1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Who needs FoxFi?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Filosophic1, Mar 15, 2013.

  1. Filosophic1

    Filosophic1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    33
    3
    36
    U.S.C.G. Licensed Captain
    South Louisiana
    Well, after updating to Jellybean on my Maxx and losing FoxFi, I was looking for an alternative. Being averse to rooting for fear of bricking my phone, I finally took the plunge and went ahead and did it. And much to my surprise, it couldn't have been easier to root. I am now enjoying my mobile hotspot again, and my only regret was not rooting earlier and saving the $7 I paid for the FoxFi key. If you are on the fence and nervous as I was about rooting, there are tons of resources out there that will literally hold your hand and walk you through the rooting process.
     

    Advertisement

  2. monicakm

    monicakm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012

    Jun 11, 2012
    255
    13
    38
    My Razr was updated a couple of days ago. I don't know the extent of what I can and can't do anymore. So far I lost the stock sticky note widget and stock weather widget and Fox-Fi. Five years ago I wouldn't have hesitated to root a phone but I'm not up to that anymore. I downloaded PDAnet+ last night but it's saying I need to pay $20/month for the plan. I don't think so. I don't mind paying a small one time fee for an app, but not $20/month. Are there any other options (that work)? Are you saying that I can use Fix-Fi as a hotspot again if I pay for the app? When I try my 1.95.3 version of FF, it tells me to upgrade to a FREE update to PdaNet+. So that's what I did. It's free to download but not free to use unless I'm missing something. If you or someone could offer any options other than rooting, I'd appreciate it.
    Monica
     
  3. Filosophic1

    Filosophic1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    33
    3
    36
    U.S.C.G. Licensed Captain
    South Louisiana
  4. Filosophic1

    Filosophic1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    33
    3
    36
    U.S.C.G. Licensed Captain
    South Louisiana
    It literally takes just a few minutes to achieve root on your Maxx
     
  5. IReadTheTerms

    IReadTheTerms Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013

    Mar 15, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    What did you end up doing?
    I am in the exact same boat with my FoxFi key and everything. I just want to use my mobile hotspot *sigh* Thanks Jelly Bean...
     
  6. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Correct.

    It is very strongly recommended that you do some research on root-ing before you do it so you know what you are committing to. You are assuming total responsibility for your phone. Many people choose to do so.

    ... Thom
     
  7. zoxxo

    zoxxo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    528
    75
    98
    Issaquah, WA
    What did you end up doing as far as tethering your phone?
     
  8. cbreze

    cbreze Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    425
    28
    63
    Central Oregon
    Sounds like he did the entitlement hack. A piece of cake if rooted. I've had no issues using my hacked hotspot for over a year. Really the way to go if rooted.
     
  9. zoxxo

    zoxxo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    528
    75
    98
    Issaquah, WA
    Sadly, I can't seem to restore root. I've tried several options, but no dice. But I'll keep trying...
     
  10. Adauth

    Adauth Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,662
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    1,662
    205
    163
    Male
    Oil and gas industry.
    New Orleans
    Rooting is so worth it.
    They chances of bricking your phone for good are almost none.
     
  11. rich196

    rich196 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    So, i rooted my droid razr maxx but still can't get the Hotspot to work. Can you tell me what you did to get it working after the root?
     
  12. Filosophic1

    Filosophic1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    33
    3
    36
    U.S.C.G. Licensed Captain
    South Louisiana
    After you have achieved root, download a program called SQLite Editor...it is $2.99 in the Playstore. With that, you can edit the file that blocks your phone from activating the mobile hotspot. How to enable free Wifi hotspot on a Motorola Droid like the razr on the new jelly bean ota - YouTube

    Once again, pay very close attention to the video, and if you follow the directions exactly, you'll have your hotspot back.

    I ended up doing this...couldn't have been any easier How to enable free Wifi hotspot on a Motorola Droid like the razr on the new jelly bean ota - YouTube
     
  13. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    PSA.jpg

    Hi there!

    Just wanted to let our members and lurkers know that Android Forums neither condones nor disapproves of these sort of actions. I cite Phases' policy on tethering and hot-spot activity:

    http://androidforums.com/site-updates-announcements/490815-change-in-our-tethering-policy-our-approach-some-other-content.html#post3864270

    So while this may, or may not, be a contract violation, YOU - the individual user - are ultimately responsible for your phone: and any consequences of using this information are yours. Android Forums will assume no liability if your carrier discovers this and terminates your plan, etc.

    Hope this clarifies the situation. Thanks for your understanding and if you have any questions, feel free to PM me.

    :)

    The_Chief
     
    dpd653, D-U-R-X, Bugly and 2 others like this.
  14. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Root, and use wifi tether. It's the easiest and cheapest way.
     
  15. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,062
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Considering that this technique requires root, I have taken the liberty of moving this thread to the "All Things Root" Section. If you have any questions about the move, my inbox is always open :)
     
    Filosophic1 and pastafarian like this.
  16. golfbiz

    golfbiz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    187
    11
    38
    The other question is who needs jb?
     
  17. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    I'm glad to have it. The smoothness alone is worth it. Google now seems pretty freaking rad as well. YMMV. :beer:
     
  18. golfbiz

    golfbiz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    187
    11
    38
    Did you do fact reset after update? My incredible was rooted and i had tit pro so easy to reinstall everything, apps, data after updates or wipes with new roms, but havent seen the need to root the max but that could change....good łuck with jb!
     
  19. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    783
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    No FDR for me. I know it's suggested, but mine seems fine so far. I didn't when I upgraded to GB either. I'm rooted, and used voodoo and had no issues keeping root.
     
  20. Ssith

    Ssith Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    May 28, 2011

    May 28, 2011
    264
    76
    53
    i've taken to the habit of always doing a factory reset after updating to a new version. it just seems to solve or prevent so many problems.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  21. loonee2n

    loonee2n Newbie
    Rank:
     #613
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010

    Nov 27, 2010
    36
    9
    16
    +1

    WiFi Tether for Root Users (the yellow WiFi icon). It's absolutely free in the Play Store.
     
  22. taylor94

    taylor94 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013

    Mar 19, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Hi, I was wondering if somebody could help me out here. I followed the youtube video that was posted to root my razr maxx and I get an error when I open run.bat file

    It says press any key to continue so I do, and then I get an error.



    'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

    I've installed the moto drivers on my comuter, USB debugging is checked, and my phone is connected to my computer as a media device.
     
  23. Grey1001

    Grey1001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    538
    91
    78
    NorCal
    might be a path/environment problem

    android - adb is not recognized as internal or external command on windows - Stack Overflow
     
    taylor94 likes this.
  24. taylor94

    taylor94 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013

    Mar 19, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Thanks but I have no idea how to do that.

    Rooting my droid 2 was so much easier.
     
  25. taylor94

    taylor94 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013

    Mar 19, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    I searched my phone for "android-sdk" with my computer and the only thing that pops up is yume_android_sdk
     

Share This Page

Loading...