1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root White screen...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by block215, Jul 9, 2011.

  1. block215

    block215 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    ok, I tried the "Custom MTD Partitions" from another forum and for the last 9 hours havent been able to get past the white screen. I've read through a million diff threads and nothing. The one thread I saw said to copy the PC36IMG.zip over to the sdcard and run that but in my computer in recovery, the sdcard drive is faded and when I click on it, it says, "Please insert a disk into removeable disk i:". Can someone please! walk me though how to get past this, thank u
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    what partitions did you set? can you get into recovery? youshould try wiping dalvik cache, cache and also sd ext.
     
  3. block215

    block215 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    25
    0
    15

    thank god ur online, i went to irc and no one answered.

    I can get into clockwork recovery, I dunno what partitions I set b/c it never booted up afterwards and what does sd ext mean/do?
     
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    can you link the steps you followed, just so that i know what is going on. as long as you have a recovery all is good. what rom are you on? try wiping dalvik cache and cache and see if that helps. have you tried a nandroid backup?
     
  5. block215

    block215 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    1. Copy FR_Boot_CustomMTD_v1.5.7b_for_EVO, FR_Recovery_CustomMTD_v1.5.7b_for_EVO, FORMAT_ALL zips(& custom mtdpartmap.txt if you want to change the default sizes) to your SD card
    2. Reboot into recovery
    3. Make a Nandroid backup if you didn't already
    4. Format cache, data & system partitions using my FORMAT_ALL.zip for ease
    6. Flash FR_Recovery_CustomMTD_v1.5.7b_for_EVO.zip(this patches the recovery to use the custom partition sizes)
    7. Reboot into recovery again
    8. Restore Nandroid backup or flash new ROM but don't reboot
    9. Flash FR_Boot_CustomMTD_v1.5.7b_for_EVO.zip(this patches the kernel to load the custom partition sizes)
    10. Reboot


    yes, I tried a nandroid backup but it wont boot..I think when I did these steps I messed up step 4 b/c the format_all.zip didnt work so I tried manually and I think thats the issue. Right now I put the sd card into my TP2 old phone and right now I'm copying the pc36img to the sdcard
     
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    wait before you do that what PC36IMG file is it? have you tried flashing a rom? or wiping?
     
  7. block215

    block215 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    I believe so b/c I have a file on my sd thats named update.zip thats about 200mb and Im pretty sure thats the rom I had on there before any of this, so I tried to flash it again and still stuck..can u give me a quick step by step on how I should flash from where Im at now?
     
  8. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok i would not flash that. that looks likethat could be the official gingerbread update and that can screw your phone up.

    1.ok so download this file: Multiupload.com - upload your files to multiple file hosting sites!
    2.transfer it to your sd card
    3.power off then press and hold power+vol down
    4.select recovery
    5.select "backup and restore"
    6.select "backup" to make a nandroid backup
    7.select "wipe cache partitions", "advanced"/"wipe dalvik cache" and "wipe data/factort reset"
    8.select "install .zip from sd card"/ find you rom file and select
    9.reboot

    now the first reboot will take awhile as it has to build dalvik cache. so be patient.

    now you are updated!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    you can apply that very same steps to flash other roms. you can get most of them on the http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/284413-roms-kernels-download-page.html.

    try mikg2.2 if you want something different or kings alliance 7.6. both are great roms and have senes 2.1 and sense 3.0 which our evo will never get.

    edit: also i would highly recommend that you read the http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/194918-rooting-dummies.html guide. it has a tons of info that you should know.
     
  9. block215

    block215 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    2 things, 1, the link isnt clickable & 2 if I upgrade to 3.0 rom can I still restore my current nandroid ? or does it have to be a 2.1 rom?
     
  10. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    sorry i copied it from a previous post.:eek: here is the link:Multiupload.com - upload your files to multiple file hosting sites!

    a nandroid is a complete picture of what your current state of your phone is. so it really does not matter what rom you are on you can always restore back to a previous point in time. just make sure that you always make a nandroid backup before you make any major changes to your phone like flashing roms.
     
  11. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
  12. block215

    block215 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    now it says error mounting sd card, lol, wtf next
     
  13. block215

    block215 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    25
    0
    15
  14. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ah yeah i remember that one. never tried it, but you will need to either switch recoveries or downgrade clockwork mod to use that method. personally i would recommned that you switch to amon ra. it is much more stable and is compatible with all .zip files. you can get it here:http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/259446-clockwork-amon-ra-pc36img-files.html. i can walk you through it if you need help.

    also the link i provided is a much easier way to partition your card now.
     
  15. block215

    block215 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    how long does this dalvik take? I been waiting to 10 mins, the sd-card is showing up in my computer tho
     
  16. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    clearing dalvik can be a bit long. give it a few more minutes. if not then we may need to change your recovery.
     
  17. block215

    block215 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    its been an hr and a half and nothing
     
  18. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    wow. was that just on wiping dalvik cache?
     
  19. block215

    block215 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    no, at the white screen.
     
  20. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    ok so was that after flashing the rom? next time only give 15 min or so. pull the battery out and see if you can boot up. if not then we can try and switch recoveries, re-partition your sd card, and re-flash the rom. hopefully that will work.

    you can get the recovery here:http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/259446-clockwork-amon-ra-pc36img-files.html. grab amon ra 2.3 and follow instructions on this thread. if you need help i can guide you. once you switch re-partition your card and flash the rom.

    your previous nandroids will not work with amon ra.
     
  21. block215

    block215 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    ok im gonna copy the sd card to my comp, but I want my phone to be the same as when I did the backup process with nandroid, I really dont wanna start from scratch
     
  22. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well you can try and partition your card through clockwork mod. i just do not trust it too much to help but you can try it and see.
     
  23. block215

    block215 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    do u know the reason why its not booting tho?? What is the benefit of formatting the sd card?
     
  24. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    well you have wiped and you are still not able to boot. it could be because of a bad partition. by re-partitioning i'm hoping that it might help. it will not hurt if you do. i mean you can try and wipe again and try flashing another rom. it could have been a bad download. but if those do not work i really think that you should try switching recoveries and partition then re-flash.

    edit: it could be a bunch of reasons why it wont boot up. i'm not to familiar with firerat so it could have been an old process. it could be not wiping very well (cwm sucks at it). bad dowload like i said.
     
  25. block215

    block215 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    I thought the android os was on the internal memory and not the sdcard?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...