1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Why does the media dock have a weather widget but we can't put it on our home screen?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Germwise, Nov 18, 2009.

  1. Germwise

    Germwise Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    406
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    406
    57
    53
    This seems a little ridiculous. The droid obviously has a weather widget but we can't add it to our page.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kamilli0n

    Kamilli0n Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    108
    1
    36
    Freight Broker @ Mercer
    Johnson City, TN
    I agree with you, its odd they would only implement it in the media dock screen. Seems like it would be fairly easy to make it a homescreen widget as well.
     
  3. Fazed

    Fazed Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    10
    0
    15

    It's not a widget. It's an integral part of the whole "media dock" application. I'm not sure why they didn't make it into a widget, too, but they may just not have been able to justify spending a little more to break it out as a separate widget when there are already so many free weather widgets available on the market. They'd have been wasting resources to reinvent the wheel.
     
  4. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    Because Motorola's dumb.
     
  5. galt

    galt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009

    Oct 26, 2009
    153
    2
    36
    Florida, USA
    And in the same mode of silly implementations, why don't they show the battery charge remaining on the lock screen all the time, instead of only when charging ?
     
  6. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    Because Motorola's dumb.

    edit: oh wait!
    Because Android's dumb.
     
  7. Decus22

    Decus22 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    164
    13
    38
    Those who can't do?
    Oklahoma

    You know what else is dumb. Trolls are dumb. I think the lack of intelligence comes from the constant inhalation of mold spores from a lifetime of living in moms' basement trying to start internet fights.
     
  8. argylecyclist

    argylecyclist Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    23
    2
    16
    Phoenix, AZ
    +1
     
  9. doomedromance

    doomedromance Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    664
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    664
    82
    78
    The Left Coast
    It's not a basement it's an attic. And it's my Grandma's house and someone's coming to clean out the mold next week.

    And your immature response to my comments, that lacked seriousness, to a post that lacks productivity really shows that you definitely don't lack intelligence.
     
  10. Decus22

    Decus22 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    164
    13
    38
    Those who can't do?
    Oklahoma
    I would love to engage you in a troll fight but I already used my 2 troll fights a day quota with your mom during my lunch break........:(
     
  11. Nickles

    Nickles Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    19
    0
    15
    Dang people...
    anyhow, there is a slick app in the Market called DockRunner.
    it's an app that puts your Droid into Multimedia mode, without the dock..
     
  12. MicroNix

    MicroNix Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009

    Oct 24, 2009
    472
    37
    63
    Not having the dock takes away most of the reason for that mode!
     
  13. GorillaTheHutt

    GorillaTheHutt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    227
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    227
    40
    43
    SF, CA
    heh, i think you have it backwards...having that mode takes away most of the reason for buying the dock.
     

Share This Page

Loading...