• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Why I cancelled my order

Doon

Feb 8, 2010
Here is my list of thoughts for those of you still on the fence (and before I give my thoughts... a little about me: I have played with the new T-moblie galaxy s, the new iPhone, the incredible, the EVO, and now the droid x. I am an artist/designer/and tech-art teacher/ much of what i do daily is tech based. I am an enthusiast. I am that picky guy that shops carefully... and just buys the best, I don't waste my cash on gadgets... I buy the gadget that works the best for what I need).

My thoughts:

Tactile Stuff>
The droid x is a nice size, the finish feels good in hand. The camera bump is well placed and adds a bit of character. It is an attractive phone (in a Motorola sort of way). The buttons are not great. I dont really like them. They make the device seem dated (not too big of a deal - but not the best design for buttons - this is a materials and implementation issue). I like the size... it is actually not that bad at all. Some may struggle with it but this phone is much nicer in hand than the EVO. Good design overall. Again, it has character... unlike most slab designs.

Screen>
Size is a real winner! it makes usability really wonderful.
The color, detail, and "pop" is nowhere near the excellence of the iphone or even the Galaxy S. It is a quantity vs. quality choice here. Overall I like it. The colors are good but not great. the detail is good but not great. but the screen size is simply awesome when considering the thin body of the phone. good stuff.

Software>
I love using the big keyboard... so comfy. :) I am not a fan of the custom skin. I do prefer stock android over this implementation. But the keyboard options are awesome. There is lag in menu usage and the touch implementation is not as clean as the iphone or as silky as the Galaxy S. But we will see what 2.2 has to say about some of this.

Intangibles>