1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Why does the US get a different CPU than rest of world?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by johnpjackson, Jul 20, 2016.

  1. johnpjackson

    johnpjackson Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    352
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013

    Nov 16, 2013
    352
    165
    78
    Male
    Systems & Networking
    Western Massachusetts
    I know the Note 7 isn't the only device like this - there have been many others. Does anyone know why Samsung is expected to release the Note 7 with a Qualcomm CPU here in the US, and a Samsung CPU everywhere else in the world? I can't think of any reasons for this that are good. It seems like it would cost Samsung more money to make two different versions, instead of just one. So why do it? Is there some requirement being put upon them by the US, that they can't, or won't, meet with their own CPU? I don't like it..
     

    Advertisement

  2. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    10,934
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    10,934
    6,466
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    Probably one of those business deals that are beyond us mere mortals. That's why the folks in stock exchanges get paid so much.
     
  3. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    It is odd. I wonder if there aren't certain security/NSA or similar types of things built into the US version. Wild thought but one I have had.
     
  4. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    10,934
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    10,934
    6,466
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    Nope. Can't happen. I'd follow the money.
     
  5. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,218
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,218
    13,306
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    CDMA/EVDO, Qualcomm's processors support it, Samsung's processors do not. It's only mainly the US and China that has major carriers using CDMA.
     
    MLSS, ironass, bcrichster and 2 others like this.
  6. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    That seems like the answer then.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  7. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    10,934
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    10,934
    6,466
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    Thanks mikedt. It's not the money then, spectrum's are the answer.
     
    mikedt likes this.
  8. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,218
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,218
    13,306
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Could be money as well, because I believe it's Qualcomm that have all the patents and other IP related to CDMA/EVDO. Which Samsung would have to license if they wanted to include CDMA/EVDO support in their own processors. So probably easier and maybe cheaper to put Qualcomm into those phones that require it, like US devices for Verizon or whatever.
     
  9. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    10,934
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    10,934
    6,466
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    I think spectrum generates money. Aren't they like abandoning CDMA? I think I read that somewhere.
     
  10. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,218
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,218
    13,306
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Maybe eventually, with a move to 4G LTE for everyone. I believe Canada turned off CDMA quite recently, with Bell.

    I don't think China Telecom has got any plans to turn off CDMA at the moment. Samsungs use Qualcomm for that carrier as well AFAIK.

    CDMA is also used in countries like Iraq and Nigeria, but those are not Samsung's major markets for their expensive flagship phones
     
    #10 mikedt, Jul 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2016
  11. dontpanicbobby

    dontpanicbobby Android Expert
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,563
    Posts:
    10,934
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    10,934
    6,466
    1,563
    Male
    Boston MA USA
    Well, there you go. A Nation turned it off.
     
  12. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    24,218
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    24,218
    13,306
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Now you'll have to see if Verizon and Sprint et-al will do likewise. [emoji14]
     
    ironass likes this.
  13. Lennatron

    Lennatron Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    451
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010

    Oct 2, 2010
    451
    98
    73
    Male
    College Student
    PA
    This makes sense but back in 2012 the Galaxy Note II had a Samsung Exynos processor even in the U.S. I remember because I had the Galaxy Note II on Sprint and it was one of the only U.S. devices to feature a Samsung Exynos processor.

    Why Samsung no longer uses their Exynos processors in the U.S. I do not know.
     
  14. durandetto

    durandetto Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #435
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    339
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    339
    7
    36
    Master Mechanic
    Fenton, MI.
    The note 5 also has the exynos.
     

Samsung Galaxy Note 7

The Samsung Galaxy Note 7 was launched in 2016, before subsequently being removed from production over battery issues.

Share This Page

Loading...