1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Why am I getting these bogus chars on ADB?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mihalich, Apr 4, 2010.

  1. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA
    Can someone tell me why my ADB shell looks like this when I launch it? I don't remember it doing this before. In the output below, I launched the shell then typed ls. (also Btw, I'm on DM 1.0 and chose the linux ssh format. Is that what's it?)

    ←[01m[←[01;31mroot@droid←[01;37m]←[01;34m / #←[00m ls
    ls
    ←[1;34mcache←[0m/ ←[1;32minit←[0m* ←[1;34mroot←[0m/
    ←[1;34mconfig←[0m/ ←[1;32minit.goldfish.rc←[0m* ←[1;34msbin←[0m/
    ←[1;36md←[0m@ ←[1;32minit.rc←[0m* ←[1;34msdcard←[0m/
    ←[1;34mdata←[0m/ ←[1;32minit.sholes.rc←[0m* ←[0;0mspboot.version←[0m
    ←[0;0mdefault.prop←[0m ←[0;0mkmods.squashfs←[0m ←[1;34msqlite_stmt_journals←[0m/
    ←[1;34mdev←[0m/ ←[1;34mproc←[0m/ ←[1;34msys←[0m/
    ←[1;36metc←[0m@ ←[1;34mrc.d←[0m/ ←[1;34msystem←[0m/
    ←[01m[←[01;31mroot@droid←[01;37m]←[01;34m / #←[00m
     

    Advertisement

  2. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    Those look like ansi codes (or was is ascii? - it has been a long time). In my DM days I always picked Windows as my terminal option and never had that problem. I use Windows Powershell as my command window in Windows 7.
     
  3. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,940
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    2,940
    564
    213
    Real Estate Agent
    M A dub'l dolla sign
    Are you using linux to ssh? if not then yea you should have chosen windows.
     
  4. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA

    No, Win 7.

    Joe
     
  5. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    So are you saying you're using the Linux version of the SDK on Windows?

    <<Confused
     
  6. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    If my failing memory is correct (the CRS has been acting up lately) Sholes and DM ROMs would give a choice of Linux or Windows terminal before installation.
     
  7. mihalich

    mihalich Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    425
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009

    Nov 23, 2009
    425
    44
    43
    South Orange County, CA
    No, I'm using the windows version of the SDK on win 7. But, when you install DM 1.0 it asks you what format you want the linux ssh to be in. I choose linux because on the phone the SSH shell is much nicer.

    I'm not sure what the DM 1.0 quesiton is actually doing though...I'm a bit confused myself. If I get around to reflashing 1.0, I choose windows ssh next time.

    Joe
     
  8. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    My guess is that will solve it for you. Windows 7 should automatically load ansi.sys to view the proper characters.
     

Share This Page

Loading...