1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Why Can't I Tether??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Wadsworth78, Jul 22, 2013.

  1. Wadsworth78

    Wadsworth78 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    51
    2
    16
    I've tried for the last month to figure this out. I'm using WiFI Tether, and have tried every option I can think of, and about 20 other ones suggested on this forum, but I've yet to have any success. I know it's something I'm doing wrong,though, since other people are able to get this to work. Can anybody help me out? Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,446
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Download this specific version of WiFi tether for root users:
    Official Link

    Mirror1

    (it will download to your sdcard and you have to install it from there. The version from the play store will not work)
    Then use these settings:

    device profile - generic ics/jb wlan0
    setup method - auto
    send netd max client cmd - checked
    wifi driver reload -checked
    wifi driver reload 2 - unchecked
    routing fix - checked
     
    Etwizzy and Wadsworth78 like this.
  3. Wadsworth78

    Wadsworth78 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    51
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012

    Aug 2, 2012
    51
    2
    16
    Worked! LV, I could kiss you, bro!
     
  4. Etwizzy

    Etwizzy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    119
    39
    43
    Hey my man you are the truth that definitely worked thank you
     
  5. Etwizzy

    Etwizzy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    119
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    119
    39
    43
    When you've gone over your data cap is your tether supposed to only give limited access?
     
  6. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,672
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2,672
    955
    323
    Male
    Troy NY
    I believe that would be the case seeing as how the data on your phone will be lowered and that's where tether gets it's data use from...
     
  7. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,446
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Exactly. It doesn't bypass the phone's data throttle. The app only allows you to share your data connection to another device.
     
  8. pyro_guy0001

    pyro_guy0001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    382
    Joined:
    May 16, 2013

    May 16, 2013
    382
    88
    63
    Male
    Goodwill-DSU depaertment
    Texas
    Has anyone found the thing how to edit the throttle?
     
  9. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,446
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    The file you ate talking about might have a SMALL effect on data speeds but throttling is done server side. (on boost/sprint's side) There isn't going to be a way to completely disable the throttle from your phone. It just doesn't work that way.
     
  10. pyro_guy0001

    pyro_guy0001 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    382
    Joined:
    May 16, 2013

    May 16, 2013
    382
    88
    63
    Male
    Goodwill-DSU depaertment
    Texas
    Grr I tought it be a command or some system file that moniters the data but I assumes its all by the carrier
     

Share This Page

Loading...