1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Who uses a secure lockscreen and why?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by funkylogik, Jul 8, 2015.

  1. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Personally I don't even use an insecure one.
    My premise being that if a theif/finder who isn't tech savvy enough to reset a locked phone, they'll throw it away, it won't get charged and my tracking apps will be useless
    All my purchasing apps require a password so I have nothing to lose but my privacy? Which doesn't mean much to me.
    Thoughts?
     

    Advertisement

  2. LitrosNub

    LitrosNub Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    977
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015

    Jan 2, 2015
    977
    579
    203
    Lurking around any android forum.
    The Magical Forest of Android
    I agree. Even the most un-tech savvy person can look up on the internet on how to reset a phone. No need to find a password, just reset & go.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  3. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Until you blacklist it and you've just lost a phone for nothing :(
     
  4. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,378
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,378
    3,129
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    My sentiments exactly.
    I used a pin code for almost a week.... then I went to a pattern code for almost a month,
    then I said, "I have never lost a phone in my life.......... I keep a Neck Strap on them"
    so to hell with it, and now it is just a Slide Screen.

    IF it gets lost, the biggest loss is going to be to my pocket book.... I can change the password to Evernote in a Heart Beat with my desktop PC... so that won't work anymore.

    I can use Google Desktop to erase the phone, so it is useless.
    I have a piece of Brother Label tape on the back of the case.
    My name on it, with my wife's phone number....

    that is as good as it is going to get.

    oh, I have MacroDroid programmed to monitor the SMS messages.
    If it ever sees the phrase "whereami" not including the quotes,

    it will turn ON the GPS, get a fix, and then reply to whatever number sent that message with the Lat/Long accurate to less than 30 feet.... good as it is going to get. ( assuming the sky is viewable, and the battery is still good, and the phone is ON... )
     
    Gmash and funkylogik like this.
  5. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Cool does turn on GPS work with lollipop? I use Lookout for that but it requires leaving GPS on.
    I don't even use a slide screen tbh. My phone wont turn on via power button or double-tap of screen while it's in my pocket (proximity sensor covered) and I'm a lazy sod :D
     
  6. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,378
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,378
    3,129
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    seems to be working on my VZW loliploped phone...

    I usually leave the GPS on all the time, and set to GPS only... I do not allow network or WiFi to interfere with the location. From my experience, even on 4.4.4 leaving the GPS turned ON has almost no negative effects on the battery life. Once in a while, I think I have it set for 30 minutes, I see the notification bar pop up a Location icon, stays for a few seconds and disappears.

    I just checked my battery life, been using the phone quite a bit today, we were in town running a lot of errands, making phone calls, looking for stuff with Google, and with 22 hours on time, it is still showing me 33% battery left. that's not too shabby for me....

    if I don't use it much, it will go 3 days between charges.

    My wife's S5 is never used for anything but as a phone...
    it will usually go about 10-12 days between charges.

    It has a Qi charger in it, so it is an easy matter to plop it down on a charging pad
     
    #6 AZgl1500, Jul 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2015
    funkylogik likes this.
  7. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Nice one I'll give it a try Cheers mate :thumbsupdroid:
    It got an update on Monday incase you didn't know btw
     
  8. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,378
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,378
    3,129
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    MacroDroid did?
    I have auto updates off.


    hmmm, just looked and you are right..

    nothing there to make me update it for today.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  9. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Same lol (but I did anyway, hate having that update section full lol)
    I keep auto updates off too and don't update til I read the "what's new" and some reviews
     
  10. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,378
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,378
    3,129
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    I like the KISS principle.
    If it ain't broke, don't keep fixing it until it is broke.

    so, if an app is working with my phone, and it don't ever misbehave, why replace it?
    most of the so called improvements are so minor as to be of no value...
    some involve changed menus or colors and I hate both of those situations.
     
  11. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,740
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,740
    4,850
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    You apparently use Slide instead of None. I have always used None. What is gained by the slide screen?

