1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Why can't I switch off data?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by HarryC, Jun 13, 2016.

  1. HarryC

    HarryC Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013

    Sep 25, 2013
    52
    22
    18
    Australia here, if that makes a difference. I've bought my parents a Galaxy J1 mini, their fist smartphone (not a bad little phone, but no flash for the camera? Never come across that before, how superbly crappy).

    Their current plan is for their dumbphone and includes no data allowance but is otherwise a great deal (basically unlimited calls for a tiny price), however they have wireless at home so can do all the smartphone updates etc via that.

    My problem is that there doesn't seem to be a way to switch off mobile data connection on the phone. I've tried several data switches from Play but they don't work, some of them saying the data can not be switched off on this device. Why is it so? Am I missing something?
     

    Advertisement

    #1 HarryC, Jun 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2016
    vdraq likes this.
  2. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,130
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,130
    3,052
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama
    Should be something in Settings .
    Look in Settings - Data Usage and see if you have a toggle that you can switch off. I don't have a Samsung with me but may look similar to this
     

    Attached Files:

    HarryC, vdraq and psionandy like this.
  3. Jfalls63

    Jfalls63 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #30
    Points:
    818
    Posts:
    4,130
    Joined:
    May 15, 2015

    May 15, 2015
    4,130
    3,052
    818
    Male
    Electrician
    Satsuma,Alabama

    Attached Files:

    HarryC and vdraq like this.
  4. HarryC

    HarryC Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013

    Sep 25, 2013
    52
    22
    18
    I just get a "504 gateway timeout" for that link.

    Thanks anyway, and I found the data switch which may be covered in your link that I couldn't view:

    If anyone's interested - pull down the notifications bar, there's icons of common settings across the top. No data switch, but if you flick that bar of icons to the left there are more icons which include the data switch. Sneaky Samsung!

    I don't know why the data switches from play store wouldn't parallel this switch.
     

Share This Page

Loading...