1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Why does maps use so much battery

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by virtualsalmon, Mar 7, 2011.

  1. virtualsalmon

    virtualsalmon Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    23
    0
    15
    Hi,

    Been checking my phone status battery usage over the last week.

    Maps seem to be top every time, eg - this morning, had the phone doing nothing for the last 5 hours.

    Maps has used 36% of battery consumption.

    Why is this?

    I have everything turned off - by everything I mean you get this power button display bar - with the screen brightness and wifi, bluetooth and two other symbols (I dont know what they are / stand for, if someone could tell me?) I have all of these things turned off.

    Please help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. LECTER

    LECTER Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,546
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    1,546
    233
    163
    Entrepreneur
    Over the hill and through the woods
    Reboot your phone.
     
  3. speedycolzalez

    speedycolzalez Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    513
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010

    Does it have GPS enabled? If so, there's your answer.
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yeah but there is a bug where maps just runs in the foreground for no reason, using loads of battery and a reboot will cure this if maps is running and you are NOT using it.

    Otherwise, like speedy says, receiving messages from space can drain battery.
     
  5. diegox

    diegox Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    42
    0
    15
    maps doesn't run on the foreground on MY desire... but when you are using it, or when you just used it and left it in the background, it uses your desire's magnetometer, which is a real power hog. when using maps, spin and you'll see the arrow pointing to wherever you are pointing the device. check and see :D
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,307
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Yes its a bug but it doesnt affect everyone and not all of the time. I have seen it on my desire a few times and sspending so much time here, I have seen lots of threads on it ;)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...