1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Who Makes RUUs?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by remanifest, Mar 21, 2013.

  1. remanifest

    remanifest Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    838
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013

    Jan 13, 2013
    838
    321
    113
    Are the RUUs only made by HTC? From what I understand, the issue is assigning a valid HTC signature to the firmware so that the phone will take it without question. Is this correct?

    My hacking wheels are turning.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Yes, HTC makes the RUU's and has to digitally sign them for S-ON users to flash them.

    ramjet73
     
  3. Snake X

    Snake X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1,035
    359
    163
    iirc on one of football's xda posts/threads (not sure if it still exists) i thought i saw 2 different RUU's for the evo v 4g. I only have one of them though currently.

    Oh, and it's not possible to modify a RUU and still have it run by the way. Not as far as I know anyways.
     
  4. ron scubadiver

    ron scubadiver Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011

    Mar 19, 2011
    354
    56
    53
    The next question is will we see an RUU that restores to the latest OTA? Yes, I know the answer to this is unknown. Is such an item required to build custom ROMs that are fully compliant with the latest OTA?
     
  5. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA
    Maybe if someones really good at making or modifying EXE files and is the phone S-OFF it might work......
     
  6. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Or just create an updated zip file from the one in the current RUU that includes all the updated firmware and ROM files after both OTA's are applied.

    That's definitely possible but it wouldn't help S-ON users that are already on the 2.95 build with hboot 1.58. :(

    ramjet73
     
  7. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA
    Yup or maybe modifying the build description in the build prop to a lower version like 1.13 so that it'll take the RUU
     
  8. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Ruus go by your radio information for updating. Modifying a build prop won't help
     
  9. Mobstergunz

    Mobstergunz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,896
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011

    Sep 5, 2011
    2,896
    1,444
    313
    Reading, PA
    ........... :hmmmm2: that sucks
     
  10. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    You can pull the ROM out of an RUU, as well as pull the patches out of the ota update and make a functional updated ROM.

    You have to downgrade your radio to be able to use an ruu to downgrade your hboot. Going down that road is brick city.

    You can also try being polite to HTC and requesting the ruu via email. I've seen it work before.

    I've had lots of time with HTC devices. ;)
     
  11. ramjet73

    ramjet73 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,418
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011

    Jun 22, 2011
    1,418
    821
    233
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    :thinking: Not if you are S-OFF. And S-ON users can't modify firmware without flashing an RUU or OTA.

    I tried that a while back for my Evo 3D (at your suggestion) and got a negative response from HTC. Here's the post that includes their answer.

    ramjet73
     
    Mobstergunz likes this.
  12. HaTrEd360

    HaTrEd360 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,363
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    1,363
    167
    143
    Male
    We need to just find a way to downgrade hboot without the need of S-Off.
     
  13. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    When I am reducing the chicken broth for a sauce I am making, I usually make the ruu towards the end to thicken things up a bit :p
     
  14. nsciucco

    nsciucco Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,374
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012

    Mar 1, 2012
    1,374
    290
    163
    Male
    SALES
    MASSACHUSETTS
  15. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    It's an impossibility the whole concept of having the security flag set to on is to protect the device from modified files Any updated RUU that HTC would release will most likely have the new hboot, and that's if they even get around to it. :rolleyes:
    OB
     
  16. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,907
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,907
    13,140
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Yes, s-off users can do as they please...

    My response was geared toward s-on, as they're the ones who have issues. Devs for other htc phones have methods of downgrading radios in order to take an older ruu and use a patched s-off method.

    I'm not making stuff up here, just telling you what other htc phone devs have done.

    You guys are at a disadvantage because HTC has already caught many of the exploits with the 3D before they rebranded it.
     
  17. Snake X

    Snake X Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011

    Aug 20, 2011
    1,035
    359
    163
    Since that email was back in January, I shot them another email to see if I wouldn't be able to get better luck with another person that handles the software. I made sure to include politeness with it haha. Let's see what they say... :D

    Oh, one other thing. To any of you who are not at Hboot 1.58 and ran the RUU successfully, the RUU will output a log of everything it does with ADB to a text file in "C:/ruu_log" so something in there may hold the key to getting more advancement in our struggle if we are able to manually do the commands ourselves.. though, it really depends more on the zip file thats being flashed than the executable itself. So, that won't get us anywhwere... :(
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...