's the 'Software Version' that's important as the RUU will match the version running on your phone
     
  7. DeltaOscar

    DeltaOscar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    My software number is 2.29.405.5 . How do I know which RUU would work?
     
  8. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,838
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,838
    16,256
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Well since both your software and radio version numbers match the name of the RUU you link, and you say the phone is unbranded, then that sounds like the matching RUU to me (WWE in the RUU name means it's unbranded Western European software).
     
    DeltaOscar likes this.
  9. DeltaOscar

    DeltaOscar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    That's what I thought, lol. I'll give it a go later, when i'm back from college. Thanks for everyone's help!

    cheers! :D
     
  10. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,684
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Please make a goldcard. At the very least obtain your gold card image and save it some where.
     
  11. DeltaOscar

    DeltaOscar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    I can use a spare sd card right? (I found the guide in SUroot's FAQ)
     
  12. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,684
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    At the very least get goldcard helper from the market, run that on the spare card and get the image from PSAS, and save it someplace. Please?
     
  13. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
  14. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,684
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    I thought it meant World Wide English?
     
  15. DeltaOscar

    DeltaOscar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    I'm slightly confused now lol. Basically, I'm currently running stock unbranded (I think) firmware which I plan to root. I plan to leave it on stock root for now. Do I need to goldcard and RUU to return it back to unrooted stock?
     
  16. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Rank:
     #95
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,684
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,684
    318
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Well, we have a difference of opinion, I would at least get the goldcard image from the PSASeven if you dont allpy till you need it. Remember that you only THINK your unbranded.

    EddyOS seems to think he recognises the zip as an unbranded zip, which I cant comment on or argue with because I don't know any different.

    If you want to go ahead then do so, but if youe want to be safer than sorry as you only THINK your unbranded, go and get the goldcard image. There's no need to actually make the card, just get the image saved.
     
  17. DeltaOscar

    DeltaOscar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    ok thats what I intended to do. I'm reading how to create one on the FAQ, but you also talk about backing up an image. Forgive me, but could you please explain what you mean?
     
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    If you use a goldcard tool as per the rooting faq, it creates and applies an image (.img) file to your SD card. Just keep that file safe.
     
  19. DeltaOscar

    DeltaOscar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    ah ok i see, so I goldcard my spare sd and once that is done, i can leave it in my drawer safely and put my normal sd back in my phone and continue to root. correct?

    EDIT: Right i've just gone and goldcard'd my spare sd. At first I couldn't get a CID from either MMC1 or MMC0. I then tapped on my phone to mount as disk drive, clicked on MMC1 and clicked get CID and I did get a code. Did everything and finally told me it was a success. I'm only concerned that I mounted it first, will it still be alright?

    EDIT2: I've sorted it now, I read further into the thread, and a user posted clearer instructions.
     
  20. DeltaOscar

    DeltaOscar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    Right ok, i've got my goldcard now, keeping it in my desire box safely. I've got my desire ready to root, and am following this guide

    unrevoked

    I just would like to know which RUU should I download to keep safe, the original one I posted or the one EddyOS posted?
     
  21. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Eddys. It's the same but better source
     
  22. DeltaOscar

    DeltaOscar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    Ok. Thank you very much guys for all your help, i'll post back a bit later to let you know how it goes.

    Thanks! :D
     
    SUroot likes this.
  23. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,838
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,838
    16,256
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    You're probably right - been feeling very senior lately...
     
  24. DeltaOscar

    DeltaOscar Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    22
    1
    16
    Hey everyone, i'm pleased to say everything went smoothly, I have root on my phone! :cool:

    I put my goldcard away safely, and then did a clockwork backup. So hopefully it'll be plain sailing from here, as I explore root a bit more and what it can do. Maybe much later down the line i'll give a custom rom a go, im quite happy with sense for now.

    Thanks everyone for their input and assistance. If i have any more queries, I know the first place to come to for help!

    much appreciated! :D
     
  25. EddyOS

    EddyOS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,681
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010

    Apr 29, 2010
    1,681
    283
    163
    Technical Support
    Liverpool, Merseyside
    For reference, WWE does mean World Wide English :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...