1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Who wants to test an ICS rom?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Connorh333, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. Connorh333

    Connorh333 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    149
    11
    38
    Male
    It might work but who knows...
    Download link:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/rae9ez70s1vqhsf/ICS_Lucid_beta1.zip

    **You must be on GB to flash this rom**
    GB bootloader: Unlocked
    ICS bootloader: Locked
    I am not responsible if you brick your phone!

    If anyone does flash this, please tell me your results. Based on the kernel it should work.
    Feedback is appreciated!
     

    Advertisement

  2. soldier2009

    soldier2009 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    27
    0
    15
    I'll test it. One thing though how can I get that recovery menu because its like I'm locked out of it. And what all requirements are needed
     
  3. Connorh333

    Connorh333 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    149
    11
    38
    Male
    You have to be on GB
    You need to install CWM recovery. (either through Rom Manager or The CWM installer.)
    You must be rooted. (obviously...)
    To get into recovery press volume down and the power button at the same time until you get to the "factory reset" screen. This will not actually factory reset your phone btw. Follow the instructions on the screen and it will boot you into recovery. (I think you press the power button twice?)
    That's all you need.

    **Important**
    Do not install CWM Touch through Rom Manager. You WILL brick your phone.
    Also, wipe data, cache and dalvik cache through CWM.

    Edit: you can also boot into recovery by any rebooter.
     
  4. soldier2009

    soldier2009 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    27
    0
    15
    I put it back to GB and I'm taking it links were broken my calendar crap, WiFi, and something else didn't work. And I couldn't find another GB to recover so for now I'm sitting with ICS. By the way I looked threw the files of your ROM and it looked just like ICS without the bloatware
     
  5. Connorh333

    Connorh333 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    149
    11
    38
    Male
    I cant believe it actually worked!
    Thanks so much for flashing it. I'll try to fix the wifi and calender soon. I only made this rom so people could use ICS without a locked bootloader.
    You can still boot into CWM recovery right?
    You can flash GB back if you use the unbrick guide.
    Again, please mess with it and tell me things that work and don't work.
    I'am going to flash it now too.

    Beta 2 is coming with fixes.
     
  6. saxydroid

    saxydroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    41
    16
    18
    Hillsborough, New Jersey
    just enters fastboot mode after installing, tried to force it to continue by use fastboot continue from the sdk, but it just gives me an invaled boot image header error.
     
  7. Connorh333

    Connorh333 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    149
    11
    38
    Male
    Sorry. Can you still get into download mode?
    Edit: it worked fro soldier2009. There must be something wrong. I am flashing it now to see what I can do.
     
  8. saxydroid

    saxydroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    41
    16
    18
    Hillsborough, New Jersey
    it's possible the file didn't transfer to the SD card correctly, I downloaded it from my chromebook to my phone
     
  9. Connorh333

    Connorh333 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    149
    11
    38
    Male
    I'm sorry that happened though. Were you able to unbrick?
    shit it happened to me to haha
     
  10. Connorh333

    Connorh333 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    149
    11
    38
    Male
    soldier20089 do you still have the beta 1? I deleted it by accident. If you do can you upload it
     
  11. Neph81

    Neph81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,399
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    1,399
    823
    213
    Male
    Wisconsin
    I grabbed a copy before it poofed. I'm uploading it now. Quick question, where did you get the kernel for this? If there is source code, I'd like to see it so I can possibly use it in the CM10 rom for the lucid.
     
  12. Connorh333

    Connorh333 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    149
    11
    38
    Male
    I just used the stock ics boot.img. No custom kernel. sorry.
     
  13. Neph81

    Neph81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,399
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    1,399
    823
    213
    Male
    Wisconsin
  14. Connorh333

    Connorh333 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    149
    11
    38
    Male
    I honestly have no idea. It booted for one person but didn't for like 2 people. It just puts me into fastboot mode. How do you extract a Boot.img anyway? Power Iso says it's a corrupt file
     
  15. saxydroid

    saxydroid Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012

    Apr 23, 2012
    41
    16
    18
    Hillsborough, New Jersey
    After reading more closely, I don't think ics booted for soldier, I think he nay have flashed back to GB without wiping data and the WiFi etc problems were from messed up os files.
     
  16. soldier2009

    soldier2009 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    27
    0
    15
    Yea sorry for the delay. I just opened up your file and browsed threw it and noticed no bloatware I did that myself before I'm still working on one myself. I spent the passed few days working on correcting the os files on my lucid from when it was bricked. But I do have your file on my lab top still. I'll upload it to drop box and paste the link for you.
     
  17. soldier2009

    soldier2009 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012

    Nov 12, 2012
    27
    0
    15
    The kernel is in a nice tight vault. And its going to be almost impossible to get ahold of one of the writers to tell you how to crack it
     
  18. Neph81

    Neph81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,399
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    1,399
    823
    213
    Male
    Wisconsin
    You need linux and abootimg (README - abootimg in AC100 - Gitorious ). Use abootimg to extract the zImage (kernel) and Initrd (ramdisk), then use the commands in this (HOWTO: Unpack, Edit, and Re-Pack Boot Images - Android Wiki) to unpack the ramdisk, make changes, and repack it. Then use abootimg to re-insert the ramdisk back into the full boot image. The problem is that the zImage (kernel) has a driver (think efuse from Motorola) that checks the boot chain, and if it's missing the secure boot, the kernel will not load.
     
  19. Connorh333

    Connorh333 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012

    Dec 25, 2012
    149
    11
    38
    Male
    Okay. Thanks but...
    I have a stupid question.
    Would it work on Ubuntu 12.04
     
  20. Neph81

    Neph81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,399
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    1,399
    823
    213
    Male
    Wisconsin
    It should. Build abootimg from the source code and the rest of the stuff is already build into Ubuntu. I run 10.10 with no issues and I'm working on setting up a 12.04 virtual image. I just hate running Unity, but they turned off the update servers for 10 and below.
     

Share This Page

Loading...