1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Who's getting a Nexus and doesn't have LTE?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by breadnatty08, Nov 17, 2011.

?

Do you currently have LTE in your area?

Poll closed Dec 1, 2011.
  1. Yes and so excited to use it on my Nexus!

    50 vote(s)
    51.5%
  2. Nope, but I need to have a Nexus anyway.

    40 vote(s)
    41.2%
  3. Not yet, but I should be getting it any day now :(

    7 vote(s)
    7.2%
  1. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,889
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,889
    6,121
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    I've been following the Pre-Release thread for the Galaxy Nexus (phew, what a rush!) and have seen quite a few folks say they don't live in an area with 4G LTE coverage. I live in DC and with my Bionic (yep, it's going to the wife when I get my Nexus :p) I get incredible download speeds. With the occasional drop of data, which is a known issue on most of the LTE phones, it's a huge step up from my Droid.
    My question is, are folks getting this phone without having LTE coverage in their area? Is it a big issue to you? Are you upgrading from another LTE phone, is this your first one?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rosethorne

    Rosethorne Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    9
    5
    6
    Slower-Lower Delaware
    I'm within 2 hours of lte; I have no clue when it will be in my area though. Since I don't tend to upgrade until 20-24 months, it's likely to be here during the life of the phone. This will be my first Android; I currently have an Omnia 2.
     
  3. dmiller2007

    dmiller2007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,000
    Joined:
    May 18, 2010

    May 18, 2010
    1,000
    242
    143
    No LTE here. Can't see it in the immediate future either (i can't even get DSL or broadband cable!) But i want the phone for the software basically. I'll keep the 4G off almost all the time.
     
  4. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,889
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,889
    6,121
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    Eesh. When my parents first moved to IN several years ago, they weren't able to get broadband in their neighborhood. I was naively flabergasted :rolleyes:
    I know the phone is going to be amazing without it, but I'm curious how many others are making this a big selling point for them.
     
  5. Jb2db

    Jb2db Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011

    Oct 4, 2011
    53
    16
    38
    I have LTE in the area but will still most likely turn it off in order to save battery power.
     
  6. Darth Enzo

    Darth Enzo Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    21
    17
    38
    Upstate SC, USA
    I guess you could say I've mostly got LTE. My house is about 100 yards outside the LTE Extended Coverage area on VZW's coverage map, but my workplace is awash in 4G.

    I'm off work next week, so I really hope the map shows a conservative estimate.
     
  7. cggorman

    cggorman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    676
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010

    Mar 25, 2010
    676
    664
    163
    I work in a 4G area, but live 40 miles away where 3G is available but weak.

    I figure by the time my next upgrade comes around I will have gotten good use of the 4G in the GNex.
     
  8. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,889
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,889
    6,121
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    I really hope it's not as hard as the other LTE phones. If they could include a widget in ICS to easily switch out, I'd be really happy.
     
  9. TroyBoy30

    TroyBoy30 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011

    Oct 20, 2011
    41
    4
    16
    Atlanta, GA
    ive got lte coverage from att and verizon but i'm on att and the gsm version has no lte. does that answer the question? lol
     
  10. josh911usa

    josh911usa Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011

    Nov 14, 2011
    20
    9
    36
    Network Systems Administrator
    Western NY
    I'm in the same boat. Currently have the Omnia II, and waiting for the Galaxy Nexus, and I live about an hour and 20 minutes away from an LTE area. Can't wait for the Galaxy Nexus!
     
  11. jkmasi

    jkmasi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    372
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    372
    27
    63
    No LTE for me. I live 60 miles west of DC and so I travel into LTE land now and then. Unless I start hearing horror stories about battery life, I'm getting a GN ASAP.
     
  12. GlockGuy80

    GlockGuy80 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010

    Mar 20, 2010
    111
    64
    53
    My house is barely in a 4G zone and my work is only 3g. Still will happily use the sgn!
     
  13. Telexen

    Telexen Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    234
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    234
    13
    38
    No LTE for me. Seems the only LTE available in Idaho is in Boise, and I'm much closer to Salt Lake in Utah, which also has it.