    ... Thom
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  12. bjacks12

    bjacks12 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #68
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    3,071
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    3,071
    3,130
    423
    Male
    Professional Smartass
    Las Vegas
    I have it locked because I have my work email on this phone. I don't think my firm would be too happy if I let that get out in the wild.

    But I do use Smart Lock to keep it unlocked at home/office or when connected to my bluetooth devices.
     
    funkylogik and codesplice like this.
  13. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    20,173
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    20,173
    13,209
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I use a PIN, which takes me about a second to type. But I do set it to only come on after 3 a few minutes, so I don't have to enter it if my screen just times out when I'm not paying attention.

    I did have a reset-proof security module, but apparently that option doesn't work with Lollipop (at least at the moment).
     
    joe71 and funkylogik like this.
  14. sleedeane

    sleedeane Android Expert
    Rank:
     #130
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,396
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011

    Jul 6, 2011
    1,396
    363
    193
    disabled carpenter
    Columbia, MO.
    I don't use anything. Tried to set up fingerprint security just to see how it works but I can't get that to work.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  15. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    923
    Posts:
    11,886
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    11,886
    3,492
    923
    i use lock pattern .. because I use dropbox and email for work.

    I do use a time-out feature on the lockscreen.
    it only locks if the phone is NOT used for 10 mins.
    so active texting conversations do not get interrupted by lockscreens.

    my guess: most of the time I am in a safe place.. but when I am not..
    if I put it down.. it will take me a few mins for me to walk away.
    another few mins for someone to notice and wait to see if it is safe to get it..
    another mins for them to walk out to a safe area to play with it.
    now.. it should be after 10 mins .. and locked.

    then I will looked for it.. and GPS it... and locked it.. or wiped it.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  16. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    8,295
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    8,295
    9,339
    1,063
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Smart Lock FTW. I have a pattern configured, but automatically bypass it whenever I'm at home/work, connected to my Pebble/car stereo, or carried in my pocket (on-body detection). I'm a big fan of that combination of security and convenience.
     
    KOLIO and funkylogik like this.
  17. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,245
    1,483
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    I use a pattern lock when I travel but that's about it. I never lose my phone and it would be hard to pick my front pocket lol
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  18. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    +1

    My PIN is inactive so long as my SW3 is within range. Outside that, phone is locked AND a reboot only gets as far as a SIM unlock code. Very handy when you leave the phone with the punter as a demo while you do something else.
     
    funkylogik and codesplice like this.
  19. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Me? I use none mate :thumbsupdroid:
     
  20. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    So how does smart lock work? Like I don't have wifi but could you say use GPS so it knows when you're in a safe place?
    I still wouldn't use it for the reasons in my OP and if I had an app i wanted kept secure I'd use an app lock type app.
    I don't care who knows my mums number lol, she'd be glad of the company :D


    EDIT does anyone know how to add a password to Amazon Shopper app? I just ordered something as an experiment and wasn't asked for any security!!
    Do I have to use an app lock on it?
    Can't believe that, in the past its asked me security questions like the 1st 12 digits of my card!
    (cancelled the order of course) :D
     
    #20 funkylogik, Jul 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2015
  21. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Yup, you can specify "trusted locations" as well as "trusted devices".
     
    KOLIO and funkylogik like this.
  22. AZgl1500

    AZgl1500 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #47
    Points:
    618
    Posts:
    6,378
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,378
    3,129
    618
    Male
    Retired and loving it.
    Oklahoma grasslands
    I use the slide screen to keep idle fingers from bring up apps when I don't want that to happen.,
     
    EnglishWolfHound and funkylogik like this.
  23. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Ahh that's pretty cool. Think I'll still keep mine unlocked permanently though for the theif/bin scenario :thumbsupdroid:
    Gonna put an app lock on Amazon shopper tonight though after tonight's discovery of their security flaw
     
  24. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    This is why I think all phones should have power/unlock button dependant on the proximity sensor being uncovered (depending on type of CPU of course for battery drain)
     
  25. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,252
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    jameny5 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...