1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Who's battery life sucks after 5.5.893 OTA?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jpvybes, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. jpvybes

    jpvybes Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    I downloaded and ran the 5.5.893 update and since then the battery life is horrendous. Spoke with Verizon and they sent me a new battery (which I knew wouldn't fix a thing). Spoke with Motorola new and they want me to send the phone in which will end up turning into replacing it with a "Like new" phone, but I don't want someone
     

    Advertisement

  2. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,893
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,893
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I have seen no battery difference between 5.5.886 and 5.5.893.

    ... Thom
     
  3. DanDroide

    DanDroide Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #181
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nor have I
     
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,893
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,893
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Are you charging it with the OEM in-wall charger and OEM cable that came with the Bionic?

    If no ... try them.

    If yes ... did Verizon think about replacing them both before replacing the Bionic?

    ... Thom
     
  5. jpvybes

    jpvybes Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Charging with OEM wall charger and cable. I haven't let them replace the phone yet because I know I'll get a refurb and there is nothing wrong with the phone. I saw a lot of posts on the Motorola forum of people having the same issue. The rapid discharge for me started right after the OTA.
     
  6. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,893
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,893
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Did you try a reset by holding down the volume up/volume down/power keys until the menu appears and then disappears after you did the OTA upgrade?

    Also, I've seen where a lot of people say the reform units are excellent.

    ... Thom
     
  7. New Rising

    New Rising Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    481
    71
    53
    Haven't seen any difference in my battery life since the update.
     
  8. jpvybes

    jpvybes Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    If I look at the list under battery manager Android OS is at 64%. I just tried the 3 button reset, will see how that works out..Thanks.
     
  9. kingmk

    kingmk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    It may not be the OS or the batt.
    If you live on the edge of 4G service and it jumps around from 3G to 4G. This is the issue. At home the phone was good. At work it would go dead because I was just out side the 4G network. The phone will continue to search and search for 4G service. I have verizon, and their 4G service is no where as large as the G3.

    Recommend turning off G4 until needed or in good G4 area.
     
  10. kingmk

    kingmk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011

    Dec 19, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    If you live on the edge of 4G service and it jumps around from 3G to 4G. This is the issue. At home the phone was good. At work it would go dead because I was just out side the 4G network. The phone will continue to search and search for 4G service. I have verizon, and their 4G service is no where as large as the G3.

    Recommend turning off G4 until needed or in good G4 area.
     
  11. John_Roger

    John_Roger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    223
    18
    38
    Automotive shop manager
    Detroit

    Is this going to do a factory reset?
     
  12. New Rising

    New Rising Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    481
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    481
    71
    53

    No, it's just rebooting the phone.
     
  13. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,893
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,893
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    No it is the same as a battery pull without touching the battery. If that is more comfortable to you ... pop the back with the power still on ... pull the battery ... replace the battery ... replace the back ... turn it back on. (If you do this since the battery is out, [always] check that the SIM card and SD-Ext card are squally and firmly seated.)

    ... Thom
     
    John_Roger likes this.
  14. John_Roger

    John_Roger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    223
    18
    38
    Automotive shop manager
    Detroit
    Awesome, I've been experiencing pretty crappy battery life (with the extended battery) since the update.
     
  15. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,893
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,893
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I don't have an extended battery but I have noticed a couple of things in what people are reporting ...

    The battery statistics can be "off" after you install the 5.5.893 OTA upgrade until you do the soft reset (holding down volume up/volume down/power).

    If you are in an area without 4G and have 4G enabled it will constantly search trying to connect and suck the battery down. In this case ... disable 4G.

    A lot of people are reporting that they disable 4G and only enable it when they know they have a definite need for it when they are downloading a lot of data.

    (There is an accumulation of nifty tips at ... http://androidforums.com/motorola-droid-bionic/421050-post-your-tips-bionic-here.html.)

    ... Thom
     
    John_Roger likes this.
  16. x026092

    x026092 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    375
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    375
    29
    43
    MD 20/20
    Same, if not better, battery performance since the update here.
     
  17. John_Roger

    John_Roger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    223
    18
    38
    Automotive shop manager
    Detroit

    I live in an area with 4G and I always leave it on. I would rather have to charge her every so often rather than mess around with the settings when I need the extra speed. I got the Bionic for the speed on demand :)

    Thanks for always having the info, Thom. It's widely appreciated. Hopefully that reset will do the trick. I was getting really good life out of the extended battery when I first purchased it. It's been sitting awhile while I used my Otterbox, but I'm back to the ext with the shell/holster combo.
     
  18. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,893
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,893
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    I'm in a 3G-only area and always have 4G enabled. (I keep hoping to see the 4G logo appear.) Battery life has never been an issue. 90% of the time I am on the WiFi connection in my office but not on a USB cable. The Bionic is my published office number.

    Maybe you are starting to use one of those soaking apps (lie Social Location)that use GPS heavily and eat the battery and you didn't in the past? Have you considered that?

    ... Thom
     
  19. John_Roger

    John_Roger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    223
    18
    38
    Automotive shop manager
    Detroit

    GPS is always turned off under the settings unless I'm using Navigation.
     
  20. John_Roger

    John_Roger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    223
    18
    38
    Automotive shop manager
    Detroit
  21. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,893
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,893
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Your display shows that you were on battery for 22+ hours.

    I guess I'm lost ... what are your expectations?

    ... Thom
     
  22. John_Roger

    John_Roger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    223
    18
    38
    Automotive shop manager
    Detroit

    I had it plugged in earlier....
     
  23. NoNoBadDog

    NoNoBadDog Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    Apr 28, 2010
    72
    5
    16
    Veterinary Technician
    Pearl City, HI
    I am not experiencing any difference with the upgrade. I am suing the extended battery with the stock charger and cable.
     
  24. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,318
    Posts:
    11,893
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    11,893
    4,907
    1,318
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    That's interesting ... I didn't know what that number was until I played with it for this question.

    I tried power off/power on.
    I tried soft reset.
    I tried on charger then off charger.

    It kept the value.

    I then charged it to 100% and took it off the charger. That's what reset it.

    So ... maybe you already knew ... it was 22+ hours since you were charged to 100%.

    So how long does it last for your from 100% to 0% (without incremental tweaking)?

    ... Thom
     
  25. John_Roger

    John_Roger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    223
    18
    38
    Automotive shop manager
    Detroit

    I'm going to test this tomorrow, It'll be plugged in tonight, and I'll let it die tomorrow.
     

Share This Page

Loading...