1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Why don't they make batteries hot swappable?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by drewsg, Sep 24, 2010.

  1. drewsg

    drewsg Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    77
    6
    16
    Make an internal battery to run on, and a battery you can slide in and out like a SD card so you don't have to keep shutting down, restarting the phone and pulling off the battery cover just cause your phone has bad battery life.. aren't cameras this way? I could swear my kodak was like this.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Drew5150

    Drew5150 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    900
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    900
    234
    93
    SF
    Really? It's that hard to power down? At least you can swap the battery.
     
  3. bvbull200

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    999
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    999
    197
    113
    North Richland Hills, TX
    I would guess that both the cost and the extra space required are reasons enough not to bother with a feature that the majority of users would not deem necessary.
     
  4. s_special

    s_special Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    537
    55
    98
    socal
    that would be cool
     
  5. Pioneer74

    Pioneer74 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    240
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010

    Sep 21, 2010
    240
    25
    43
    Wouldn't even need an "internal" battery. Just a small capacitor to give it power for a minute or two.
     
  6. Draiko

    Draiko Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    212
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    212
    67
    53
    I was thinking the same exact thing... a small cap to give ~120 seconds of power. That might be something someone could mod into the Evo sometime later on...

    ...somewhere and somehow ;)
     
  7. archercc

    archercc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    432
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    432
    68
    53
    Probably because nobody cares. Maybe once in a blue moon I would have liked this feature but not enough to take on the added bulk and cost. A capacitor or battery to reliably power the phone in any situation for long enough to swap the battery would be fairly large in the phone world, not to mention the extra technology needed to maintain it within the device.
     
  8. aaz110

    aaz110 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    69
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    69
    9
    16
    While I definitely agree it would be a very useful idea, I think if a phone manufacturer actually did that, they'd be committing proverbial suicide. Essentially, they would be telling you right from the get go that the "battery life will be bad" and "you'll need to carry around an extra battery". Even if that wasn't the case, and the battery life was amazing, I think it would still appear that way to the tech media and the general buying public.
     
  9. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    Added cost and complexity. Every person out there has some feature that they think wouldn't be a big deal to add but everything adds up. Devices are designed to meet a certain price point. Design is always about compromise. There's just not the demand to implement this feature even though many smartphones can quickly chew through batteries.

    Neither my Canon EOS 40D nor my snapshot Nikon are like this.

    I'm saying this because most people just assume that device X has bad battery life while device Y doesn't and there's nothing to be done about it. Your usage plays a huge part in smartphone battery life. Have you looked at the battery info screen to see what you can do about what it claims to be the battery hogs? There are certainly threads out there with suggestions on tweaks to squeeze out more. Just as it is with cars, the way you use the device matters even though some devices generally run more efficiently than others. Even a Prius gets terrible mileage if you leadfoot it.
     
  10. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    I don't know why it would be incredibly necessary. Not having it adds maybe 2 minutes of inconveniece. Your battery doesn't die that quickly that its a common occurance, does it?
     
  11. No_u

    No_u Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    483
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010

    Sep 4, 2010
    483
    45
    63
    Companies are focused on keeping the devices small. That's what most people prefer. If phones were like 2mm thicker then they could have loads of extra power :p
     
  12. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    Yea this feature is rather way way way way low on the totem pole list of priorities.
     
  13. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,022
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010

    Sep 24, 2010
    2,022
    323
    183
    SC
    I would have rather seen them design the EVO to work off a 2000mAh battery or something like that.

    How do they figure out things like that? Do they build the phone, and at the end of that process determine how much space is left...or is it deisgned from the ground up wtih a particular battery size in mind?

    Given more product development...I can see the EVO innards shriking as technology allows...thus providing more room for a larger stock battery.

    Maybe the sequel for the EVO will have a larger battery..perhaps the components will become smaller, or they will figure out how to re-arrange the innards to accomodate a larger battery.

    The Smart remote I have at home must us a capacitor of some sort...when I change batteries in the remote...all the settings to control different brands of TV, DVD, and whatnot are all stored. That being said...a remote control has much more real-estate to add a capacitor.

    Or does that data get stores in non-volatile memory on the remote? I guess it could be either way...
     
  14. s_special

    s_special Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    537
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    537
    55
    98
    socal
    lol
     
  15. Sulfur

    Sulfur Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    81
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    81
    6
    16
    Iowa
    Bootloops would troll so hard with this feature...
     
  16. wayrad

    wayrad Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,177
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,177
    148
    163
    Female
    Long Island
    That's what they did on the early Palms that ran on AAs...the memory was volatile, so taking too long to change batteries resulted in a hard reset. Now there's a compelling reason to have hot-swapping!
     
  17. wayrad

    wayrad Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,177
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    1,177
    148
    163
    Female
    Long Island
    accidental double post
     

Share This Page

Loading...