    I don't really care if it's LTE or not.
     
  14. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande?
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    7,971
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    7,971
    3,604
    513
    Android App Developer
    NY
    I seriously considering an HSPA+ international version and staying with Tmobile...


    As long as I can get 32GB I'm not worried about the speed differences. It's hard to leave unlimited data for VZ.... even though the VZ network would be better and faster... I'd potentially pay though the nose if I was developing an app I needed to test on 3g/4g
     
  15. BigRedNole

    BigRedNole Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009

    Aug 20, 2009
    229
    60
    53
    With all the delays, lack of information, and a bunch of other BS, I should have just gotten the 4S. The only thing holding my back is the stupid glass on the iPhone.

    I have a feeling that Apple has taken a huge bite out of Android that will not be truly seen for 2-3 years. When Schmidt is worried about Siri as a search engine, you know there is a great concern at Google.
     
  16. HuskyKMA

    HuskyKMA Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    145
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    145
    49
    43
    WA
    My place has 4G. My work is barely in a 4G zone but I doubt I'll get it in my office, big concrete building, probably only get 3G there when I'm not outside. I spend a couple weekends a month though at my parents place and they don't even have 3G.
     
  17. tylerdurdin

    tylerdurdin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    402
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    402
    63
    53
    New York

    Ehhh....I would not believe that for a second, He was only saying that to get big brother off his back. The last thing he needs is people believing there's a monopoly ANYWHERE. If anything I would say that the iPhone is slumping and Siri is the only thing that is going to rescue them at all. You can only make the same device for so long before people realize that they are not getting anything new. Android is selling 550,000 handsets a day and has 2 hundred million activated worldwide....They are not worried about anything.
     
  18. DPiddy

    DPiddy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011

    Nov 9, 2011
    102
    45
    43
    I don't understand why Verizon doesn't sell 3G and 4G versions of their phones. I would consider a 3G only version if it was $100 cheaper than the 4G. While 4G is impressive it's one of those nice to have features. Most cell phone users aren't power users and would opt for a cheaper 3G version. The lower price point would also make it more competitive against the fruit phone.
     
  19. binary visions

    binary visions Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    3,334
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    3,334
    1,443
    413
    The development, manufacturing and stocking costs to have two phones of the same spec but different radios is probably FAR more than the actual sales they'd generate with the lower cost phone, especially when you consider that they might be cannibalizing the higher cost phone from people who might have opted to pay the extra money if the lower cost phone wasn't there.
     
  20. cabraswell

    cabraswell Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    329
    39
    63
    Male
    Biomedical Technician
    Western NC
    Just got 4G a couple months ago and looking forward to using it. I, for the most part, will be working and living in 4G coverage now.
     
  21. KevinMXoom

    KevinMXoom Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011

    Nov 13, 2011
    22
    37
    23
    My home town is covered, but my college town is not. Since I'm in the college town most often I went with "no".
     
  22. booser4

    booser4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009

    Sep 30, 2009
    136
    21
    38
    San Diego, CA
    I checked on the Verizon site and I guess my area isn't covered. Figured most of SoCal would be covered considering the dense population, but guess not. I'm assuming my nearest 4g coverage would be in San Diego.
     
  23. SuperTongue

    SuperTongue Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    About 20 minutes or so away, we've got LTE. Considering it's where I go for food, movies, groceries, and shopping, I'll consider myself somewhat in LTE.

    Just wish they'd expand on that area, though. Can't see it happening until the end of next year at the very earliest, though. :(
     
  24. greggebhardt

    greggebhardt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    671
    Joined:
    May 11, 2011

    May 11, 2011
    671
    56
    78
    Owner
    Jacksonville, FL
    I am using in Jax, FL on the AT&T 3G network and getting H+ or like 3.5G. Phone is fast
     
  25. rivera02

    rivera02 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    588
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    588
    164
    93
    Male
    Verizon is turning their 4g network on at a pretty good rate. I just got a razr with intentions of returning it for the nexus and I was pleasantly surprised to find out my entire area is covered in 4g. I thought I would be waiting at least a year, (I mean c'mon, it's Youngstown oh!)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...