1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Why do screenshots require a rooted phone?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by JohnJSal, Sep 3, 2010.

  1. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #264
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    923
    67
    78
    Houston, TX
    What's the reason that a phone needs to be rooted in order to take screenshots? I'm almost in disbelief that something as simple as a screenshot app isn't available (or built-in!) for an unrooted phone. It just seems like such a normal thing to do.

    Is it possible that in the future an unrooted phone can have an app to do this, or is there something about Android itself that doesn't allow it?
     

    Advertisement

  2. missy brown

    missy brown Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    131
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009

    Dec 15, 2009
    131
    25
    63
    Female
    internet bases business hit me up to join my team
    maryland
    well they use to work until we got the update but yea i am with you i wish i can find one also for a unrooted phone.
     
  3. nahpungnome

    nahpungnome Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    187
    29
    43
    Software Developer
    Los Angeles, CA
    From a security standpoint it make sense, how would you like an app that doesn't need root permissions to take screenshots while you're surfing the web or if you're viewing a document, a picture, etc.
     
  4. novarider

    novarider Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    448
    30
    43
    So make it built into the os so nobody has to worry about security issues.
     
  5. nahpungnome

    nahpungnome Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    187
    29
    43
    Software Developer
    Los Angeles, CA
    Right away, sir!
     
  6. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    982
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    982
    248
    93
    Manchester, UK
    You can take screen grabs on Android phones without rooting. Read this guide.

    Basically, you install the developer tools on your PC and after that you just open the programme, connect your phone by USB, select screen capture from the menu and save the image on your computer.
     
  7. SoFLO

    SoFLO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Like Eris Ed said, you don't need to be rooted. It looks intimidating at first glance but you get the hang of it right away.
     
  8. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #264
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    923
    67
    78
    Houston, TX
    Yeah, but to have to be tied down to your computer to take a screenshot? That's ridiculous.
     
  9. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    Well you have a couple of options, given above, either root, or the other method.

    I agree it would be nice to have a screenshot tool...but it's really not that necessary. The only use for it would be to post it on forums...
     
  10. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #264
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    923
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    923
    67
    78
    Houston, TX
    True that it's not something I'll use every day, but since my phone is new I'd like to show my friend some pictures of my home screens without having to go through all the trouble of either of those methods.
     
  11. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    982
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    982
    248
    93
    Manchester, UK
    Save the screen grabs to your PC in a folder (Android Screens, for example) then copy that folder to the top level of your SD card so you can open them on your phone. To be honest, I take a few screen grabs using my PC about once a week to post on the Desire Homescreens thread and I don't feel like I'm missing out by not having the ability to do this within my phone.

    A friend at work has an iPhone4 that can take a screen grab using his phone. He likes to take a screen grab and set it as his background, so it stays the same when he swipes to the next homescreen. We laugh at him a lot....
     

Share This Page

Loading...